Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Nitrous™ Jacket

Mountain Hardwear Men's Nitrous™ Jacket

Nitrous™ Jacket
Overall rating:
4.778 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
16 out of 16(100%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Nitrous™ Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Nitrous™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Should have bought this a long time ago

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
YellowCrayon
Location: Seattle, WA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in the Seattle area and had been getting by with lighter coats (and a generally good tolerance of cold weather) and falling back to a giant marshmallow coat I picked up somewhere along the way when the temps got close to freezing. While the big puffy coat I had was warm enough, it's also really huge.
The Nitrous has a great snug fit (I'm 5'11/165 and wearing a small), is almost unbelievably thin and kept me warm over just a t-shirt to the point of almost sweating on a 2-mile midnight walk with the temps around freezing and full humidity. The quality seems good, though I'm also projecting from how my other Mountain Hardwear gear has held up over time #I have a 5 year old daypack that I take everywhere, every day and a 6 year old shell that shows virtually no wear and was my primary jacket for about 3 years).
This was a really great purchase, I find myself chuckling at all the others in their giant coats.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Nitrous™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best fit and performance

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Caleb
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As someone who sells outdoor gear, I know quite a bit about what to look for.
For months, I was searching for the right down jacket to improve warmth both in day-to-day and in my backpacking excursions. A warm, tough, quality down jacket isn't hard to find--every brand has one.
Finding a warm down jacket that fits well is tricky. Finally, I stumbled upon the Nitrous by chance and tried it on. Love at first sight. Unlike a lot of competitors, it doesn't bulge in the sleeves or body but fits comfortably for most guys, and I'm not ripped or anything, just a pretty typical 6' dude who can do a few crunches.
Also, we recently got snow where I live, and it was right after my Nitrous came in the mail. Perfect weather to test it out.
The nylon shell resists hard precipitation such as snow no problem. And the warmth is out of this world. I highly recommend!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Nitrous™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
JB26
Location: Dallas, TX
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wore this jacket hiking up in NM in late fall. It was in the high 20s and I stayed very warm.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Nitrous™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice fit and more importantly- warm!

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
JeffT99
Location: Boston, MA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this coat because of the freezing weather we have been having. It is very warm and fits great. I ordered an XL (around 5'10 with an "athletic" body which means I used to be an athlete and now I'm just a little stocky).
The coat is very light and warm. The pockets are large and the zipper is quality. I had a thicker fleece before and the wind whipped right through. This coat keeps me warm even in windy weather.
The only issue is the lack of inside pockets to hold a phone or something else.
Still worth the price.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Nitrous™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great coat

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
CLmittens
Location: Eugene, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The coat is great except for this year's edition does not have the Micro-Chamois™-lined chin guard prevents zipper chafe as advertised.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Nitrous™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice jacket

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sascha
Location: Tampa, FL
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have only had this jacket for a week so I don't know how durable it will turn out to be. Overall quality seems to be good, though. Fits a little larger than I expected and not quite as slim as I thought. Also, a third pocket would have been nice.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Nitrous™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grandpa wouldn't be dressed without it

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dmap
Location: San Francisco
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We bought this jacket for my 91-year-old father-in-law for Christmas to replace a near-identical Mountain Hardware jacket we had bought him many years previously.
He had taken to wearing the old one every day, inside and out, winter and summer, whatever the occasion, taking it off only to get ready for bed, and it was beginning to look somewhat the worse for wear. As he was feeling the cold a lot more than when he was in his 70s, the jacket was like a second skin, helping keep his bones warm throughout the year.
A couple of years ago we had bought him another, cheaper, jacket to replace his beginning-to-look-shabby Mountain Hardwear one. But he wouldn't wear it and obstinately donned his old black MH jacket over his shirt every morning.
Now he wears his new replacement, thank goodness. But I was instructed to keep the old, worn one for when he visits us. Needless to say, it has had a good wash and I won't dare throw it out, worn-though elbows and all!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Nitrous™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easily my favorite jacket

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Justntym
Location: Louisville
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ive owned this jacket for 2 years and have put it through the ringer! Its super warm and feels amazing with only a t shirt on underneath. It could be more water repellent. Unlike other insulated jackets, the jacket holds the stuffing very well! One of the best features is its ability to fold up into the one of the front pockets. Makes a great pillow on airplane rides and long car trips! SCORE!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Nitrous™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Jacket

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
dh00529
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
This was the first item I bought from Mt. Hard Wear and it has been great!! I've owned the jacket for about 1 year. Recently it has been in the 15-20degree range where I live and the jacket plus a base layer or hoodie are great at keeping me warm. I've taken the jacket on several climbing trips and its held up wonderfully! It still looks good when I where it with jeans around town. I am 5'11" and 150 lbs. I really like the fit but if you are a bigger guy or have big biceps I would probably suggest sizing up. The jacket packs down pretty well and since it is down you can shove it in your compression bag with your sleeping bag to get it really small!!
Concerns:
I live in an area where it rains a lot and I have worn it on misty days with no problems but I sometimes have to put a shell over it on really rainy days.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Nitrous™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best jacket that I own!

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
ian89
Location: Logan, UT
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Nitrous Jacket is by far the best jacket i have ever owned in my life! It is light weight and fits perfect! It kept me warm even when it was 5 degrees the other morning and for how thin and light weight it is. Its a perfect choice for a down jacket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Nitrous™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is worth every penny!

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
watershedkeeper510
Location: Emeryville, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wore it on a hike the other day and loved how warm it kept me and not bulky at all.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Nitrous™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

light,warm,moveable

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
snoborder73
Location: colorado
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this is my first down jacket.very light,very moverable(dont feel restricted)with or without backpack.packs down for easy storage.looks great! really warm with/without base layer.love the fact of having the eq shield on my back incase it starts pouring snow/rain! great job hardwear team!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Nitrous™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nitrous Duffel

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
AndyBreaksHisStuffAllDay
Location: Silt, Colorado
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The medium is a very trim and fitted jacket for my 5'10" height, 39 inch chest, 20 inch torso, 32 inch arms, 32 inch waist. That said, it is a comfortable piece of clothing. It currently keeps me comfortable from about 35-55 F worn by itself, and down to about 25 F when worn with an outer shell or a fleece with light to moderate activity. It is very warm when I am performing high intensity activities, so I usually take it off when I'm hiking or running, but put it right back on and it keeps me comfortable. I rarely sweat when sedentary unless it is over 60 degrees, so I wouldn't call it a "light" jacket.
The Duffel color is a nice dark green, not brownish as it appears to be in the pictures. It's a perfect outdoorsman color.
It weighs almost nothing, and packs easily into the right hand pocket.
I wish it had a zippered chest pocket
I haven't gotten it wet to test the q-shield down.
I would have ordered the hooded option if the hood zipped into the collar.
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Nitrous™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Jacket

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mike82
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is a great piece of gear due to its warmth and light weight. It fits great over layers and doesn't make you feel confined. I've been out in cold temps all day in this jacket with just a T-Shirt underneath and never got cold. Awesome jacket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Nitrous™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Another Great Mountain Hardwear Product.

PostedNovember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
ShawnP
Location: Louisville Ky
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sizing is just right. Very warm and light weight. I couldnt have asked for a better light weight jacket.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Nitrous™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent Down Jacket

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
PCWhite85
Location: Newmarket, NH
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered this jacket a week ago in preparation for winter. It's the first item I've ever purchased from Mountain Hard Wear.
I used this jacket for the first time yesterday while hiking Mount Moosilauke in NH. We broke treeline and the wind really picked up. The Jacket kept me very comfortable without overheating which is always a concern with down. It's lightweight and easy to pack. The craftsmanship is excellent.
It's a great jacket and a great first experience with Mountain Hard Wear.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Nitrous™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vanity Sizing?

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
hikergirlie
Location: Utah
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wear a large in every shirt and jacket that I own from Mountain Hardwear and other makers....not in this jacket....The large wasn't just too big it was HUGE. I am 5'10" 195lbs (lean) and it was like a tent. I ordered a medium and it fits perfectly. Has Mountain Hardwear started to vanity size? I sure hope not.... Overall I still gave the jacket 5 stars as the new one (medium) fits great and the quality is top notch. I can't wait to use it as a mid layer when snowshoeing and skiing!
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Berrnard
New Albany, IN
 
Please wait while more information about Berrnard is loaded.
Additional information about Berrnard could not be loaded.
Posted October 1, 2013
i think they have. i got a ghost whisperer last year, and i own mediums in all my MH stuff. well i needed a small, wish i could switch it out. raised price a lot this year too.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Ratings-only reviews for Men's Nitrous™ Jacket
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Too Small
4 / 7
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5