Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant

Mountain Hardwear Men's Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant

Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant
Overall rating:
4.643 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
25 out of 27(93%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant
Review 1 for Men's Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chock stone pant

PostedMarch 28, 2016
Customer Avatar
Location: Parsberg, Germany
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent pants. Wore them to climb indoors in Nuremburg, can't wait to get them on the crag in a few weeks. I'm 5'10", 155 with a 32" seam, they fit great, super comfortable! Thigh pocket was deep enough to drop my iPhone 5 comfortably and not worry about it at the gym. I can't wait to get the other colors, great job MHW!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is an easy pant to love and wear!

PostedJanuary 24, 2016
Customer Avatar
Location: Olympia, WA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My partner and I both wear this pant - lucky us! It has two zip pockets at the side, one zip pocket on the front at the thigh, and a built-in adjustable, out-of-the-way belt. Pockets are an important feature for me, as I dislike carrying a purse. We like them so well we've purchased three pairs, so far. Though I use mine for casual everyday use - making long-distance commutes to school, my guy finds them to be both stretchy and tough enough to wear backpacking and mountain-climbing. I find them comfortable, easy to stow and retrieve things from the pockets, and fast-drying when caught in Washington rain. Love them!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Functionally great, but durability questionable

PostedJanuary 15, 2016
Customer Avatar
Location: Hilton Head Island, SC
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The comfort and functionality of these pants are great; wind and water resistant, wonderful stretching. I have used them for road biking in 55-65F weather and have pedaled about 100 miles in them.
Only problem is that the seat of the pants are already “pilling”. My bike seat is smooth vinyl so, I am surprised to have this problem.
The waist size is also about two inches larger than I expected, which I solved by cinching the belt, but cosmetically, that leaves a folded pleat in the front.
If the seat pilling does not get much worse, then I will definitely buy another pair, but I will get 32-inch waist instead of 34. 30-inch inseam was perfect for me.
I am 6.0ft tall - 170lbs.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Every Day and Travel Pants

PostedDecember 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: San Francisco, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like the fit. Good for hiking, traveling or walking around the park.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pants

PostedDecember 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: New York, NY
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are the greatest f'in pants I have ever owned. Don't stop making them. I have bought 10 pairs and I use them for hiking, working and casual wear. I freaking love these pants!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Comfortable but Not Durable

PostedDecember 7, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Ventura, CA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
On first trying these pants on they are comfortable and don't bind my legs while moving. They look good and fit well.
However on my first trip I put a hole in the knee. I wasn't being hard on them or snagging them on sharp rock. I don't even know the exact moment when it happened it was so not noteworthy. I was merely on hard ground packing a parachute. Also putting a knife clip over the zipper on the leg pocket isn't very good for the zipper.
That said they are reasonably inexpensive and I like wearing them but to be solid outdoor softshell pants I need them to survive more than ten days in the desert.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Climbers pant

PostedNovember 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice and stretchy pant for those days on the rock face.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best pants. ever.

PostedNovember 7, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Colorado
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you're thinking about buying these, just do it. You won't regret it. the most comfortable and agile pants I've owned.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versatile

PostedOctober 31, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Montana
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these pants for work and play outdoors. They are extremely comfortable. I enjoy the bit of elastic feel they have. I bought two more pair this past month. I used them for hiking, hunting and going to college football games. They wear well, clean up nicely and are just a great outdoor and all around pant. They look nice enough to wear around town too.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Second Pair

PostedOctober 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Denver, CO
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great all around winter pants for Colorado. Just enough room to layer under them with out being baggy anywhere. These are go anywhere do anything pants from hiking, climbing to hanging around the house or town. Pretty good wind resistance and they look great on. These are worth the price, but if you can snag them on sale go for it these pants are amazingly comfortable.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great travel pants

PostedJuly 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Richmond, CA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought these at the MH company store in Richmond while shopping for a two week trip to Italy. I had no idea they were intended as a hiking/climbing pant I just needed lightweight easy-to-pack pants I could wear as a tourist all day and and still look formal enough to not get dirty looks from the more formal European society at night (I typically live in bluejeans).
Boy did these exceed my expectations. They quickly became my go-to pants as I could hike the rocky/dusty trail up Mount Vesuvius in the afternoon, dust them off, take a shower, pull on a nice shirt and go to dinner in them on the rooftop restaurant of our hotel that evening and they still felt and looked great.
My only caveat about them as a pair of travel pants is that there are no back pockets and the front pockets are quite shallow, if you forget to zip them closed it's not hard for things to fall out of them. This is probably because they're meant for climbing/hiking though, and it didn't trouble me too much since I carried a satchel at all times and tried to keep everything zipped closed in it to discourage pickpockets.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

pants

PostedJuly 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Mesa, AZ
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have worn these a few times. did not seem to shrink(low heat setting on dryer). ver comfortable and not as hot(in AZ) as i expected. will probably order again!
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'm a Bushwhacker...

PostedApril 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Arizona
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in Arizona and I like to do a lot of back country hikes year round. My main objective is to get off the grid and explore places I believe humans rarely travel.
I have many other brands of technical clothing that I wear in the back country. I had never owned anything Mountain Hard Wear until I purchased these pants for warm weather outings.
I wore these out on 5 mile hike this past weekend and I loved them. They are extremely comfortable, quiet, and breath well in the warm weather. I ran into a few thorn patches and although they didn't tear or pull, they did allow the thorns to bury into the fabric forcing me to find the thorns and pull them out. That does not stop my recommendation of these pants, they truly are one of the best pair of back country pants I have purchased. One thought, can you guys make a camo pattern?
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great all weather pants

PostedMarch 17, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Idaho
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this because I liked the regular chockstone pants alot. However, the regular chockstones wore out really quickly and began to fray. These pants felt much sturdier, had the same fit ans the original chockstones and stretched just as much as well. I've used them during the winter (heavy snow, wet snow, ice, slushy snow, rain, sloppy rain, etc.) and they have kept me dry. I normally wore them with thermals under and they did their job just fine. The only reason why I did not give them 5 stars was because these are also starting to fray at the knees and on the seat. With all due honesty however, I have used these bad boys multiple times for self arresting in ice and snow so I'm not that surprised that those two areas have wore out so quick. It would be nice to have additional protection in these areas though.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best design

PostedMarch 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: stow ohio
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
I ordered pants from my hardware and other retailers. They all arrived the same week and I returned everything but these so I could order another pair. They are worth the few extra dollars.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent stretch soft shell pants

PostedMarch 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
excellent stretch soft shell pants. wear it for casual or outdoor activities
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Climbing Pants

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've used these pants 3-4 times at the local rock gym and am looking forward to getting them outside as the weather warms up. The material on these has great stretch and a very nice feel. The waist belt lays nicely under a harness and the cut of the pants is really nice for moving up a route. I will be retiring some pants from a competitor that have been my "go to" climbing pants in favor of these.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NMyeti
Albuquerque, NM
 
Please wait while more information about NMyeti is loaded.
Additional information about NMyeti could not be loaded.
Update:
Posted October 12, 2015
I took these on a 3 day backpacking/peak bagging trip to the Pecos Wilderness in NM. I wore these pants the whole time. They performed flawlessly. These pants have been going strong since for nearly 8 months and are still my go-to climbing pants. The fabric has held up great, they still fit really well and have seen a ton of abuse. I had to refresh the DWR on them, but otherwise they have been awesome. Here are a few pictures of the pants in action.
Images for this Comment
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 18 for Men's Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best pant ever!

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Ct
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants are excellent. I have had many pairs of hiking/climbing pants and these are the best, by far! The soft shell is super comfortable, durable, and water repellent. I have used these fly fishing (under waders), hiking, rock climbing, and snowshoeing and they have performed above my expectations each time! I have scraped them on rock, thorns, etc and they still look like new. I was initially hesitant about the price but they were more than worth it and will be my go to pants for a long time!
Notes on sizing: they definitely run one waist size small. I usually wear a 31" waist and definitely needed a 32". Very happy with the fit though.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Active pant...legs too short!

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: MN
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
I bought the Chockstone in both the Active and the Casual versions. I returned the Active version because the legs were substantially shorter than on the Casual version. I understand that the Active pant fit is closer and more "athletic", but why does that mean that the pant length is so much shorter? Makes no sense.
I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pants!

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Oregon
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The most comfortable and versatile pants I've ever had. This is my second pair. Superb fit and function. I'm 5'9, 165 and the 32-32's are just right. Plenty of length, room in the thighs, built-in easy to use belt. The cut is low-rise, perfect for backpacking and everything else, in my opinion.
I've worn these in 70 degree weather, and in sub-freezing temps with a merino base layer. The pants proved comfortable in a wide range of temps and activities.
They are relatively durable, with only some pilling noticeable in the crotch area. They repel water to some degree, and dry quickly after becoming wet.
For an all-around hiking, climbing, backpacking, or even as a casual around-town pant, these are tough to beat.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.