Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Hooded Compressor™ Jacket

Mountain Hardwear Men's Hooded Compressor™ Jacket

Men's Hooded Compressor™ Jacket
Overall rating:
4.455 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
11 out of 11(100%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Hooded Compressor™ Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Hooded Compressor™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Packable Warmth

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
HuckedCornice
Location: Western Washington
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I purchased the compressor as an insulating piece that was easier to pack. My former insulator took up nearly half my pack and was not designed at all for compression. I looked long and hard at the ghost whisperer line but ultimately went with the compressor mainly for the dollar sign difference. I haven't been disappointed at all. I'm 5'10" and 165lbs, and a large is perfect for me. The jacket is comfortable and warm. Paired with the Principio Hybrid Jacket I was warm and toasty even in deep, wet snowfall for around five hours. The only complaint I have is the incredibly snug fit when packed in its own pocket; I decided to buy a small dry sack instead as the jacket barely fits and I was worried about catching the material while trying to zip it in its own pocket. 10$ more and I am completely content.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Hooded Compressor™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable and super warm

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
mrose
Location: Oakland, CA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been on the lookout for a jacket that was very comfortable, not bulky and warm for a long time. And this one completely fits the bill. I can also layer it with a waterproof shell or a sweatshirt. It's very thin - so it makes going about every day activities or work while wearing it completely easy and comfortable. It's also very warm considering how thin it is. Would absolutely recommend.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Hooded Compressor™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great insulated jacket

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
cmm314
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use this jacket for cold-weather hiking as well as everyday wear and it is a great "in-between" jacket. It's not quite heavy enough to be a cold weather coat, but holds up great as an outer layer when temps are in the low 30's with no problem. The insulated hood and fleece-lined pockets are a great touch.
I've worn this jacket in snow, drizzle, and wind and have no complaints about its performance. It wouldn't last long in heavy rain, but its not intended for that anyway.
The jacket fits true to size, although is a little tigher through the arms. Not enough to restrict movement or prevent layering, but the arms are cut narrower in comparison the rest of jacket. I'm 5'8" with an athletic build and the Medium fits perfectly.
I can't pull the hood on/off when it is zippered all the way up, but its worth it for the smaller face opening when its cold/windy.
Overall, a great jacket!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Hooded Compressor™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Compressor Jacket

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Vsquared
Location: Anchorage AK
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased a XL-tall and the fit is excellent with just the right amount of room for layering if needed, without undue bulk. I have now used this for 2 months in weather from 60F to -5F, and from Sacramento to Anchorage for both casual wear and athletic activiities outside in the cold.
It is very flexible and can be worn inside at normal room temperatures comfortable and outside down to 30F with a simple long sleeve shirt and you remain comfortable. The material does a great job of moving moisture and I tested this with a soaked cotton sleeved T-shirt (one sleeve soaked, one dry, and then went for a 4 mile walk on the trails in Anchorage at 25F. The moisture moved rapidly and I did not get cold.
The product works as advertised in the breezes, drizzle and is overall a fantastic lightweight do all jacket for warmth, and is a flexible layering system.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Hooded Compressor™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Mid Weight Jacket

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Nick77
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A very good midweight insulating layer. Not quite warm enough to be used as a parka, and it runs a bit small, but perfect for those in-between temps.
My only issue is that the hood unfortunately was not designed to fit over a climbing helmet. This could be a big problem for some. It cinches down perfectly to shut out wind and weather without a helmet on, however.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Hooded Compressor™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great thermal

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
AFGuy
Location: Germany
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I picked up this product to specifically layer under the Mixtraction Jacket and for all weather Ice&Rock climbing purposes. I already have a jacket very similar to this but it doesn’t fix as snug around the arms. I noticed that this was a problem for some of the other guys but since I needed a low profile sleeve this is what made the product stand out for me. I’m a military guy who has spent many years in the gym so my arms aren’t small but I only do mild lifting anymore so I’m down to a more normal athletic size so for me the sleeves work great, any bigger and I might have an issue. Not sure if this helps or not.
The material is more durable than on my previous model as well so if I’m sporting this under my Mixtraction or by its self I’m sure it will hold up well. Great job on this one guys!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Hooded Compressor™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great Coat - shoulders are too tight

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Goat42
Location: Oregon
Experience: Avid
Employee: Yes
  • Employee
Too Small
Too Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was purchasing this to replace my older version and the fit has changed dramatically. My older version fit snug but was wearable. The new fit is restrictive in the armpit holes and is way too tight around the shoulders. Please fix this. I love this coat.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Hooded Compressor™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb Product

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
flytyer752
Location: Montana
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have owned my Hooded Compressor jacket for a year and a half now. I am incredibly impressed with it. Originally, I purchased it to throw in my pack in the spring and summer for those days when the temperature drops. Instead, I use it year round here in Montana, and always have it with me. It is my favorite jacket out of the 11 that I own. It packs down very small, is lightweight, yet it does an incredible job keeping me warm.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Hooded Compressor™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great Jacket, Skinny Sleeves

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
WYCLIMB
Location: Moose, WY
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket in incredible and great for what it is made for. Unfortunately, the jacket is cut for string bean climbers. I am 5'11 and 200 lbs, and the LARGE is perfect in length at the waist and wrists...yet the sleeves are skin tight on my biceps and forearms. There is no way I could wear another long sleeve layer underneath it and the sleeves sorta bunch up around my biceps. I am returning this and looking into the B'Layman since it is "Cut slightly oversized". We shall see...we shall see...
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Hooded Compressor™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome hooded compressor jacket

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
PMNava
Location: Leicester, Massachusetts
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket nice cozy warm fits great!!!!
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Hooded Compressor™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

12-13 Jacket was great

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
SweetAndLow
Location: Seattle/Mt. Baker, WA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I currently own the 12-13 version of this jacket. I'm 5'11" and weight 160lbs and I bought a Large and it fits excellent in both the arms and waist. I currently live in Seattle and wear this pretty much every day from november to may. I absolutely love it for a mild cold temp jacket. I get the most use out of this jacket on the weekends when I'm out and about in the snow with friends. Most of the time the temps don't drop below 25F, I wouldn't want to have just this jacket in anything colder than that without maybe a base layer on. I would also like to add that I have gotten this jacket caught on a nail and it tried to rip the fabric but didn't, all it did was leave a little mark in it.
One con I have with it and this might be my fault is that after multiple wet dry occasions it starts to smell a little. Nothing a wash machine can't handle. If you want something warmer I would suggest going with the Kelvinator(I'll probably be picking one up)
I would recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.