Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket

Mountain Hardwear Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket

Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall rating:
4.265 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
30 out of 34(88%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great lightweight insulating layer

PostedJune 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
bigskyrnner
Location: Montana
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've owned this jacket for a year and am very impressed with it's weight to insulating ratio. I carry it day hiking, backpacking, long trail runs and also snowshoeing/xcountry skiing in warmer weather. It takes very little room in your pack and is most welcome during rest stops or hanging around camp.
I've owned a couple other lightweight down jackets (Patagonia Down Sweater, Montbell Exlight) and the Ghost Whisperer outperforms both. It's as warm as the down sweater while weighing in less- 12.2 oz vs 7.5 oz, the GW also has a hood- you can get the down sweater w/ a hood, but it's then double the weight. The Exlight was a nice jacket, but lacked hand pockets and a hood. The Whisperer is slightly warmer imo and has a hood/zippered slash pockets; for an additional ounce- well worth it.
The only ding I have on the jacket is the hood, it needs a cord to snug it down and keep it in place. This would take a few tenths of an ounce at most and would make this a five star jacket.
If you're looking for the best lightweight insulating garment on the market- this is it.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Would be a great jacket if it could be worn outdoors

PostedMay 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
ArtVandelay
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My wife and I both purchased Ghost Whisperer jackets for a expedition in the Arctic. The jackets are comfortable and very warm, but the fabric is far too delicate for any practical use.
One of the jackets developed two holes after only light use - walking dogs around town, short day hikes and a few XC ski outings. We aren't entirely sure where the holes came from, but it's obvious that the jacket is very prone to snagging and tearing.
The stitching has also started coming out of one arm. This is after about 6 months of use, including wearing the jacket around town, the light activity above, and a two week outdoor expedition.
I don't recommend using this jacket anywhere near a Mountain, and you should certainly avoid getting near any objects that might be Hard. If you are careful, you can Wear it, but you should probably only do so indoors. As such, it appears to live up to 1/3 of the name Mountain Hard Wear.
I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like putting on warm air

PostedApril 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Flint
Location: South Carolina
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really pleased with this product. As soon as I opened the package I was amazed at how light this jacket is. I'm hiking the AT and having something lightweight and warm has been really important. I haven't used it as much as I thought I would, unless you count using it as a pillow. It is a great insulating layer that can handle some moisture. I have been pleased with how quickly it does dry when wet. It's not waterproof but seems to handle very light rain ok for short amounts of time. I love that it has a stow pocket. The material seems strong enough, but I have seen others with small tears from briars or sparks landing on the material. I've been pretty careful to wear a rain jacket over it when walking through anything that might catch it or around fires. Like the fleece I got from MH, the end of the sleeves seem to be really baggy. There is a stretching elastic wristband that seems pointless since I could easily fit both my wrists in at the sleeve. The bottom of the torso is a bit baggy as well, but at least there is a draw string. The hood is really nice and adds a lot of warmth. Overall a great product that I hope to have for many years to come.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedApril 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
GearManiac
Location: Bay Area, California
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Since first wearing the Ghost Whisperer Down jacket, I have rarely taken it off because it is awesome! It is incredibly lightweight and provides great warmth. It packs down compressing into one of its pockets, about the size of large coffee cup. The hood is an excellent construction as when it worn the hood holds snug to your face when you turn side to side, and not losing any field of view. I have been very satisfied with the jacket in light rain, trusting the Q Shield Down to keep me dry. Layering underneath my waterproof shell also provides a great insulating layer when the weather gets wetter.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fit...

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
cgr5
Location: Boise, ID
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Totally stoked on this jacket - however the fit is not the best "athletic" fit. A large (what I went with) is to big around the belly and arms. My shoulders and chest fit great but I do not have a belly, which this jacket would accommodate. I know the need for mobility so I am happy with it but this jacket could use some slimming in the torso.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Marv
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had my Ghost Whisperer jacket for a couple of week and continue to be amazed at what a great jacket it is. I live in Portland, OR along with its rain, wind and cool weather, and my Ghost Whisperer handles it all. I have been wearing a down "puff jacket" throughout the winter, but have found that I can replace it with the much lighter and just as warm Ghost Whisperer. The warmth to weight ratio is incredible and the ability to stuff the jacket into its own pocket makes it wonderfully versatile. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for an extremely lightweight, warm jacket. Did I mention you can layer it with even more warmth?
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

quiver coat

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
octopus
Location: Washington
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I wanted to replace my old down puffy with this and had been lusting after this jacket for a year +. Out of the box I don't think it's warm enough. I would not consider this to be a go to belay puffy. I have worn it outside in freezing temps with a base layer and found my forearms feeling cold very quickly. I think it needs more down more loft to be warmer. Great for shoulder season climbing days and around town if you can afford it, but for winter time it's a layer.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

DC-Ghost whisperer

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
DCskier
Location: Oregon
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent quality, far superior to Eddie Bauer equivalent. Sizing is a bit larger than expected, but works well over another layer or 2.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best feature for this jacket is it's wieght.

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
TVDawg
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
For the warmth that this jacket puts out it's outstanding that it weighs next to nothing. It can be compressed into the about the size of a softball which is a plus if your traveling between climates and space in you backpack is a must.
There are only two draw backs to the jacket's construction:
-cuffs- they're elastic instead of a velcro
-fragile- you can snag it a little too easy and then feathers are everywhere
This jacket is still one of my favorites.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The benchmark ultralight down jacket

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
nutt
Location: Sweden
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really only have two small cons for this jacket:
The sleeves: they could be approx. 2cm longer
The colours: for everyday wear around town I'd prefer a low sheen/matte color option. I got the Sherwood green and it's maybe a bit shiny.
The weight of this jacket compared to warmth is just amazing. The clever narrow tubes with patterns keep all the down in place, and I haven't experienced any shifting or cold spots. This jacket and just a merino T-shirt keeps me comfortable well below 0 C when moving.
Also, even with the sewn-threw construction, the jacket is impressively wind resistant. I have also barely picked a single down feather of my undershirt. I have never had a down product leak so little down.
I have tried Patagonia's UL down sweater and Arcteryx's Cerium jacket, but they don't even hold a candle to this. The MH ghost whisperer is currently my all time favourite down jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Good/Fair of the Men's Ghost Whisperer

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
BigBadDann
Location: New York, NY
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
I was only fairly satisfied with my most recent purchase of MountainHardware apparel. I've purchased other clothing from them before. This time, however the price/benefit was just too high. The item was disappointingly expensive - I made my purchase because I valued MH products. This time I was disappointed. The jacket should have more 850 down filling (it's warmth is at the "just OK level). The jacket is light and "stuff able" yes, but it's not tough enough to withstand any formidable use. For the price I expect more from MH.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too Good to be True?

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
DillyBar
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Let me start by saying that the Ghost Whisper fabric ROCKS! By using an uber tight weave MHW created an ultralight fabric that is durable and does not leak down. The cuff and hood trim streamline the jacket and are the perfect compliment. Now for the fatal flaw… the zipper. In efforts to cut is much weight as possible MHW is using a #3 zipper which really belongs in applications where the zipper does not separate entirely like in a pant fly or cuff. With repetitive use, you’re certain to run into issues. At the least your zipper will separate for the unlucky bunch the zipper will break. I would like to think that my experience is one-of-a-kind however I own this jacket and the Hooded Phantom (uses the same #3 zipper) and both zippers have broken. MHW makes many bomber pieces; this is not one of them.
I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super light and surprisingly warm

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
TinMan
Location: The Gem state
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
At the time I ordered silver was the only color available and other than looking like "The Tin Man" this is a really tech piece of equipment. Where I live the temperature varies greatly during the day and the ability to layer to suit the situation is a distinct advantage that this coat provides.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Jacket

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jstrick
Location: North Cascades, WA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've used this jacket as an insulation layer all season. I've used it primarily when snowboarding and it has kept me warm in some pretty harsh conditions. I've been all over the Northwest this year and I won't go anywhere without my ghost whisperer. This is a super high quality product that does not disappoint.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great multi use jacket

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
JonnyH
Location: Boston, MA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jacket protected well during winter skiing / snowshoeing with one baselayer in 20 degree weather. Also performed well "as about town" jacket in 35 degree weather. I'm glad I went with the hooded version because it did a great job of insulating my head without a hat on and stayed on tight. The zippered pockets were also a big bonus for retaining items so I was happy they were part of the design. The jacket is incredibly light for the warmth. Repelled wet snow and sprinkles. Didn't test it in rain. I also used it as a pillow / emergency layer while backpacking #stuffed into a small stuff sack-pocket is too small#. Overall extremely happy with this product. Worth the high price.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It measures up to the hype

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ron2013
Location: Dallas, TX
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After reading countless reviews online and trying on several ultralight down jackets at REI, I decided to spend the money on this jacket.
Once you put on the jacket, you can feel the quality. The product is extremely well made. Like the reviews says, it really does feel like you are wearing "warm air",
The biggest concern I had before buying this jacket was the fit. I am 5'8, around 145 pounds, slim. The Patagonia Down Sweater in small did not fit well at all. The Ghost Whisperer in small fits me amazingly. The sleeve hits just at the right spot, the chest and shoulder are snug but not tight, the mid section does have some extra room, but by no means "lose", still very form fitting. I cannot be more happy with the fit of this product. I can use it as a mid layer with a Marmot Fleece underneath and a Khul wind/rain shell on top.
Looking forward to put it to good use when I move to Vancouver next year.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ghost Whisperer Hooded jacket

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Irish
Location: Helena, Montana
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket. I wish the cut was a bit more athletic in fit. The shoulders fit great but a bit large through the torso, otherwise I really like the jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

unbelievable!

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wharton33
Location: Cleveland Ohio
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm obsessed with the Ghost Whisperer jacket. So light, so warm.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Ultra lightweight down jacket

PostedDecember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
MTSKIER
Location: Missoula, MT
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is amazing. I use this jacket to keep in my pack for work and it has been a life saver when out in cold weather. The jacket does well in a variety of conditions and temps. Especially when in combination with a good shell the jacket keeps you toasty warm. I am 5'8 and 164 lbs with an athletic build and a size medium fits perfectly. In wet weather the jacket sheds light precip with no problem. Way to go Mountain Hardwear on another stellar product.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great appearance, functionality.

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
rongo
Location: Boston
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Ghost Whisperer lives up to it's promise! It's well constructed. Looks great. I particularly like my hooded version working as a ski instructor. It functions well either as a 'mid' layer under my outside jacket, or as a stand-alone on the drive home. The hood is a surprisingly warm feature. It constricts heat from departing your head and neck when needed and can be removed easily. Pockets come with zippers and are large enough to hold gloves if necessary. Baffles are well designed. They're crafted to hold the down in small and tight channels so that the contents don't bunch and clump when wet. However, in the interest of a fair and balanced review, the outside jacket coloration was a bit more shiny than I would have preferred or viewed online. The other speculative concern (TBD) is that the outer fabric composition is presumably tough enough to remain intact in the event of a tear or puncture while in active use. Otherwise, great looking utilitarian jacket and well worth the price!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.