Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket

Mountain Hardwear Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket

Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall rating:
4.323 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
28 out of 31(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedApril 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
GearManiac
Location: Bay Area, California
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Since first wearing the Ghost Whisperer Down jacket, I have rarely taken it off because it is awesome! It is incredibly lightweight and provides great warmth. It packs down compressing into one of its pockets, about the size of large coffee cup. The hood is an excellent construction as when it worn the hood holds snug to your face when you turn side to side, and not losing any field of view. I have been very satisfied with the jacket in light rain, trusting the Q Shield Down to keep me dry. Layering underneath my waterproof shell also provides a great insulating layer when the weather gets wetter.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fit...

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
cgr5
Location: Boise, ID
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Totally stoked on this jacket - however the fit is not the best "athletic" fit. A large (what I went with) is to big around the belly and arms. My shoulders and chest fit great but I do not have a belly, which this jacket would accommodate. I know the need for mobility so I am happy with it but this jacket could use some slimming in the torso.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Marv
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had my Ghost Whisperer jacket for a couple of week and continue to be amazed at what a great jacket it is. I live in Portland, OR along with its rain, wind and cool weather, and my Ghost Whisperer handles it all. I have been wearing a down "puff jacket" throughout the winter, but have found that I can replace it with the much lighter and just as warm Ghost Whisperer. The warmth to weight ratio is incredible and the ability to stuff the jacket into its own pocket makes it wonderfully versatile. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for an extremely lightweight, warm jacket. Did I mention you can layer it with even more warmth?
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

quiver coat

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
octopus
Location: Washington
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I wanted to replace my old down puffy with this and had been lusting after this jacket for a year +. Out of the box I don't think it's warm enough. I would not consider this to be a go to belay puffy. I have worn it outside in freezing temps with a base layer and found my forearms feeling cold very quickly. I think it needs more down more loft to be warmer. Great for shoulder season climbing days and around town if you can afford it, but for winter time it's a layer.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

DC-Ghost whisperer

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
DCskier
Location: Oregon
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent quality, far superior to Eddie Bauer equivalent. Sizing is a bit larger than expected, but works well over another layer or 2.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best feature for this jacket is it's wieght.

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
TVDawg
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
For the warmth that this jacket puts out it's outstanding that it weighs next to nothing. It can be compressed into the about the size of a softball which is a plus if your traveling between climates and space in you backpack is a must.
There are only two draw backs to the jacket's construction:
-cuffs- they're elastic instead of a velcro
-fragile- you can snag it a little too easy and then feathers are everywhere
This jacket is still one of my favorites.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The benchmark ultralight down jacket

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
nutt
Location: Sweden
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really only have two small cons for this jacket:
The sleeves: they could be approx. 2cm longer
The colours: for everyday wear around town I'd prefer a low sheen/matte color option. I got the Sherwood green and it's maybe a bit shiny.
The weight of this jacket compared to warmth is just amazing. The clever narrow tubes with patterns keep all the down in place, and I haven't experienced any shifting or cold spots. This jacket and just a merino T-shirt keeps me comfortable well below 0 C when moving.
Also, even with the sewn-threw construction, the jacket is impressively wind resistant. I have also barely picked a single down feather of my undershirt. I have never had a down product leak so little down.
I have tried Patagonia's UL down sweater and Arcteryx's Cerium jacket, but they don't even hold a candle to this. The MH ghost whisperer is currently my all time favourite down jacket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Good/Fair of the Men's Ghost Whisperer

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
BigBadDann
Location: New York, NY
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
I was only fairly satisfied with my most recent purchase of MountainHardware apparel. I've purchased other clothing from them before. This time, however the price/benefit was just too high. The item was disappointingly expensive - I made my purchase because I valued MH products. This time I was disappointed. The jacket should have more 850 down filling (it's warmth is at the "just OK level). The jacket is light and "stuff able" yes, but it's not tough enough to withstand any formidable use. For the price I expect more from MH.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too Good to be True?

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
DillyBar
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Let me start by saying that the Ghost Whisper fabric ROCKS! By using an uber tight weave MHW created an ultralight fabric that is durable and does not leak down. The cuff and hood trim streamline the jacket and are the perfect compliment. Now for the fatal flaw… the zipper. In efforts to cut is much weight as possible MHW is using a #3 zipper which really belongs in applications where the zipper does not separate entirely like in a pant fly or cuff. With repetitive use, you’re certain to run into issues. At the least your zipper will separate for the unlucky bunch the zipper will break. I would like to think that my experience is one-of-a-kind however I own this jacket and the Hooded Phantom (uses the same #3 zipper) and both zippers have broken. MHW makes many bomber pieces; this is not one of them.
I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super light and surprisingly warm

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
TinMan
Location: The Gem state
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
At the time I ordered silver was the only color available and other than looking like "The Tin Man" this is a really tech piece of equipment. Where I live the temperature varies greatly during the day and the ability to layer to suit the situation is a distinct advantage that this coat provides.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Jacket

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jstrick
Location: North Cascades, WA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've used this jacket as an insulation layer all season. I've used it primarily when snowboarding and it has kept me warm in some pretty harsh conditions. I've been all over the Northwest this year and I won't go anywhere without my ghost whisperer. This is a super high quality product that does not disappoint.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great multi use jacket

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
JonnyH
Location: Boston, MA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jacket protected well during winter skiing / snowshoeing with one baselayer in 20 degree weather. Also performed well "as about town" jacket in 35 degree weather. I'm glad I went with the hooded version because it did a great job of insulating my head without a hat on and stayed on tight. The zippered pockets were also a big bonus for retaining items so I was happy they were part of the design. The jacket is incredibly light for the warmth. Repelled wet snow and sprinkles. Didn't test it in rain. I also used it as a pillow / emergency layer while backpacking #stuffed into a small stuff sack-pocket is too small#. Overall extremely happy with this product. Worth the high price.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It measures up to the hype

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ron2013
Location: Dallas, TX
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After reading countless reviews online and trying on several ultralight down jackets at REI, I decided to spend the money on this jacket.
Once you put on the jacket, you can feel the quality. The product is extremely well made. Like the reviews says, it really does feel like you are wearing "warm air",
The biggest concern I had before buying this jacket was the fit. I am 5'8, around 145 pounds, slim. The Patagonia Down Sweater in small did not fit well at all. The Ghost Whisperer in small fits me amazingly. The sleeve hits just at the right spot, the chest and shoulder are snug but not tight, the mid section does have some extra room, but by no means "lose", still very form fitting. I cannot be more happy with the fit of this product. I can use it as a mid layer with a Marmot Fleece underneath and a Khul wind/rain shell on top.
Looking forward to put it to good use when I move to Vancouver next year.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ghost Whisperer Hooded jacket

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Irish
Location: Helena, Montana
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket. I wish the cut was a bit more athletic in fit. The shoulders fit great but a bit large through the torso, otherwise I really like the jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

unbelievable!

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wharton33
Location: Cleveland Ohio
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm obsessed with the Ghost Whisperer jacket. So light, so warm.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Ultra lightweight down jacket

PostedDecember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
MTSKIER
Location: Missoula, MT
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is amazing. I use this jacket to keep in my pack for work and it has been a life saver when out in cold weather. The jacket does well in a variety of conditions and temps. Especially when in combination with a good shell the jacket keeps you toasty warm. I am 5'8 and 164 lbs with an athletic build and a size medium fits perfectly. In wet weather the jacket sheds light precip with no problem. Way to go Mountain Hardwear on another stellar product.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great appearance, functionality.

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
rongo
Location: Boston
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Ghost Whisperer lives up to it's promise! It's well constructed. Looks great. I particularly like my hooded version working as a ski instructor. It functions well either as a 'mid' layer under my outside jacket, or as a stand-alone on the drive home. The hood is a surprisingly warm feature. It constricts heat from departing your head and neck when needed and can be removed easily. Pockets come with zippers and are large enough to hold gloves if necessary. Baffles are well designed. They're crafted to hold the down in small and tight channels so that the contents don't bunch and clump when wet. However, in the interest of a fair and balanced review, the outside jacket coloration was a bit more shiny than I would have preferred or viewed online. The other speculative concern (TBD) is that the outer fabric composition is presumably tough enough to remain intact in the event of a tear or puncture while in active use. Otherwise, great looking utilitarian jacket and well worth the price!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Super Light but not functional

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Brentj
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I want to start by saying I do own a lot of MHW gear and general like it all, but this is one product that is flawed.
I had my jacket for excatly two week before a mysterious rip showed and the next day my dogs put his paw on me shoftly and put another hole in the jacket. Both of these accidents are out of warranty and MHW will get someone to fix it for hefty price.
I realize with the super light fabric comes some caution, but to be labeled a great backpacking or functional use jacket is a mistake. The fabric is so delicate that I would cuation anyone from wearing in the back country unless you have something over it. Meaning you can never where it alone.
It should be labeled as a mid layer and at that I would suggest their other mid layers are just a good and stronger but for a lot less.
MHW you have let me down on this one:(
I do not recommend this product.
-6points
3of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceptional

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
EmBomb
Location: New York, NY
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've only had this coat a week, but I've put it through a huge rainstorm, and snowstorm, and I can tell you this is flat out awesome. It is very warm and well made, extremely light, and I would say it's best use is as a base layer, though it can certainly do the job on its own down to 32 degrees, then lower with fleece layer under it. The hood is great too, though it doesn't have any time of drawstring, it still does the job. One thing to note, the pockets are well made, with plenty of down on the outside, but there is nothing on the inside so you'll need some type of glove for chilly weather. This isn't a fault of this coat, it's a common trait of all micro weight down jackets. I love this coat and wear it every day. Just what I wanted as a stand alone and additional later for brutally cold days. I'm 6'4" 260 with a muscular build, and an XXL is a perfect fit for me.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
EmBomb
New York, NY
 
Please wait while more information about EmBomb is loaded.
Additional information about EmBomb could not be loaded.
3 out of 5
Posted February 2, 2014
Everything I said in my initial review still holds up except for one important attribute-the stitching is poor in this jacket. I've only had it 2 months and threads, long pieces are already coming out of the sleeves. This is from wearing it 2-4 times a week in casual urban excursions. I'm apprehensive what it will be like in another 2 months. It does provide warmth, fill is good for its lightness, and has a good style, but for the money I'd really do some research. The quality seems to be questionable. You should have these toes of experiences after 3-5 years or longer-not 2 months. If it was $150 or so that would be another story, but for 350+ you deserve top quality. Jury is still out in that regard.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 20 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Warm Compressible Light

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
RichIorio
Location: East Rutherford, NJ
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Like I said this jacket is warm compressible and unbelievably light. My one issue is that the outside of the black one is shiny and it makes it look like a hefty garbage bag stuffed with super high end down. I just throw a rain shell over it to hide the hefty bag like sheen.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.