Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Mountain Monkey Tech™ Jacket

Mountain Hardwear Men's Mountain Monkey Tech™ Jacket

Mountain Monkey Tech™ Jacket
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
6 out of 8(75%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Mountain Monkey Tech™ Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Mountain Monkey Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
CQ09
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this a few months ago to use for the fall/ winter months, and I was impressed. I wore it the other day when the temperature was in the low 30s and I could not feel any cold air through the jacket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Mountain Monkey Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The fleece I've been looking for.

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Xe7en
Location: Norman, OK
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this jacket. I bought it instead of the non-monkey tech jacket - it was a newer product and about $10 cheaper. I'm happy with this purchase.
Super comfy and pretty warm in the windy weather I've been testing it in. I haven't gotten into any rain, but the construction of this thing is pretty bomber. My puppy got ahold of it and didn't even do any damage like I had feared when I caught him with it.
I'm 6' 5" and weigh about 210lbs. While I'm heavy, I'm pretty slim. I usually wear a medium T, but mediums are ALWAYS too short for me. I bought the large. Because of the athletic fit, it fits me NEARLY perfectly. In a perfect world, I would have a tiny, tiny, tiny bit less room around the biceps and sides - but when layering with anything other than a t shirt, this thing will fit me perfectly.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Mountain Monkey Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great performance

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pitou
Location: DFW, TX
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product has performed flawlessly. I wasn't quite sure what to expect of the fabric since I hadn't seen it but it is really great. Somewhere between fleece and softshell it is very wind resistant and warm. Fit was true - definitely trim/athletic cut
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Mountain Monkey Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Kyakbum

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kyakbum
Location: Richmond, VA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Bought a medium but the chest fit too tight and sleeves were 3-4 inches too long so I returned it. Im not a large guy (160 lbs, 5'8", waist 32"). Most mediums either fit pretty well or are somewhat large but wearable. Chest was too restrictive for active use with a lightweight fleece and under armor. I have a medium Northface that fits well but lacks the features of this jacket so it was a disappointment. I also have a medium Mountain Hardware Packlite rain jacket and it fits very well so I thought the fit of the Monkey Tech was rather odd.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Mountain Monkey Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Standard fit?

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kayakbound
Location: South Carolina
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The description reads "standard fit" but should read "athletic fit". Hey, I'm 5'8", 160 pounds, 41" chest. This jacket should not dig into my armpits with only a t-shirt on.
Back it goes. Too bad because the fabric and construction is top notch.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Mountain Monkey Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Almost as good as the discontinued OZONE jacket

PostedNovember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
BobG
Location: Madison, WI
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
I have been a longtime user of MHW products. The now discontinued OZONE jacket from a few years ago was the standard of the industry for flexible windproof fleece. The fleece when the OZONE was made was much more flexible and softer than the current fleece. I assume that is related to the amount of recycled plastic used in the new fleece ( not JUST MHWs fleece but ALL fleece in 2013) it just is more stiff and less soft. The jacket is perfect for around town wear since it stops the wind and the fleece is very warm but not too warm to wear inside around the house for watching football. The sleeves are a little long ( I have long arms and the sleeves are about 1 inch longer than the OZONE). I also wear this jacket under down jackets when it gets really cold but for me living in WI this jacket is good into the teens. Well worth the price. If it had the spandex material around the backside of the wrists ( where lots of heat leaves the body and helps me stay more comfortable) like the OZONE, I would say this was
the perfect jacket. Pockets could be higher to prevent backpack belt from blocking them also.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Mountain Monkey Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This jacket is avery good blend of style and function

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Peter
Location: Massachusetts
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is a great solution for a daily wear item during three New England seasons. The material provides warmth through its effective windblocking and ability control the bottom and neck openings. However it is light enough to not cause overheating when worn indoors.
The fit is generous enough to allow a couple of layers underneath and yet relatively trim and sporty. My one suggestion is that the sleeve could be about 1inch shorter.
I had an early version of this product that I wore for years until it was lost. It wore very well and looked almost new until the day it disappeared. All replacement options that I tried for the past 2 years were unsatisfactory for reasons of fit or materials. I'm glad I found my way back to this Mountain Hardwear model.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Mountain Monkey Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mountain Monkey Tech

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ajax
Location: Maryland
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality of the jacket's craftsmanship & material are outstanding. My sole grippe is the length of the arms. The jacket's arms are an inch to an inch and a half too long.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
JayP
Concord, CA
 
Please wait while more information about JayP is loaded.
Additional information about JayP could not be loaded.
Mountain Monkey Tech arm length too long
Posted October 17, 2014
I am 5'10" and I completely agree the arms are too long, had to return this product.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)