Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant

Mountain Hardwear Men's Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant

Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant
Overall rating:
4.778 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
17 out of 18(94%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant
Review 1 for Men's Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great travel pants

PostedJuly 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Richmond, CA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought these at the MH company store in Richmond while shopping for a two week trip to Italy. I had no idea they were intended as a hiking/climbing pant I just needed lightweight easy-to-pack pants I could wear as a tourist all day and and still look formal enough to not get dirty looks from the more formal European society at night (I typically live in bluejeans).
Boy did these exceed my expectations. They quickly became my go-to pants as I could hike the rocky/dusty trail up Mount Vesuvius in the afternoon, dust them off, take a shower, pull on a nice shirt and go to dinner in them on the rooftop restaurant of our hotel that evening and they still felt and looked great.
My only caveat about them as a pair of travel pants is that there are no back pockets and the front pockets are quite shallow, if you forget to zip them closed it's not hard for things to fall out of them. This is probably because they're meant for climbing/hiking though, and it didn't trouble me too much since I carried a satchel at all times and tried to keep everything zipped closed in it to discourage pickpockets.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

pants

PostedJuly 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Mesa, AZ
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have worn these a few times. did not seem to shrink(low heat setting on dryer). ver comfortable and not as hot(in AZ) as i expected. will probably order again!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'm a Bushwhacker...

PostedApril 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Arizona
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in Arizona and I like to do a lot of back country hikes year round. My main objective is to get off the grid and explore places I believe humans rarely travel.
I have many other brands of technical clothing that I wear in the back country. I had never owned anything Mountain Hard Wear until I purchased these pants for warm weather outings.
I wore these out on 5 mile hike this past weekend and I loved them. They are extremely comfortable, quiet, and breath well in the warm weather. I ran into a few thorn patches and although they didn't tear or pull, they did allow the thorns to bury into the fabric forcing me to find the thorns and pull them out. That does not stop my recommendation of these pants, they truly are one of the best pair of back country pants I have purchased. One thought, can you guys make a camo pattern?
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great all weather pants

PostedMarch 17, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Idaho
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this because I liked the regular chockstone pants alot. However, the regular chockstones wore out really quickly and began to fray. These pants felt much sturdier, had the same fit ans the original chockstones and stretched just as much as well. I've used them during the winter (heavy snow, wet snow, ice, slushy snow, rain, sloppy rain, etc.) and they have kept me dry. I normally wore them with thermals under and they did their job just fine. The only reason why I did not give them 5 stars was because these are also starting to fray at the knees and on the seat. With all due honesty however, I have used these bad boys multiple times for self arresting in ice and snow so I'm not that surprised that those two areas have wore out so quick. It would be nice to have additional protection in these areas though.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best design

PostedMarch 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: stow ohio
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
I ordered pants from my hardware and other retailers. They all arrived the same week and I returned everything but these so I could order another pair. They are worth the few extra dollars.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent stretch soft shell pants

PostedMarch 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
excellent stretch soft shell pants. wear it for casual or outdoor activities
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Climbing Pants

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've used these pants 3-4 times at the local rock gym and am looking forward to getting them outside as the weather warms up. The material on these has great stretch and a very nice feel. The waist belt lays nicely under a harness and the cut of the pants is really nice for moving up a route. I will be retiring some pants from a competitor that have been my "go to" climbing pants in favor of these.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best pant ever!

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Ct
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants are excellent. I have had many pairs of hiking/climbing pants and these are the best, by far! The soft shell is super comfortable, durable, and water repellent. I have used these fly fishing (under waders), hiking, rock climbing, and snowshoeing and they have performed above my expectations each time! I have scraped them on rock, thorns, etc and they still look like new. I was initially hesitant about the price but they were more than worth it and will be my go to pants for a long time!
Notes on sizing: they definitely run one waist size small. I usually wear a 31" waist and definitely needed a 32". Very happy with the fit though.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Active pant...legs too short!

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: MN
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
I bought the Chockstone in both the Active and the Casual versions. I returned the Active version because the legs were substantially shorter than on the Casual version. I understand that the Active pant fit is closer and more "athletic", but why does that mean that the pant length is so much shorter? Makes no sense.
I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pants!

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Oregon
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The most comfortable and versatile pants I've ever had. This is my second pair. Superb fit and function. I'm 5'9, 165 and the 32-32's are just right. Plenty of length, room in the thighs, built-in easy to use belt. The cut is low-rise, perfect for backpacking and everything else, in my opinion.
I've worn these in 70 degree weather, and in sub-freezing temps with a merino base layer. The pants proved comfortable in a wide range of temps and activities.
They are relatively durable, with only some pilling noticeable in the crotch area. They repel water to some degree, and dry quickly after becoming wet.
For an all-around hiking, climbing, backpacking, or even as a casual around-town pant, these are tough to beat.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best All Around Outdoor Pant

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Utah
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my new favorite outdoor pant. Great overall fel with plenty of stretch in the leg. Material is nice and soft on the inside without being too warm and the material on the outside is outstanding. Sheds light rain very well. I am 5' 9 1/2" and got the 30" leg. Runs a little short with just normal shoes but is perfect for boots.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

2nd Pair

PostedNovember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Location: Tacoma, WA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
I first bought these pants at the store back in the summer and after wearing them a few months, decided I'd better get a second pair. These pants are really great for any activity. I've used them hiking up at Mount Rainier in 40-50 degree weather, and they worked very well. I occasionally use them when I go climbing at the gym and the flexibility is great for climbing. They are very comfortable, versatile, and great all-around pants. I also recommend them for traveling.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chockstone

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Location: Michigan
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are a great pair of pants. They are extremely comfortable right away and have a good amount of stretch to them. The only downside I have experienced so far is that the fabric becomes fuzzy in high wear areas.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best fall hiking pants

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Location: Juneau, AK
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love the way these pants regulate my temperature when I'm hiking. They have enough wind protection for when I'm next to the ocean on a crisp fall morning.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this pants!

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Location: Tacoma, WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My go-to pants for hiking in the winter. They are comfortable, fit very well and will keep you warm and dry. If you give them a try, they will become your favorite all-around pants. Exceptional product.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great All Weather Pants

PostedJune 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Location: Dallas, TX
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was looking for a pair of pants I could use for hiking in both warm and cold conditions. These pants are perfect for that. Very lightweight and breathable for the warmer days, but also sturdy enough to keep you warm down to around 30 degrees (guessing here). I wore gaitors with them to protect the fabric, so I cant comment on durability. Just wear gaitors so you dont have to worry about snagging them or tears from rocks/brush etc. They fit pretty snug but strech perfectly for those sometimes akward postions.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great softshell, for climbing and around town

PostedApril 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome softshell pants, very comfortable, just the right features for me. Also, they look great for around town (plain black, not too techy looking, great cut), which cannot be said of many other softshell pants.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Chockstone Midweight™ Active Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Don't leave home without these

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart design with just the right amount of storage build in. I wore these without a base layer on a 8 mile hike on snow covered trails through the Wissahickon Valley Park PA in the 40F with 0 mph wind and then again with a mid-weight base layer at Mt. Washington NH to the summit in 6F and 50 mph sustained winds. No sweat, no overheating and no cold. Front zip pockets kept my gear close and accessible and the 4 way stretch allowed additional comfort with some of the odd shaped gear like sunglasses, camera and compass. The bottom cuff fits easily over mountaineering boots and they do not ride up even under gaiters.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.