Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Expedition Duffel™ Large

Mountain Hardwear Expedition Duffel™ Large

Durable duffel designed for athletes carrying their gear around the globe Made of incredibly durable and pliable material, this duffel is clean in appearance but maintains a few loops for unconventional loading. Designed to be worn comfortably as a backpack the shoulder straps can also be converted into a single grab handle or over the shoulder strap.
Overall rating:
4.4 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
6 out of 7(86%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Expedition Duffel™ Large
Review 1 for Expedition Duffel™ Large
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly what I was looking for!!

PostedJune 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
DillonParker
Location: San Juan Mountains
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Perfect size. Made out of waterproof durable material. Very impressed. Easily fits:
4) 70m ropes
2) Climbing Helmets
2) Harnesses
And more Trad gear than you need.
It also has perfectly placed compression straps to keep all your gear from rubbing around. This also makes it easy to carry the Dufflle without it wanting to fold in half.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Expedition Duffel™ Large
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great bag, with a couple suggestions.

PostedMay 7, 2015
Customer Avatar
Bowhunter
Location: Kodiak, AK
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got this bag as a gear hauler for extended fishing and hunting trips. The quality and build of the bag is very good and it held a load of 70 lbs without it feeling strained or me wondering if it'd hold. The only issue I have with it is that somewhere in the airline baggage handling system, there's a belt or something that likes to eat the bottom of the bag. Every trip I've made with it, there's one or two new spots (all exactly the same) where you can tell something grabbed it and peeled back the rubber coating a bit. The fibers underneath held just fine, and I'd not even say it's close to ripping or tearing. But you can see the damage, and it happens every trip. I just put a dab of 3M 5200 on each spot when I get home and it works.
Suggestion would be a removable, flexible stay or sheet of some sort to give the bag a bit of form to it. Sometimes I pick the bag up by the handles on the end and it'll want to fold in the middle because it's so big. If the bag is packed nearly full, or has fly rod tubes in it, it'll hold it's form. But if it's just clothes or a bunch of smaller items in a big bag, it'll fold on itself.
Next suggestion would be a beefier zipper, or at least zipper lock. The zipper hasn't come close to failing, but I always zip it carefully and if I ever did stuff the bag to capacity, the zipper would be the weak link. As well as the lock rings on the zipper, they're too small to get a normal travel size lock into. You have to get a tiny lock to go in there and with a bag this size, what's the point of a tiny lock?
Other than that small stuff, great bag that I rely on regularly. Thinking about getting a smaller one as well.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Expedition Duffel™ Large
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Side handles ripped off

PostedApril 30, 2015
Customer Avatar
NorrisC
Location: San Francisco, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
I bought 4 bags from MH in total:
1 large expedition, 1 medium expedition, 1 large lightweight, and 1 medium lightweight in 2014.
I love MH products. Between my wife and I, we probably own about 40-50 pieces of MH gear (tents, clothing, bags) and their associated brands (Prana, Sorel, Montrail, etc).
I have never travelled on an airplane with them and took care of the bags.
I mainly used the large expedition to store my clothes that I wasn't going to use for the season. Last week, I lifted the bag and one of the handles ripped off. I noticed that the handle was only stitched on very lightly and if you carry any weight over 50lbs, it will eventually rip off. I expected this bag to last me years but it looks like the manufacturing quality of these bags are horrible. A large bag like this should be able to handle at least 50lbs.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Expedition Duffel™ Large
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Haven't gotten to travel with it yet

PostedApril 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
Travis03
Experience: Avid
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I haven't gotten to travel with this bag yet, but upon initial inspection, this is one solidly built bag. It is much closer in construction to a dry bag than a standard cloth duffle and looks like it can take any abuse that any type of travel can dish out. Overall I am very happy with this purchase.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Expedition Duffel™ Large
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Tough Duffel

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
jrowla2
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really like this duffel and find I'm using it for nearly any car trip or adventure I take. The material is super tough but lighter weight than other companies tough duffels. It has mesh pockets at each end of the bag which I find extremely helpful to keep a bag this big organized.
I have a few complaints. I wish it had some type of compression because a bag this big is a little unwieldy when not fully stuffed. I wish it had more traditional duffel grab handles for similar reasons as above and because the bag really sags when you use the carry handles that are only attached at the ends of the bag. Also, the backpack padding leaves something to be desired. I couldn't see myself carrying this bag fully loaded as a backpack comfortably.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Expedition Duffel™ Large
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Old reliable

PostedApril 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
SRD450
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use this bag all of the time. For extended travel, the shoulder straps are awesome. For local trips up to the mountain, I can consolidate my wife's twenty or so small bags that she always has to take into this one large bag - one trip to the car instead of ten. Ahhh.
This bag is big enough to fit two pairs of ski boots plus all of our ski gear, lunch, backpacks, etc.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Expedition Duffel™ Large
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Expedition Tough!

PostedJune 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
clay
Location: Lawrence, KS
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This thing rocks! It will handle monster loads with ease and take a beating in the process. I took one to 14,200' on Denali strapped to a sled and it was a champ! The daisy chains make lashing it down a breeze, the internal mesh pockets are great for organizing small items, internal compression straps are brilliant! This bag was abused - fell in a crevass, was buried in a cache, skied on and tossed around by myself and airline baggage handlers. I plan on getting a small bag to complement the large.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Expedition Duffel™ Large
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bruce Willis in Die Hard tough

PostedFebruary 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
ski1bum
These duffels are GREAT. I purchased 2 of them and have used them every weekend this winter to carry our families ski gear. The materials are all supper tought, strong handles, and oversized zippers that dont mind getting tested when I overpack. I really like the shoulder strap conversion for the handles when I have a long walk from the outer parking lots to the hotel or ski lodge. I am able to fit all the gear for a familiy of 4 in the 2 bags (2 pairs of boots, 2 Helmets, 2 ski jackets, 2 ski pants, gloves in each large duffel)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Expedition Duffel™ Large
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New hang gliding flight bag

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Phizboys
Location: nor cal
This is my new flight bag I love It . Keeps all my expensive flight instruments and gear safe and sound. I love the way It can be used as a back-back or truck bag very tough and durable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Expedition Duffel™ Large
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

bombproof

PostedNovember 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
trailnerd
Location: Montpelier, VT
Well-built bag. Only thing it could use is a sternum strap to make it easier to carry as a backpack.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.