Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Yumalino™ Pant

Mountain Hardwear Men's Yumalino™ Pant

Yumalino™ Pant
Overall rating:
4.765 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
16 out of 16(100%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Yumalino™ Pant
Review 1 for Men's Yumalino™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cozy Pant

PostedDecember 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
rmjones911
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for Colorado mountain weather when it drops into the teens and below and you want to stay active. Can't speak to breathability quite yet, but these are warm, stylish (don't look like 1980s ski pants) and can be worn through pretty much any activity. They had held up through a number of washes and fit just right.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Yumalino™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for winter

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
MattAg
Location: Houston
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered a pair of these pants to visit family in Colorado for Thanksgiving. I wore them everyday I was there. They are like wearing sweat pants, but look like actual pants. Great for outdoor activities in the snow. I am going to Iceland in a few weeks and am ordering 2 more pairs in the colors I don't have. I am 6'2' and about 175. I ordered the 33x34. I might be able to drop down to a 32x34.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Yumalino™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

outstanding winter pant

PostedNovember 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
jambnet
Location: NW GA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
I have own(ed) two pairs of these pants and used them ice climbing in NH, xc skiing etc. Warm and comfortable even in minus F temps Not crampon proof but gaiters would have prevented the damage.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Yumalino™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lightweight yet warm

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
RM223
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants are great for wearing all day in extremely windy conditions. I have not tried them in the rain or snow yet but I believe they will work great.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Yumalino™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

for cold weather

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sailor
Location: Seattle, WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
we purchased these pants for wearing in Chile. It was helpful to try on a pair similar in the store so that the size we ordered was correct.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Yumalino™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm & comfortable

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
NorthwoodsBob
Location: Ely, MN
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
By far the most comfortable pants I've ever worn! Lightweight and warm--ideal for chilly fall days outside, but also comfortable indoors. Runs a bit large. I normally wear pants with 33 waist, but 32 allows plenty of room. The stitching in the crotch started to unravel in the first pair I owned, but it was repaired and returned to me quickly and without charge. I now have 2 pairs.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Yumalino™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Initial Thoughts: My New Go-To Winter Pant

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
JoeRescue
Location: NJ
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Here are my initial thoughts after a few days with these pants in the snow.
*They are extremely stretchy
*Slightly large in the waist / rear end region.
*Just a hair short
*Insanely comfortable lining (Honestly feels like I'm wearing the softest pair of sweatpants ever)
*Water-resistant coating works extremely well around snow.
I wore these pants on duty for my search and rescue team during the latest snowstorm.
I wore these pants with nothing but a pair of boxer briefs underneath with temperatures down to the single digits.
The pants laughed off snow and ice as I cleaned off the trucks overnight. When the winds kicked up...the pants kept me warm and dry. The pants moved with me extremely well.
If you need pants that are warm, comfortable and give you excellent mobility....these are the pants for you. These are my new go-to pants for any wintry weather. If temps drop below zero, I would throw on some baselayers.
Sizing:
I am 6'2" 160lbs.
I got a 31x32
The waist is about an inch too big, but they aren't falling off me. I tossed on the Alloy Nut belt and they snugged up with no bunching.
The length was a hair short. If they were dress pants, I'd say they have a medium break. Not sure what's desirable for hiking pants..I was thinking about getting the 34 inseam - but thought it might be a little too long.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Yumalino™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm and cozy as Mom's apple pie!

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tifoso
Location: Maryland (Appalachia)
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Extremely warm and comfortable and of the quality expected from MHW. I have other fleece-lined pants (by other brands) that are very similar in construction and fabric "weight", but somehow MHW has managed to make these pants significantly warmer. I've worn them out in 20 degrees (running errands) and was amazed that my legs weren't cold. Their outer shell is also tough and durable. They'd take on minimal to moderate brush with no problem.
Only point of caution is the size is a bit large. I had to go a size down on the waist. BUT A SIZE DOWN FIT LIKE THEY WERE MADE FOR ME! :) :) If you are considering these, take the time to call MHW and inquire about specific sizing for this product.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Yumalino™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice pants- check size!

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Strider66
Location: Cville, VA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As to the pants themselves, they do what I wanted them to do, which was to give me a synthetic version of flannel lined jeans. Warm, but don't take forever to dry out in the drier after washing (or after getting wet in the field). Be careful about the fit, though. I have worn 36" waist pants for 30 years, but these came in easily 2" bigger than that. So, I returned them for 34", and they fit pretty well, although they seem a tad snug in the butt. Overall, I'm pretty happy with them. They look good in town or at work, too, though I bought them mainly for cold weather hiking.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Yumalino™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'm buying a second pair

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Louis
Location: California
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I needed a warm pair of pants for winter hiking, astronomy and a winter trip to Alaska. I have used them one weekend and am thrilled. They look good, are comfortable and keep me warm. I am a size 32 waist but I bought size 33 so I could wear it over layers and/or tuck in my heavy winter shirt. The extra inch fits me well with a belt and is roomy enough for layers and a shirt. I ordered a second pair in a different color because I'm confident that I will be using them enough to justify a second pair.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Yumalino™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice pants, but run large

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
HopfFibration
Location: Wisconsin
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Large
True Fit
Too Large
These pants are incredibly soft, stretchy and comfortable, and they seem to be well made. The fleece lining is great.
However, although most of my pants have a nominal 34" waist, these were at least two inches too large for me. (When I measure my waist, it is actually 36".) Also, the rise is way too long for me, but I seem to have unusually low-slung hips, and that is true of almost all pants that I buy.
I returned them because of the rise issue. I expect most people could simply size down to get a good fit.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Yumalino™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Yumalino men's pants

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mzplaced
Location: Indianapolis
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
The pants are great. My boyfriend will love them once I get the right size. He usually wears a 33-34, but the 33 was way too big. We are trying the 31's.
So my comment is they really run large so keep that in mind when ordering.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Yumalino™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Warm all around winter pants

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
AZxfitAdventurer
Location: Tucson, AZ
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These pants have good warmth with little bulk. I also like the stretch fabric. The cargo pocket could be bigger to accomodate more gear. There is a handy key clip in the cargo pocket too which is a nice touch. I wore these pants around town during the Michigan 2013 winter season while in the 20's and snowing.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Rafael123
Chicago IL
 
Please wait while more information about Rafael123 is loaded.
Additional information about Rafael123 could not be loaded.
Super soft lining
Posted October 3, 2014
These pants are very warm for chicago weather. They are warm right about to the 10 degrees and normall walking. If your just standing there you might start feeling cold.
unfortunately they were not warm at all from last years polar vortec when the temperature sank down to a staggering -30 degrees. but I will not knock any stars down for that. When it gets that cold I just wore some other brands 3.0 thermall leggings. The pants and those leggins was all i needed to stay warm when the polar vortext showed up.
they are however super stretchy which is great for me because I used them a lot for cycling around the city in the frigid temperatures.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 14 for Men's Yumalino™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Winter Pant

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
BobO
Location: Ridgway, CO
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very comfortable and warm. Fit is slightly large around the waist. Will likely buy an additional pair.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Yumalino™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfy and Warm

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Beaumom
Location: Chicago
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband's new "go to" pant. He loves the lining/warmth and can't wait to put on after work. He hasn't yet used them out in the cold but suspect they will become the go to snow shoveling pant this season
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Yumalino™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these pants

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nosamk
Location: Lake Stevens, WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought my first pair on closeout from an online outfitter. As soon as I put them on I knew I wanted another pair. I live in the PacNW and its the rainy season now. These are my goto pants in lieu of jeans now. Cozy warm, water-resistant, and casual looking.
I'm tall and thin - typically wear 32x34 jeans. Ordered same size and the waist is just a touch large - but nothing a belt doesnt fix.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Yumalino™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the price!

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
FlyGal
Location: Fort Myers FL
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We live in SoFlorida & are going to Alaska fly fishing. My frugal husband thought it was silly to buy insulated pants....until he saw my Yumalinas. He grumbled but didn't protest when I offered to order him this men's version. He would NEVER admit it but he's thrilled with them! Loved that he could specify size & they were true to size. And, he had to admit, they will be great for fishing even here on "chilly" (for us) winter days in the boat. Light, cozy, just enough but not too much warmth. Thank you for a great product!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.