Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Chillwave™ Parka

Mountain Hardwear Men's Chillwave™ Parka

Men's Chillwave™ Parka
Overall rating:
4.9 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Chillwave™ Parka
Review 1 for Men's Chillwave™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceptional Jacket

PostedFebruary 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
Dbcold
Location: Hancock, MI
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket has done everything I had hoped and more. I have read plenty of reviews about how warm they are and it is the truth. I live in an area where temps consistently dip below 0 fahrenheit and winds are always a factor. I have yet to be cold in this jacket. I can get away with very minimal layering, long sleeve base layer with light over layer, and still be plenty comfortable. If I am going to be active I typically don't wear this jacket because I would be too warm. It is perfect for packing away for winter camping too. I would just recommend a compression sack for it so that you can minimize the space it takes up in your pack because you will only need it when you stop for extended periods of time and it is way to warm to wear while moving in that situation.
Love the Jacket and would definitely buy it again if I were to do it all over.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Chillwave™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

feels like a real parka

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
mesaguy2
Location: Taos, NM
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I never had such a high quality parka before. Lots of attention to details like pockets, hood zipper, etc. It is incredibly warm and I can finally look forward to some very cold weather!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Chillwave™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Winter in Kazakhstan

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
Billy16
Location: Aksai, Kazakhstan
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this jacket (black and size large) for my work here in Kazakhstan. So far this year, the temperature has been down to as low as minus 40 centigrade. I walk the 4km i to my work every morning and the same back at night and this jacket has never let me down.
The size is perfect for me (5 foot 8 inches and 210 lbs). Plenty of pockets for keys, phone etc and the length is perfect for covering the "rear end".
The hood is first class - i can zip fully up , wrap a scarf round my mouth and just below eyes, put on a nice cosy hat and the hood fits all over these to give some excellent warmth.
Had many compliments from fellow ex pats here, who normally wear other brands (you know the ones) and a few guys have came back in with the same jacket.
An absolutely great product.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Chillwave™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything it says it is!

PostedJanuary 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
Juli
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am so pleased with this coat. I reviewed a lot of down jackets before selecting this one. It was more money than I'd intended to spend but it had quality features that I wasn't finding on cheaper options: velcro wrists, adjustable hem drawcord, velcro weather flap over zipper, warm lined pockets, detachable hood, interior pockets. The fabric is really durable without being stiff and is not likely to get torn by sharp objects or thorns. It isn't too bulky and my husband doesn't look like the Pillsbury Dough Boy. It is very warm - I tested it with just a long sleeved tee underneath (temp - 20 degrees). We'll really test it when the temps drop below 0. We bought a Medium - my husband 5'11" and weighs 170 lbs - and it fits perfectly.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Chillwave™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great all around jacket

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
drafter495
Location: South East Michigan
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this jacket to replace a well worn down jacket that had too many tears and stains to wear for everyday use anymore. I was looking for something exceptionally warm and didn't care about the weight of the jacket or how well it packed down. What I got is exactly what I wanted. A very nice looking jacket that is suitable to wear to work, to church around town and so on. I get cold very easy and I have found this jacket will keep me warm to -10F. I was concerned that the 700-fill down wouldn't be warm enough but I would say is that the quantity of fill in this jacket compensates for the fill quality.
I am 6ft 1" and weigh 150 lbs. I purchased a size medium jacket and find the fit to be ok. I would call the jacket bulky. It does seem to be a "bit" large in the lower front. Basically right where the handwarmer pockets are.
I did find a couple loose threads that shouldn't be on a jacket of this cost. I believe that the fabric on the outside of this jacket will tear easily so you will have to be carefull about that. For my intented use I think I will be ok. If you are intending to use the jacket in areas that are prone to snagging the jacket then you may want to look at something else. In the high wear areas of the outer jacket they have a reinforced abrasion resistant fabric. I would like to see the entire exterior of the jacket covered with this material.
I like Mountain Hardwear gear in general. You pay a premium price but you get much better gear than the off the shelf stuff at the local stores. I will continue to buy their gear and am very happy with this jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Chillwave™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Old School and it works well

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
TexasOutdoors
Location: Dallas, TX
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Besides wearing the jacket in very cold weather at home, I have been skiing in it this week and am very happy in 20 to 30 degree weather including 5 to 10 mph wind with just a t shirt and wool shirt underneath. Temperature regulation is good with minimum sweating. I wear 50 chest, 37 sleeve and the fit is spot on!
I would recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Chillwave™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chillwave Parka

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Brianr56
Location: Upstate S.C.
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The warmest coat I've ever owned. I'm a notorious "chiller" so anything I can do to stay warm (within reason) I'll try. Having used MH gear in the past, and having been very happy with quality and service, I decided to go with the 2nd heaviest parka they have. Just got back from spending two days in subzero wind chills, and never felt even slightly cold. No drafts at sleeves, collar, zippers, skirt. I unreservedly recommend this piece - it's overkill on a lot of days here, but some of us like that.
I would recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Chillwave™ Parka
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Toasty Goodness

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ace88
Location: Jackson, Wyoming.
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The collar and front hand warmer pockets have a nice soft liner to them which feels great on the skin.
The perfect amount of pockets in all the right places.
This jacket seems a little longer in length which I prefer.
I like that the hood zips off as most of the time I don't use it. It doesn't fit over my helmet when skiing so I just take it off.
The zip off hood is easy to take on and off but I am not so sure about the velcro in front. It seems a little flimsy. My experience with velcro is that it doesn't work so well when in contact with snow and high winds. Maybe magnets would work better.
This jacket is super toasty and comfortable. I would give it 5 stars if the hood was redesigned and lower retail price.
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Chillwave™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extremely pleased!

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
CoastieCarl
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this jacket after my Carhart let me down during extended work along the Cape Cod shoreline this winter. After a good bit of research I went with the Chillwave and am glad I did. It is extremely warm and has several deep and convenient pockets(two vertical, outer breast pockets, two hand pockets and two on the inside). I haven't quite taken it through its paces yet, so I don't know how it handles moisture, but I have done 2+ mile hikes in negative weather without a hint of a chill creeping in.
Suffice it to say, you won't be disappointed
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Chillwave™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Down Parka

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jeff148
Location: Jackson, WY
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This down parka does what it's meant to do, keeps you warm. When I look for a piece like this I want something warm, durable, and long lasting. This product delivers! I use this for everything ranging from walking to the bus to snowshoeing, skiing, and winter camping. I am very happy with it and reccommend it to anyone who needs a large puffy jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.