Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Monkey Man™ 200 Jacket

Mountain Hardwear Men's Monkey Man™ 200 Jacket

Monkey Man™ 200 Jacket
Overall rating:
4.722 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
17 out of 18(94%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Monkey Man™ 200 Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Monkey Man™ 200 Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Monkey fleece is awesome

PostedApril 20, 2016
Customer Avatar
Location: California
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mountain Hardwear monkey fleece jackets are great.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Monkey Man™ 200 Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jacket. Warm and comfortable

PostedFebruary 4, 2016
Customer Avatar
Location: Tennessee
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this jacket. It's ridiculously soft and warm. Nice pocket placement and very functional as an outer layer or inner layer in extreme cold. Sleeves are a bit long, but for being outdoors, I can slip hands inside if I don't have gloves.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Monkey Man™ 200 Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great mid/base layer

PostedJanuary 16, 2016
Customer Avatar
Location: Fort Mill, SC
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have two Monkey Man Fleece jackets, and love them both. They work really well as a pull over for a cold day. NOT WINDPROOF. The wind whips right through so thats why it only qualifies as a fleece mid-layer. Cozy as can be for wearing around town or using as a pullover for backpacking. I would try one on before you buy because the length is the only minor issue as sizing goes. Im a 6ft 2in male thats rather lean, and it fits really well as to the more active style. The sleeves are longer than you might expect, but thats the best selling point on the fit of this fleece. covers your wrists and doesn't pull up when you reach for stuff. The overall length is a tad shorter than i would like. The benefits, however, are more than make up for this minor shortcoming. The best mid-layer/pullover that i would recommend. Mountain Hardwear is my favorite company since i do many outdoor hobbies from Backpacking to Skiing. Cant beat them.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Monkey Man™ 200 Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

First Impressions

PostedJanuary 7, 2016
Customer Avatar
Location: North America
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just received this fleece, and WOW! Softest one I've ever owned, and it is warm. The fit is nice and snug all around without being constricting, although the sleeves are really long. I'm 6'4" and the sleeves have about 4-5" inches extra length on them. This is not enough for me to send the jacket back, although I can't imagine a person with shorter arms liking this feature. Overall a nice jacket, and I can't wait to monkey around in the outdoors in it!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Monkey Man™ 200 Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Light and Warm

PostedJanuary 6, 2016
Customer Avatar
Location: Denton Tx
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is an excellent jacket for those who value warm but light weight clothes ... my husband has had one of them for 4 years ... almost no wear... we got the second one and planning on getting another one before next winter.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Monkey Man™ 200 Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

If your reading this buy it.

PostedDecember 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: VA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This fleece is the fleece of all fleeces. Super warm, and super soft this thing goes with me every day to the office and the backwoods. I got it on sale but if anything ever happens to it you can bet ill buy it again at full price with no hesitation. Added bonus that I'm surprised they don't advertise it stuffs into its own pocket! Can be a little hot for high energy hikes but when you really trekking along 90% of the time I'm just in my base layer with a shell so no harm no foul. Truest me this will become an essential part of your kit as well as finding your self wearing it every day to the point where friends and coworkers will ask if you even have another jacket. Im tall and lanky 6' 2" and the sleeves are perfect Mountain Hardware sizing is fitting is on point.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Monkey Man™ 200 Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Husband loves it!!!!

PostedDecember 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Gerogia
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excited to be able to find the same jacket after 2yrs ago! My husband loves his mountain hard wear "monkey man" it keeps him so warm!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Monkey Man™ 200 Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Warm, but oddly fitting

PostedNovember 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Colorado
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
So this thing is pretty true to fit. However its a little snug on the arms but a little lengthy over the wrist. I'm afraid if I moved up to a large, it would fit a little better on the chest and arms but I would have a bunch left over in the wrist area in terms of length. This thing is warm and is going to make a great mid-layer.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Monkey Man™ 200 Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Soft,Cozy,Lightweight

PostedSeptember 17, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Buffalo,NY
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This Jacket is not some overly ridiculous technical piece. It has a classic look with solid craftsmanship. I honestly just use it as an office jacket now and it is a cozy layer to throw on when cold. I will use it to layer with when the winter arrives. I had a similar thermo fleece from TNF. From past experience this is not something that can be used as a stand alone if it is super cold as wind passes through. It works best for a lightweight>warmth layer. I have never been let down by a Mountain Hardware product. At this cost this is a great buy.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Monkey Man™ 200 Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Fleece For Layering

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Virginia
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm 5'10 and 175Lbs so I purchased a size M. This jacket fits slightly snug, but not so much as to restrict movement. A perfect fit. It works great under the Nirtous down jacket (size L jacket for some reason) with no thought of being cold down to 0 degrees F with a regular t-shirt as the base layer. This fleece is packable and it doesn't wrinkle. The elastic around the bottom of the fleece is great because it keeps wind from blowing up under you. My favorite fleece. Only rated the quality as good because I haven't washed it many times yet and I don't know if it lasts or not.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Monkey Man™ 200 Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

second monkey man jacket

PostedDecember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Location: ky
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased a monkey man jacket a couple years ago. It was awesome. Minus the pockets and freakishly long arms. It was one of the warmest jacket ever.
Now this new version.
The new version not as warm, but excellent fit. Pockets are lined; much better. Sleeves are a little shorter but could use about a inch less.
Overall, once again completely satisfied. Yes, I am being as objective as possible. Though, it is hard since the Monkey man is the best on the market period. Dollar for dollar, quality, fit, and finish.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Monkey Man™ 200 Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extremely comfortable

PostedDecember 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is one of the most comfortable jackets I've ever owned. It's extremely soft in the flexibility of the fabric makes me forget I'm wearing a jacket. I get very warm in the jacket, although it's not all that wind resistant. I would absolutely purchase this jacket again. The fit of this jacket is slightly athletic and it's not baggy.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Monkey Man™ 200 Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not like older version

PostedDecember 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is not the loft as the older version, much thinner, not quite monkey fur. I miss the older version.
I do not recommend this product.
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Monkey Man™ 200 Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best fleece on the market

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Location: Golden, CO
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is the best fleece on the market. Thicker than other fleeces so it will actually add warmth yet highly breathable for strenuous activities in cold weather. Great for mountaineering and backcountry skiing. More pockets would be welcome but still the best. Get one then you will notice everybody else also has one because they are awesome.
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Monkey Man™ 200 Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Location: Leawood, KS
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The new monkey man is incredible. I love that it has a bit longer arms and fits snug through the torso. I have a medium torso and always have to order XL to fit my arm length. Finally a jacket that fits!!!
I would recommend this product.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Monkey Man™ 200 Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Soft

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Location: San Francisco
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My new favorite jacket!!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Monkey Man™ 200 Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Definitely "Monkey Man" in the Arms

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Location: Arlington, VA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is an awesome jacket for the sheer fact that it is super warm! I can wear it by itself on most days down to 25 degrees and under a Goretex shell down to -5. I bought this as a great zip in for my ski shell and honestly, it's too warm unless its colder than 10 above and even then it's can get too warm if I'm really working hard. It breathes well and dries fast.
The downside to this jacket is that it's quite long in the sleeves (like 4-6" too long). It is truly made for someone with monkey arms. I'm 6'0", 215 and the Large fits me great throughout the body, but it is still quite long in the arms. Another thing they could do to improve this would be to sew little "thumbloops" into it. I had my extra capable mother use her sewing abilities to add some thumbloops to mine, and it fits much better (I always use them).
I would recommend this product.
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Monkey Man™ 200 Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Products

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wore this fleece all week while hiking through the Uwharrie National Forest in NC. It's super light weight so it packs great when your not wearing it, and layers well when the weather calls for a rain jackets. It also looks great and is super comfy.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.