Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Monkey Man™ 200 Jacket

Mountain Hardwear Men's Monkey Man™ 200 Jacket

Monkey Man™ 200 Jacket
Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
8 out of 9(89%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Monkey Man™ 200 Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Monkey Man™ 200 Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Fleece For Layering

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
SPJ185130
Location: Virginia
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm 5'10 and 175Lbs so I purchased a size M. This jacket fits slightly snug, but not so much as to restrict movement. A perfect fit. It works great under the Nirtous down jacket (size L jacket for some reason) with no thought of being cold down to 0 degrees F with a regular t-shirt as the base layer. This fleece is packable and it doesn't wrinkle. The elastic around the bottom of the fleece is great because it keeps wind from blowing up under you. My favorite fleece. Only rated the quality as good because I haven't washed it many times yet and I don't know if it lasts or not.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Monkey Man™ 200 Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

second monkey man jacket

PostedDecember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
mechanic
Location: ky
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased a monkey man jacket a couple years ago. It was awesome. Minus the pockets and freakishly long arms. It was one of the warmest jacket ever.
Now this new version.
The new version not as warm, but excellent fit. Pockets are lined; much better. Sleeves are a little shorter but could use about a inch less.
Overall, once again completely satisfied. Yes, I am being as objective as possible. Though, it is hard since the Monkey man is the best on the market period. Dollar for dollar, quality, fit, and finish.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Monkey Man™ 200 Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extremely comfortable

PostedDecember 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
ian9426
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is one of the most comfortable jackets I've ever owned. It's extremely soft in the flexibility of the fabric makes me forget I'm wearing a jacket. I get very warm in the jacket, although it's not all that wind resistant. I would absolutely purchase this jacket again. The fit of this jacket is slightly athletic and it's not baggy.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Monkey Man™ 200 Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not like older version

PostedDecember 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
mrpy
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is not the loft as the older version, much thinner, not quite monkey fur. I miss the older version.
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Monkey Man™ 200 Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best fleece on the market

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
SteveL
Location: Golden, CO
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is the best fleece on the market. Thicker than other fleeces so it will actually add warmth yet highly breathable for strenuous activities in cold weather. Great for mountaineering and backcountry skiing. More pockets would be welcome but still the best. Get one then you will notice everybody else also has one because they are awesome.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Monkey Man™ 200 Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
rader58
Location: Leawood, KS
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The new monkey man is incredible. I love that it has a bit longer arms and fits snug through the torso. I have a medium torso and always have to order XL to fit my arm length. Finally a jacket that fits!!!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Monkey Man™ 200 Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Soft

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Graves
Location: San Francisco
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My new favorite jacket!!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Monkey Man™ 200 Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Definitely "Monkey Man" in the Arms

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Skier17
Location: Arlington, VA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is an awesome jacket for the sheer fact that it is super warm! I can wear it by itself on most days down to 25 degrees and under a Goretex shell down to -5. I bought this as a great zip in for my ski shell and honestly, it's too warm unless its colder than 10 above and even then it's can get too warm if I'm really working hard. It breathes well and dries fast.
The downside to this jacket is that it's quite long in the sleeves (like 4-6" too long). It is truly made for someone with monkey arms. I'm 6'0", 215 and the Large fits me great throughout the body, but it is still quite long in the arms. Another thing they could do to improve this would be to sew little "thumbloops" into it. I had my extra capable mother use her sewing abilities to add some thumbloops to mine, and it fits much better (I always use them).
I would recommend this product.
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Monkey Man™ 200 Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Products

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Hikerdude85
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wore this fleece all week while hiking through the Uwharrie National Forest in NC. It's super light weight so it packs great when your not wearing it, and layers well when the weather calls for a rain jackets. It also looks great and is super comfy.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.