Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket

Mountain Hardwear Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket

Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall rating:
4.365 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(52 reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 52 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
45 out of 51(88%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Very Oversized in the mid section

PostedMay 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Randy
Location: Pacific Northwest
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this jacket. It is warm, light, and very functional. Unfortunately, the designers had people with large mid sections in mind when designing this product. I'm 511 and 180 lbs. Toned and Athletic. I purchased a size Large. The sleeves fit perfectly, the shoulders excellent but the belly section is very very large. The mid section would be the equivalent of an extra large. If it were designed with a trimmer mid section I would give it a perfect 10 or 5 depending on the scale. I can't imagine other people not having similar comments or problems. I spent a lot of money on this product and was looking forward to an excellent product in every respect. Unfortunately the M has sleeves that are too short and shoulders that are too tight. ( I have since tried on a friend's medium). I wished I had tried this on before I purchased it but because I am a perfect L with all of my MH products, I assumed this would fit similarly. Hard lesson to learn. I'm hoping my review will help others.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good midlayer, weird sizing

PostedApril 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
JeremyL
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love the light weight, compactness, and that instant warmth from the down. I don't mind that it's probably a bit fragile, given the weight, I'll use it in town as a jacket, or as a midlayer in the mountain.
However, I think the cut and sizing could be improved: I'm 5'10, 135lbs, skinny/athletic, and small is too small on the chest. So I got the medium, which is wide on the belly and waist. Bottom line: a more athletic cut would be better given this is somewhat meant as a technical piece.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sailorman
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I am thoroughly disappointed in this jacket. It does not keep you warm in temperatures below 40 deg. The zipper is another downside. Yes, it is lightweight but jams every time I unzip it. After reading other reviews I expect the zipper to fully fail. I have not gotten it wet yet so don't know if the water resistant claims will hold up. This jacket will not get much use because it is so fragile. It surely will not hold up in the mountains for backpacking or cross country skiing.
For the high price, I expected a much more functional and reliable product. Mountain Hardware has let me down!
I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

poor design

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
FrantaProchazka
Location: portland, or
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This jacket is remarkably lightweight, but unfortunately in an effort to make it this extremely lightweight, the zippers and adjustable drawcord at the hem are of a very poor design. The drawcord got detached on a second use! This product should be made more durable. Unfortunately it seems that Mountain Hardware lost focus on quality. Considering the price and the unacceptably low quality, this is definitely a jacket one should avoid.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wierd Cut, Crazy Light

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Steve76
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm 5'9" and 185 lbs. Apparently this is cut for a modern outdoor enthusiast with a large beer belly. The large is a bit too large for me - it is very baggy in the stomache. The medium is perfect in the stomache but too small in the chest.
As for warmth, it does a descent job. It's very comfy if used as a insulating layer under a shell. By itself, it kept me mostly warm in 40 degree weather.
The thing about this jacket that is spectacular is the warmth per weight. It is sooo light that any of the other shortcomings fade away when you pick it up and wonder at the engineering of this jacket.
Despite the baffling cut of the product, I'd still buy again.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ok if you spill a beer on it.

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
CaptainTom
Location: Under the bed
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Wore a L blue whisperer to the club in NYC. Stuff it in the pocket and raged real hard. It repealed beer and vodka drinks very well. Kept me super warm and got many compliments. Stitching is very thin but will hold up.
I would recommend this product.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

LIGHTWEIGHT DOWN FOR IN BETWEEN TEMPERATURES

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
CasualHiker
Location: Boulder, CO
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MORE OF A DOWN SWEATER THAN A JACKET
I would recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Falls short

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Disappointedwhisperer
Location: Ontario canada
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Love the idea of a warm light weight jacket. I bought this jacket purely for driving in the car. Its light weight and stylish. It works for business casual and I'm not freezing pumping gas or going to and from the Jeep in a long Canadian winter. Unfortunately the jacket is not durable enough to handle its own fill. The 10% feathers are causing 100% of the problem. Some feathers still have quill attached and are poking through the outer shell and leaving holes just large enough for the fill to come through. Its really to bad otherwise it is a great jacket
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Kind of deception

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Madorio
Location: Menlo Park, CA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I'm a regular NorthFace customer, though I saw the MHW Ghost Whisper and felt in love. I've tried at a near place called AnyMoutain and the fit was perfect however I wanted the Orange Zipper. I decide to pay a bit more and buy from you guys, after wait a while because there wasn't available in stock, I finally made my purchase, but when it arrive was a deception as it seems to be a bit bigger than the one I've tried before. I didn't find the time to go back to the store and check they still have the one I fell in love in the first place. But it seems the model came different then the one I've tried. Maybe you change supplier or something ...
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

I would have loved this jacket...only if it was more durable

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Gregg
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is no doubt a very nice, extremely light yet warm jacket. However it is also extremely delicate. I wouldn't recommend this jacket to anyone who does any casual outdoor activities. I went walking in the backwoods yesterday and the sleeve got caught on a branch and teared. I expected more from Mountain Hardware, as they usually deliver quality outdoor products. I don't expect this jacket to last me more than 2 seasons.
I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
ZafK22
Location: Portland, Oregon
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is definitely perfect for light rain and makes a good middle layer to keep warm. I would give it 4 1/2 stars if I could just because it is a bit difficult to fit it all in the pocket when packing down. I wish the hooded version came in more colors also.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
emma213
Portland, OR
 
Please wait while more information about emma213 is loaded.
Additional information about emma213 could not be loaded.
Awesome jacket, terrible zipper
Posted February 19, 2014
I bought this jacket for my husband. He loves it and it fits great. Second time wearing it (casually, not even hiking) the zipper broke.
Returned it for an exchange and the zipper broke on the second jacket within a week.
He likes the jacket enough to have a heavy duty zipper put in by the local outdoor geat repair guy. This is a design flaw that needs to be addressed.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 12 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good jacket; could be more awesome though.

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pacoman
Location: Portland
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love the jacket! Wish it were a tad warmer. I realize that would make it a little heavier but I'd take that trade off. Bigger issue is that the zipper broke on me. Might need to be a little heavier duty zipper. Water proof down is awesome.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ghost Whisperer

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
bcjvj
Location: Austin, TX
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Amazingly light down jacket! Definitely will use for UL backpacking at only 7.2oz. Only wish I'd gotten the hooded one for the extra warmth.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ghost Whisperer Down Jacket

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
JWWRST
Location: Rochester, MN
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Received as a Christmas gift. Is a warm under jacket. May main complaint is with the zipper. I feel that it is too small. It is hard to get started and easy to zip up with the bottom not hooked.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Light Weight Do It All

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bubba34
Location: Columbus, MS
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Love it. Looks good, feels good. Numerous comments on the look and does it ever keep me warm...a down jacket I can wear in Misipy and not look like a clown. I can't wait to take it on my ski trip in March. Slightly tight below the armpits, but maybe I have gotten fat. I am 5'8" and weigh 175.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Delicate Ghost Whisperer

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
Clayton
Location: Southern Oregon
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
I really liked the jacket when I first got it. Super lightweight and warm. I ride my bike a lot and this kept the wind out well. With just a tee shirt underneath I was plenty warm in 30 degree temps. Unfortunately the fabric is not as strong as I thought it would be. I slipped on some freezing fog and torn right through the material. This jacket is less than 3 weeks old. Bummer for me. Quoted about $50 to send it back for repair. Bottom line is nice jacket, not strong enough for me.
I do not recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Photodude
Location: Lancaster, PA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome jacket. Great for cool mornings or layering. I wish the first generation that I bought had the Q-Shield like the new ones!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LEGIT JACKET!!!!

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
TheJackGardner
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket holds up well to everything,the down inside remaned lofty through out wet conditions. the jacket reminds me of puting on warm air. this jacket is sooo light and is fairly durable. i use it every where from my only insalation on a lightweight trip and i use it for layering on a snowy alpine trip i am 5,6 and a medium is fairly big but fits over my patagonia R1 perfectly. its my favorite puffy ever!!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lightweight warmth

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
DarkTlaloc
Location: Chicago, IL
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
While I can agree with others in that I'd prefer a taper towards the bottom of the jacket, I think I understand why it's designed as it is. Either way, I think the fit is great; tight enough to look good, but with enough space to layer underneath if need be.
I wore this during the "polar vortex" that gave my area wind-chills up to -50 F in the past week, and wearing a t-shirt, sweater, and this jacket, I was fine. I've worn it when it was 10-30 degrees F out in nothing but a long-sleeved t-shirt, and was also still fine. It blocks more wind than I expected, and does a great job of keeping you warm while being light as a feather (or feathers, I guess).
I don't know how well this would keep your warm if you're using it while camping (to sleep in), as I'm always moving when I'm outside wearing it, but for an insanely lightweight jacket, it does a heck of a job insulating.
For reference on fit, I'm 5'11, 170 pounds (athletic frame), and the medium fit me great.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm and Lite

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Keith80
Location: Owensboro, KY
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The warmth of this jacket compared to weight is remarkable! Can go out with a t-shirt and this jacket in 20 degree weather and still feel comfortable.
Only issue is the style of fabric makes the color of the jacket ( I have Hyper Blue) have a sheen as if its looks wet and shiny.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.