Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Nilas™ Jacket

Mountain Hardwear Men's Nilas™ Jacket

Nilas™ Jacket
Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
23 out of 24(96%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Nilas™ Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Nilas™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The warmest and lightest jacket available!

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
OlexII
Location: Corvallis, OR
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Since I bought this jacket I take it on every trip I go! It packs small, super lightweight, feels and looks really great! Couple time it was windy on the summits, but this jacket keeps the wind outside.
The only thing that worries me is that they claim it has buffle construction not to have cold spots. It does, but only on the torso. On the arms you can find spots (along the sewing) where there is no down. I have never been cold in the arms, it's just my observation.
Overall, this is superb jacket, a little pricey, but you will never regret! I am 5'11'', 180 lbs, size large is perfect for layering (a little too big on it's own).
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Coastal
Oregon
 
Please wait while more information about Coastal is loaded.
Additional information about Coastal could not be loaded.
No Detail for Comparison
Posted March 17, 2014
You mentioned that you use this for all your hikes...you don't say when you bought it and you don't say in what, and how many, environments you have used it in. Please elaborate...I respect your experience but don't see anything to hold onto here.....thanks
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for Men's Nilas™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warmest jacket I own, hands down!

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Selrod
Location: CA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is by far the warmest jacket I have in the closet. I am 6-4' and average around 185lbs and it fits great. I usually have to wear an XL to get the length that I need and then they fit baggy. I purchased the Large in this jacket and it fits great in the length and is roomy enough to add a few layers underneath but not too big. Most of the time I find myself shedding layers because this thing is WARM. The quality is top notch and the two chest pockets inside work well for anything you can think of. The only thing that would make this jacket better is draw strings on both sides instead of just one, and a zippered outside chest pocket. However, that being said I would still buy this jacket again in a heart beat and highly recommend it for anyone looking for a toasty down jacket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Nilas™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Puffy warm goodness!

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jinkin02
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the Nilas from Mountain Hardware directly. Sight unseen purchases make me a little nervous especially when the other reviewers didn't really answer my question about cold weather performance. Living in Minnesota has been particularly brutal this year, but the Nilas has made being outside a non-issue. It has kept me nice and toasty especially with the hood. Wind stopping has been very important and this jacket does it proficiently.
I'm 5'11" with long arms. The jacket's bottom edge falls nearly to my mid-thigh, and covers my rear. The arms were my biggest concern, but they are plenty long and the cuffs are fantastic! I wear this jacket for daily use which is probably a bit overkill. It's super light, but just a tad bulky for driving around in the car. It's not terribly bulky, just a bit puffy.... something I'm totally willing to compromise for the amazing warmth and wind stopping powers! I've been out in a wind-chill of -30 or so and the Nilas just laughs the temp and wind. I highly recommend this for those who spend any time out in the frigid cold. You'll love this jacket!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Nilas™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Coated down is the future!

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jake125
Location: Central NY
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Last year I sold my Rab Neutrino endurance as the fit was too trim and just did not seem to trap enough heat. Waited for a coated down option and this was it, only a few out there. This really is the future of down and synthetic has not done it for me during cold New England ice days.
The design is great, as are the materials, fit, loft, weight, inside pockets, hood, zipper, Etc. Have used this for over 10 days so far including some guiding and long belay days. Has been nice but not tested too cold yet. It packs small and is super light, needs a smaller stuff sack also.
I have yet to have issues with the outer pockets and maybe three have changed? Would have liked a lower belay zipper but figured that Ueli doesn't belay anyone! Also, it pulls up nice as it's not too long. Material seems nice, durable, and wind proof, I am also using a windstopper sheet under, so who knows.
I recommend, for the weight, it's awesome compared to others in the class. The orange rocks as it's darker than most too. Nice job.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Nilas™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not Alaska tough

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
jimii3
Location: SW Alaska
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
Had this jacket for about a year. Left pocket jammed immediately and tore. Feathers everywhere, zipped it closed and haven't used it since. Right pocket is still working, although the zippers on this coat are complete junk. The front zipper is fraying within the teeth and jamming up more and more. The fabric is not getting caught on the edges, the zippers are fraying from the inside of the teeth. I use this coat for 5/6 months everyday in the winter and it is not holding up. 3 rips in the jacket. One from a gun slung over the shoulder. Am I hard on jackets? Yes, but this coat cost a pretty penny and is not holding up like my last jackets. 8 years on those two. Like the other reviewer said, there are cold spots in the arms. Wind gets through, even with the material claim. Windstopper in my other coats did not.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Nilas™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm and lightweight

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jason54
Location: Hermosa Beach, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My Nilas jacket is quite warm but also lightweight. My arm length is about 36" and it fits very well for an XL. The thumbholes in the built-in sleeve material came in handy in 7 degree weather. Zippers are strong and quiet. And it compressed into its accompanying travel sack nicely for my flight home.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Nilas™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Hot Body, Cold Antecubitals (inner elbows)

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
D0WN
Location: Lincoln, NE
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The good:
- Truly maintains warmth (tested to -17)
- Inside material seems softer than fleece
- Down is dense, yet packs down easily
Okay, but could be better:
- Outside fabric isn't tough
- The cut isn't stylish (but its function over form when it comes to life and death)
- Glove gaiter isn't useful
- Hand pockets have no down between interior pocket and the body (air shield material may be nice)
The bad:
- The down in the elbow baffins eventually accumulate away from the antecubitals (inner elbows) leaving only the air shield technology to keep out the cold (which stops working when the down isn't there as an insulator--you can definitely feel the cold)
- The down is still coming out of the jacket (even after a few months of use)
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Nilas™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this jacket is the bomb diggity

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
dcb54
Location: Vermont
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
seriously warm,fits great, the hood actually works. the water bottle pockets are great the wrist cuffs work great with gloves for a perfect seal. stuffs into a super small 2Liter stuff sack (included) sweet!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Nilas™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nilas jacket

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
pearton
Location: Nashua,NH
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I go out for walks a lot.I find you do not even realize you have it on.So light.I went out the other day here in NH the weather was cold about 5 degrees with wind chill about -15.I only had on a tee shirt under and was snug as a bug in a rug.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Nilas™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warmth without the weight

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
NM13
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Experience: Avid
Employee: Yes
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a fantastic coat if you're looking for excellent warmth in a lightweight package. I recently received this coat, so I've yet to go winter camping with it. That being said, I did go for an hour long hike the other day. The hike itself was not very strenuous, so I did not build up much body heat. The temps got up to -11F with windchill at -25F. This coat kept me plenty comfortable, even though I only had on the Beta Power 1/2 Zip and a light T-shirt underneath.
What makes this coat though, are the many finishing touches. The cuffs and ridiculously comfortable. They prevent any kind of updraft while getting rid of velcro (which in heavy, wet snow is ineffective in my mind). There is also a good draft tube just behind the zipper. Not only does this prevent heat loss or some bone chilling cold coming through the zip, but it is finished with a piece of nylon on top of the tube, to prevent you from snagging it when zipping up the coat. I believe another reviewer had mentioned how they dislike the hood, but I rather like it. It is cut out a bit on the side, which does expose your face a bit. However, if you're like me, you'd prefer to have the 180 degree visibility and just wear a balaclava if it does get really nasty out. Just very well thought out details on this coat.
Couple words of caution however. This coat is a bit crinkly. With the 15 denier face fabric and the windproof membrane, this is bound to happen. I didn't notice it when I was hiking, but I know a buddy of mine didn't buy the coat in large part because of this. Also, it runs surprisingly large. I am 6'0", 180lbs, 42in chest and ended up in a small. I tend to wear my clothes a bit more snug than some, but even then I have plenty of room for a warm layering system (think LS shirt, 1/2 Zip plus a 320g shirt over top) without feeling like a stuffed turkey.
Overall, this is a fantastic coat if you're looking for warmth in a lightweight package. I've seen nothing from the competitors that truly matches up with this coat. Now I'm looking forward to trying to go do some winter camping.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Nilas™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Niles Jacket

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chicago7
Location: Pana, ILlinois
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I first bought the Absolute Zero Down Parka and the Chillwave Parka, but when I bought the Niles Jacket, The other two coats pretty much stay in the closet. The Niles is light but very warm. I'm 5'10" and weigh 205 and the extra large fits just fine. The light weight is just a bonus, because I have the feeling that the jacket will stand up to some pretty low temps.If, I need more, I'll grab the Absolute down. Until then, I'll be wearing the Niles coat.
Phil Jacobs
Pana, Illinois
I would recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Nilas™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent Parka

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Luddy
Location: Corvallis, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this jacket several weeks ago and have been very pleased with its performance. The fit is excellent, it is very warm, and blocks wind like a champ. The hood is adjustable and fits great even when I'm wearing a climbing helmet.
My only complaint is that the down makes me itch. When you're wearing it over several layers of climbing gear no biggie, but when its just a base layer and the jacket, it gets a bit itchy.
This is, however, an excellent jacket and I would never give it up.
I would recommend this product.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Nilas™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm Cozy and Lite

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Oldbutactive
Location: Portland, Oregon
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
5'10" 165 lbs. This is the warmest jacket I've ever owned and my favorite of all. It's amazing how the body heat is trapped within the jacket. By this I mean, on a cold day pull down the zipper and sticky your hand inside the jacket. It feels as if your hand is in front of a heater. I am so lucky I live in Portland, Oregon and have access to the Mountain Hardwear employee store. If not, I would still pay $500 for this jacket. In addition, I love the 2 large pockets inside the jacket. Thank you Mountain Hardwear for the Nilas Jacket.
I would recommend this product.
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Nilas™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
OutdoorFan21
Location: Dallas, TX
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Snowboarded in 10 degree F conditions. The Nilas was warm the entire time. I wore a t-shirt underneath and the cold didn't get to me at all while several others in the group had multiple jackets on. The Nilas held up really well.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Nilas™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Blew my mind!

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
WBrock
Location: San Angelo, TX
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I have the Nilas jacket in a size large, which is true to fit (5'11" / 190lbs). Even for full price, I have to say that this beast earns every bit of its reputation with respect to weight, warmth, compressibility, comfort, durability, usability, and style. I also own the Chillwave Parka, but the major differences that I noticed between the two were weight and compressibility. Compared to the Chillwave (which still holds a place in my gear lineup), the Nilas feels like you're wearing next to nothing but will keep you just as warm. I recently used it on Pico de Orizaba in Mexico at camp, on breaks during summit day, and when the wind picked up to 40 mph, dropping the wind-chill to somewhere around 0 F. Even so, I had to unzip it on numerous occasions b/c I was trapping more heat than I needed. I used the stuff sack that comes with the jacket and the Nilas fit into it easily. You could probably fit it into a much smaller one, but might risk over-compressing the fill if kept too long (not sure). Either way, it lofts quickly and fits into my pack with the stock stuff sack. Considering the durability of the material, it's extremely comfortable. The chin guard was smooth and never chaffed my face in the slightest. The "Butter Jersey" cuffs are not only comfortable even while using the thumb loop, but stay in place and block cold air from entering the sleeve without the loop and when gloves/mitts are off. Also, the jacket's outer shell is tough and held up to numerous brushes against coarse rock and ice without a hint of wear on the material. The draw chords and zippers both feel flimsy, hold up nicely to repeated punishment. The only drawback here (doesn't rank high enough to change my mind about the jacket) is that the waist draw chord is only on one side, thus it has the tendency to bunch up on that side. I don't notice that it affects the function of the jacket, but can look a little weird. Even so, you can still work the material around so it's somewhat dispersed and looks normal after adjusting it. I have little to add for the hood, as it worked great and was a non-factor. It was warm and fit perfect with and without a helmet. I have the "Shark" color scheme and I love it. Not only does the Nilas earn its keep in adverse conditions but also looks stylish doing it.
I would recommend this beast to anyone who knows they're headed into the backcountry in adverse conditions or to anyone who lives where it gets downright cold (easily fashionable enough to wear around town). If you care about equipping yourself with only the best gear to cut no corners, this is the best bang for your buck!
I would have included a picture on the route, but this trip was solo. Yet another reason I was glad to have the Nilas since I didn't have anyone else to rely on if I got into trouble and needed to keep warm.
Sets the bar high!
I would recommend this product.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Nilas™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warmth and versatility in a lightweight package.

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
gravitytoy
Location: Helena, MT
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great piece. Super lightweight, very warm, yet incredibly versatile. I've worn this in weather ranging from -5 and snowing to 36 and broken clouds, and all with minimal layering. Temperature regulation is amazing, even w/o the pit zips, and the jacket is so light that you don't feel any bulk at all. I can't really attest to the ability to shed water, but for quick light squalls, the jacket worked great with water and snow beading up and shedding quickly. It never felt stuffy or over-bearing.. just nicely insulating and warm.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Nilas™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for the Arctic!

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hardes
Location: Kotzebue, Alaska
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been wearing this jacket for a couple of weeks now. Temps have stayed at 10 to 20 degrees below zero during the day and the jacket has performed wonderfully.
This jacket is amazingly light and comfortable! The low profile hood does not flap in the wind when down and the chin guard keeps neck drafts at bay. When up, the hood conforms very nicely.
I cannot wait to wear it cross country skiing...
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Nilas™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Got it for Chicago Weather (and much more)

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Uweeeeee
Location: Chicago, IL
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live downtown Chicago and walk a mile to work everyday. I got this jacket for the Windy and Cold Winters. It is super light and comfortable and I like the color combo being an Oregon State grad. It stuffs into my bag easily too. I also am a big football fan so I am sure this will keep me nice and warm at those. Finally, when I make it back to the NW for winter steelheading, it will keep me warm and toasty on crisp cold winter days.
I would recommend this product.
-8points
0of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Rhys
Portland
 
Please wait while more information about Rhys is loaded.
Additional information about Rhys could not be loaded.
Tom?
Posted October 19, 2012
Go beavs! I'm gonna get the Black/orange one.
-1point
0of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 19 for Men's Nilas™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sweet, Sweet Nilas

PostedMay 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Calder
Location: Anchorage, AK
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After 10 years I finally decided to upgrade my nearly destroyed, recently hood-less and finally mostly nylon Sub-zero Parka. My Nilas arrived just in time for me to take it to Kahiltna International Airport, where I used and abused it for a week.
The Nilas was everything I wanted in a down jacket. It was plenty light enough to keep in the pack and fit perfectly over my jacket at belays. The hood fit comfortably over my helmet and the sleeves were plenty long enough. The shell repelled moisture perfectly and it even survived a few direct hits with falling ice. No tears, nicks or cuts, and I'm not the most careful with my gear.
This is a perfect on route, alpine jacket. In camp though, I found myself often going for a chest pocket that wasn't there, and wishing for fleece lined pockets. Still, even without these nice-ities, this is the best puffy I've ever owned.
I would recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Nilas™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Surprisingly Warm. Crazy Light.

PostedMay 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
ChrisV
Location: Washington, DC
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
When I first got this jacket, I was skeptical that it would be warm enough for extreme conditions given that it is insanely light and not very bulky. I was pleasantly surprised! In fact, I'm guessing this jacket would put up a good fight next to an Absolute Zero.
TESTING:
I used this jacket on a cold & windy ascent of Mt. Shasta's Casaval Ridge in April 2012. It was pretty cold - I would guess sub zero with the wind chill. Winds were reported by NWS to be ~40mph, gusting to 80-85mph+ (which felt about right). I was wearing a Capilene 3 base layer and Mountain Hardware's Densa Hoody (which I also love).
WHY I LOVE THIS JACKET:
1. It's super warm. You'll doubt this given that the jacket feels too light & thin to pack much warmth, but it does. I would throw this on during a rest break and at camp - and would immediately warm up.
2. It's crazy light. It's hard to describe, but it just feels like it's going to float away (in a good way). You hardly know it's there.
3. It's tiny. It packs up in the included stuff sack (which I didn't use on this trip) or can easily be stuffed into a backpack (which is what I did).
4. It lets you skimp on the sleeping bag. I opted for bringing my warm weather bag (Mountain Hardwear Phantom 32) even though temps were in the single digits. I ended up sleeping with the Nilas Jacket on and was perfectly toasty the whole time.
5. It has great pockets. The two interior pockets hold a Nalgine bottle - I threw a water bottle in one and some snacks in the other. On breaks, I would just pull out the jacket and have water and snacks that weren't frozen.
6. Butter cuffs rock. The soft cuffs (with a thumb hole) completely rock. They're very comfortable, feel great, and make it easy to throw a mitten or glove over the jacket sleeve if needed.
CONSIDERATIONS:
A few things to be mindful of:
1. Trouble getting hood over helmet. I was wearing the Nilas Jacket on top of a Capilene 3 base layer, the MH Densa Pullover, and my Arc'teryx Alpha LT hardshell (all of which have hoods). I tried various combinations of wearing / not wearing certain hoods but had some issues getting the Nilas hood over my helmet. It would fit over but not snugly - and kept blowing off no matter how I tried to cinch it. Could just be the combination of layers on my part.
2. I wish there were two hem adjustments vs. just one side. I agree with AARosie's review that it tends to bunch up on one side. It's not a big deal, but it's slightly annoying.
LAST WORDS:
I totally love it. And highly recommend it. I am curious how the Nilas compares side-by-side to the Absolute Zero - but I wouldn't be surprised if it holds its own very nicely. And, with much less bulk.
I would recommend this product.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.