Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Yumalino™ Pant

Mountain Hardwear Men's Yumalino™ Pant

Yumalino™ Pant
Overall rating:
4.769 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
24 out of 24(100%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Yumalino™ Pant
Review 1 for Men's Yumalino™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these pants

PostedFebruary 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
Bob37
Location: Snowy Massachusetts
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have worn these as uniform pants during two blizzards and multiple snowstorms this winter, and they have performed admirably. They are by far, some of the most comfortable pants I've every worn, and are warm to boot. I am 6'1" 205 and I typically wear 34/32 or 35/32. I bought the 34/32 and the fit was perfect. Highly recommend these pants.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Yumalino™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Snug as a bug in a rug

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Customer Avatar
BobG
Location: Madison, WI
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I now own 3 pair of these pants, one in each color. If there is a better winter weather pant I don't know what it is! When you slip these on for the first time you will think you have died and gone to heaven. The pants are soft (lightweight fleece inside) smooth and with elastane in the fabric, just enough stretch and wind resistance to make them perfect for lounging inside or being outside in the cold. The fabric and fit are good enough to wear them to the office.
If they made these without the fleece and in summer colors for warm weather wear, I'd be wearing Mountain Hardware pants 24/7 - 365. Please make them for summer use without the fleece!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Yumalino™ Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

too big

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
William123
Location: hampton,va
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Large
True Fit
Too Large
Nice pants but I ordered them twice and had to send back twice. Still too big. I'm a 34/30 and they are at least two sizes too big and too baggy. May not order again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Yumalino™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pair of cool weather pants

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
rofr58
Location: Atlanta, GA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I'm 56 years old, 5'9" and weigh 162 lbs. For reference, Levi's 501's in a 32" waist are snug on my hips, but not in the waist. Same with Carhart pants. With that as background, I'll say the 32" waisted Yumalino's fit loose enough to comfortably wear a layer underneath. I like these pants so much that I just ordered a second pair with a 31" waist. They should fit fine as long as I'm not wearing a thick base layer bottom. I've done the same with pair of MH Passenger pants. I have one pair of Passenger pants in 32" and one in 31".
I really like these Yumalino pants, not just for their intended purpose but for wearing inside and around the house as well. It's like wearing a pair of fleece pants that are masquerading as "regular" pants...fleece pants with all the pockets of pair of regular pants. Plus when you wear them outside with a decent base layer, they work great. I wore them to the top of tallest peak in Georgia - Brasstown Bald - recently to do some sunrise photos. I wore some wind resistant tights underneath. At the top, the wind was blowing 30mph. The temperature was in the low 20's. I got to the top 30 minutes before first light and hung out about three hours on top. I was fine. I had some hardshell pants along, just in case, but never needed them.
I've washed these several times using the Active setting on our washer and dried them on low heat. They come out looking the same as when I took them out of the plastic bag they were shipped in.
As a bonus, dog slobber wipes right off.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Yumalino™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely wonderful

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Customer Avatar
JeepJon
Location: D.C.
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't say enough good things about these pants--warm, perfectly stretchy, seem to be very durable thus far. The DWR treatment beads off small amounts of water perfectly. I wear these pants for days at a time, may have to invest in another pair.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Yumalino™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New favorite pants

PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
Shane300
Location: Columbus, OH / Vancouver, BC
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
While I've only had these pants for a few days now, I can't stop obsessing how awesome they are. the fleece lining is a whole other level of comfort and keeps me quite warm in this cold weather. I went on a rainy hike today in Washington and it was so great not having to worry at all about the rain with these pants on, along with my Plasmic jacket.
As for fit, I read review after review and with nearly everyone else saying they fit large, I ordered the 30x34. I'm 5'10" 145 and usually wear a 31" waist. The 30" on these pants still has a bit of room around the waist, but the fit around the butt, thigh, legs is great. Roomy, but not too baggy... I can't stand wearing extra baggy clothes (the reason I returned my Piero pants.)
Right after I submit this review, I'm ordering another pair of these.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Yumalino™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
WIMom
Location: Madison, WI
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
This is the 2nd pair for our son who loves these pants
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Yumalino™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pants!

PostedDecember 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
dwhiskers
Location: Los Angeles
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bought these for a working trip to Europe in Dec. avg temp 38-42 degrees.
They were very warm without being heavy. Really like the stretch fabric. Material repelled dirt and wrinkles.
Leg side pocket was very handy.
Would definitely buy again.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Yumalino™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Function and feel

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
NewEnglandMountaineer
Location: Boston
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my second pair of yumalinas. My first pair are fine and I wear them but wanted a black pair since they look a lot like dress pants in a way so I can wear them to work with a business shirt (the dress casual thing). Yet the feel sooooooo comfortable and are very warm and water repellant. So when I commute to work I walk a couple miles and in the Boston winters it can get ugly. Yet these pants keep you toasty when everyone else in dress pants are freezing.
Yes have worn them on many a hike but love these for work.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Yumalino™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cozy Pant

PostedDecember 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
rmjones911
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for Colorado mountain weather when it drops into the teens and below and you want to stay active. Can't speak to breathability quite yet, but these are warm, stylish (don't look like 1980s ski pants) and can be worn through pretty much any activity. They had held up through a number of washes and fit just right.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Yumalino™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for winter

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
MattAg
Location: Houston
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered a pair of these pants to visit family in Colorado for Thanksgiving. I wore them everyday I was there. They are like wearing sweat pants, but look like actual pants. Great for outdoor activities in the snow. I am going to Iceland in a few weeks and am ordering 2 more pairs in the colors I don't have. I am 6'2' and about 175. I ordered the 33x34. I might be able to drop down to a 32x34.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Yumalino™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

outstanding winter pant

PostedNovember 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
jambnet
Location: NW GA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
I have own(ed) two pairs of these pants and used them ice climbing in NH, xc skiing etc. Warm and comfortable even in minus F temps Not crampon proof but gaiters would have prevented the damage.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Yumalino™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lightweight yet warm

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
RM223
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants are great for wearing all day in extremely windy conditions. I have not tried them in the rain or snow yet but I believe they will work great.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Yumalino™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

for cold weather

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sailor
Location: Seattle, WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
we purchased these pants for wearing in Chile. It was helpful to try on a pair similar in the store so that the size we ordered was correct.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Yumalino™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm & comfortable

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
NorthwoodsBob
Location: Ely, MN
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
By far the most comfortable pants I've ever worn! Lightweight and warm--ideal for chilly fall days outside, but also comfortable indoors. Runs a bit large. I normally wear pants with 33 waist, but 32 allows plenty of room. The stitching in the crotch started to unravel in the first pair I owned, but it was repaired and returned to me quickly and without charge. I now have 2 pairs.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Yumalino™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Initial Thoughts: My New Go-To Winter Pant

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
JoeRescue
Location: NJ
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Here are my initial thoughts after a few days with these pants in the snow.
*They are extremely stretchy
*Slightly large in the waist / rear end region.
*Just a hair short
*Insanely comfortable lining (Honestly feels like I'm wearing the softest pair of sweatpants ever)
*Water-resistant coating works extremely well around snow.
I wore these pants on duty for my search and rescue team during the latest snowstorm.
I wore these pants with nothing but a pair of boxer briefs underneath with temperatures down to the single digits.
The pants laughed off snow and ice as I cleaned off the trucks overnight. When the winds kicked up...the pants kept me warm and dry. The pants moved with me extremely well.
If you need pants that are warm, comfortable and give you excellent mobility....these are the pants for you. These are my new go-to pants for any wintry weather. If temps drop below zero, I would throw on some baselayers.
Sizing:
I am 6'2" 160lbs.
I got a 31x32
The waist is about an inch too big, but they aren't falling off me. I tossed on the Alloy Nut belt and they snugged up with no bunching.
The length was a hair short. If they were dress pants, I'd say they have a medium break. Not sure what's desirable for hiking pants..I was thinking about getting the 34 inseam - but thought it might be a little too long.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Yumalino™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm and cozy as Mom's apple pie!

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tifoso
Location: Maryland (Appalachia)
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Extremely warm and comfortable and of the quality expected from MHW. I have other fleece-lined pants (by other brands) that are very similar in construction and fabric "weight", but somehow MHW has managed to make these pants significantly warmer. I've worn them out in 20 degrees (running errands) and was amazed that my legs weren't cold. Their outer shell is also tough and durable. They'd take on minimal to moderate brush with no problem.
Only point of caution is the size is a bit large. I had to go a size down on the waist. BUT A SIZE DOWN FIT LIKE THEY WERE MADE FOR ME! :) :) If you are considering these, take the time to call MHW and inquire about specific sizing for this product.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Yumalino™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice pants- check size!

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Strider66
Location: Cville, VA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As to the pants themselves, they do what I wanted them to do, which was to give me a synthetic version of flannel lined jeans. Warm, but don't take forever to dry out in the drier after washing (or after getting wet in the field). Be careful about the fit, though. I have worn 36" waist pants for 30 years, but these came in easily 2" bigger than that. So, I returned them for 34", and they fit pretty well, although they seem a tad snug in the butt. Overall, I'm pretty happy with them. They look good in town or at work, too, though I bought them mainly for cold weather hiking.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Yumalino™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'm buying a second pair

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Louis
Location: California
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I needed a warm pair of pants for winter hiking, astronomy and a winter trip to Alaska. I have used them one weekend and am thrilled. They look good, are comfortable and keep me warm. I am a size 32 waist but I bought size 33 so I could wear it over layers and/or tuck in my heavy winter shirt. The extra inch fits me well with a belt and is roomy enough for layers and a shirt. I ordered a second pair in a different color because I'm confident that I will be using them enough to justify a second pair.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Yumalino™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice pants, but run large

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
HopfFibration
Location: Wisconsin
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Large
True Fit
Too Large
These pants are incredibly soft, stretchy and comfortable, and they seem to be well made. The fleece lining is great.
However, although most of my pants have a nominal 34" waist, these were at least two inches too large for me. (When I measure my waist, it is actually 36".) Also, the rise is way too long for me, but I seem to have unusually low-slung hips, and that is true of almost all pants that I buy.
I returned them because of the rise issue. I expect most people could simply size down to get a good fit.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.