Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Splitter™ 38

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Hardwear.

Mountain Hardwear Splitter™ 38

Splitter™ 38
Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
11 out of 11(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Splitter™ 38
Review 1 for Splitter™ 38
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The perfect travel bag

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
basko
Location: New York
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I travel around the world approximately 4 days a week, and I was ready to replace my small backpack/rollerboard combo with one larger backpack. The Splitter 38 is the perfect choice!
It's large enough to fit 3 days worth of clothing, a laptop, and a basic number of electronics, accessories, etc. It isn't for people who overpack, but if you value mobility and function this is a fantastic option.
The bag looks great, fits in an overhead bin, and it's sized and shaped in an unobtrusive way, so you won't look like a backpacker who took a wrong turn on the trail and ended up at the airport.
The quality is very good, although I had a clasp on the cinch strap break in the first two weeks, but due to the overall robustness and over-engineered components in general I can safely assume it was an isolated incident and the bag will hold up well long-term.
Great product, highly recommended for travelers and climbers alike!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Splitter™ 38
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great climbing pack

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
KeepCalmAndClimbOn
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just loaded my new Splitter up with all my gear and I'm very pleased with the set-up. Plenty of room for everything, and well positioned for access. The usual heavy-duty construction for Mountain Hard Wear is good, too. I'm looking forward to seeing how it holds up to real-world abuse.
The only reason I don't give it 5 stars is that I have only just started to use it and don't know how it will hold up yet.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Splitter™ 38
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Jack of all...

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Discoian
Location: Anywhere and Everywhere
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased the splitter last year and have been using it almost everyday since then and the bag is holding up like new (except for the dirt stains).
I have been able to easily fit a rope and 2 full trad racks in the bag without much problem and comfortably carried all that equipment to the wall and back. The biggest problem when climbing though is the frame...Every time i crane my neck up to look at my partner my helmet would hit the frame (bar) and limit the angle I could look up at. Easily fixed by removing the frame (bar) and carrying on. Not so much a problem as it is a work around.
I also travel a ton, and constantly have changing requirements when I travel, some times for work, or sometimes for vacation. Either way the sections and compartments are great for keeping things separate/organized and also keeping them within easy reach.
The size on this bag is also great because it compresses down (using side buckles) to accommodate any size load from daily commuter back to a long haul 4-5 excursion (i used this for 25 days in Cambodia...)
Great bag all around for any adventure!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Splitter™ 38
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent crag pack for days with technical approaches

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
soclymber0012
Location: Auburn, AL
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have not had the pack for long, but so far it is exactly what I have been looking for. Very spacious pack that is true to size and has compartments and features that are not lacking. Great for organization and ease of access. Comfortable straps and harness system even with heavy loads. The only reason I left the quality at good and not excellent is because I have not had the pack long enough to run it through the gauntlet of hard testing and some small parts feel a little lightweight and cheap. But again, no issues yet. Highly recommend it
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Splitter™ 38
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for a day pack

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
dewolf
Location: Red River Gorge
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really enjoy this backpack when I plan on sport climbing for the day. It holds everything I need and is a comfortable pack. If I plan on trad climbing or guiding I use a larger pack, but this pack is perfect for just an easy day of sport climbing. It is my go to pack for hiking as well. Absolutely recommend it.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Splitter™ 38
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Crag Bag for da Crag Hagz

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bugsy
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Hi, this bag is the best.
It holds all my junk for a days worth of climbing far away from the car. This bag fits a 70M rope into the included tarp and all my draws and gear onto the reinforced gear loops. Great thing is that it has a nice flap to hold everything securely while you hike in and out. The bag also opens up super wide so you can get your gear out easily. No more unloading a bag just to get that one piece of gear. Also, the top pockets are great for keeping all your other things like lunch, keys, and wallet organized. There is no place for a water bladder but the side pockets will hold two big water bottles. Great bag, well executed, and awesome for climbing specific uses.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Splitter™ 38
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

They said it was big but...

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
grynreeper
Location: Modesto, CA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Before I purchased this pack, I read other reviews and some people actually said it was "too big" as compared to the product description. My response - NOT AT ALL. This pack is amazing. The way it folds open into two halves make packing and organizing it a dream. I am a bit OCD when it comes to organization and this pack's internal and external compartments are built just right in size and placement to satisfy me. All of the other little bells and whistles (included gear tarp, fastening straps, even a bottle open) just sweeten the deal.
I travel a lot for work and I am very particular about my luggage. The same goes for my personal travel needs. This pack's features and workmanship are on par with some of the other high dollar items I use for business travel. The difference? This pack does it in style...
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Splitter™ 38
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
EricW
Location: Oakland, CA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This pack fits all my gear needed for a day of sport climbing including a dozen draws and slings, a 70m 9.8mm rope, harness, chalk bag and shoes. There's even extra room food/water etc. The different compartments are great for keeping everything organized and compact.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Splitter™ 38
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Day Climbing Backpack

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
dloo
Location: Austin, Tx
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had this backpack for over 2 years now. The pack is as good as new. Very resistant to abrasions from dragging it across the local crag. I've been guilty of over-packing it and thus putting more strain than normal on the zippers, but the stitching is holding up well and the zippers are super durable. I've also stuffed it full of cams and loaded as much as 30+ lbs of gear into it and it's been holding up very well. The comfort is also outstanding. If they would offer a 50L version I would upgrade to it.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Splitter™ 38
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great organizer

PostedMay 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Radness
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This bag works great to organize a small rack, rope, food, and gear for day trips. It's very comfortable.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Splitter™ 38
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

To the crag and up it

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
goby
Location: Portland, Or
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Took it to Smith Rock....I have to say this bag stood up to it's description, I packed all my climbing gear to the climb with water and a little food. The size looks big in the picture and it is in person, when the gear comes out it compacts nicely. The one down fall I had, or felt was to remove the upright stay in the middle, which it is removable, Thanks for that M H. I wear a helmet when climbing, the bar limits your head to look up, especially on the multi pitch I took this on. Its a good bag just to take to the local crag and play on the short stuff too. It's a climbing bag and it's nicely built for it.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Splitter™ 38
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bigger than expected

PostedOctober 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
huktunfonikz
Location: Los Angeles, CA
I ordered the size M/L and it is actually significantly bigger than the 38 liter capacity stated (if I remember correctly, it is 42 liters). The pack rides well and is comfortable. Tons of compartments for excellent organization and the tarp is high quality.
I am not a climber, but I do intend to take this on mountain biking trips, hiking trips, camping trips, casual travel, etc. The tarp could be used as a small picnic spread.
I am not giving it 5 stars only because it was larger than expected and the product description did not accurately reflect the larger capacity. When I wear my helmet, I cannot rock my head back easily as it contacts the top of the pack.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Splitter™ 38
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Room for the whole rack plus inches to spare...

PostedJune 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
jayfly
Location: Oregon
This is an excellent crag pack for Trad or Sport. I can fit two ropes, my entire trad rack, shoes, food, water, and two harnesses in this pack without feeling like it's over stuffed. I like the way my gear hangs inside the pack, this allows for easy access at the crag and keeps my precious gear from getting damaged in transit. If you baby your gear and want to take everything-just in case, this pack will be your new go-to for get up and go. Oh, and I love the segregated shoe compartment, keeps all the bad stuff from making friends with anything else in your bag!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Splitter™ 38
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great cragging pack

PostedMarch 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
tradmonkey
Location: San Diego, ca
This is a fantastic pack for cragging. The built-in organization features work great, providing the right amount of space for everything you need for a day at the crag. It will fit an average rack of doubles to 4" or so, harness, shoes, chalk bag, and a 60m rope INSIDE the pack, with a little space for some food and side pockets for water bottles. What more do you need? My only complaint with the pack is that the corrugated frame sheet isn't quite stiff enough for my preference. Careless loading/packing can result in the frame sheet buckling slightly and decreases the comfort of the pack.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Splitter™ 38
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Climbing Pack

PostedFebruary 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
LyingGuide
Location: Southwest Utah
I love how this pack opens wide. I can fit my draws, shoes, harness and other assorted things in this pack. I could never figure out if it was made to carry your rope inside but they include a ground sheet to keep your gear clean and I use it for my rope. With a small millimeter rope it fits just about right. My bigger rope is a little tight but doable. All in all a great pack for the price. I appreciate the small features like the zipper pulls, can opener :) and pockets on the waist belt.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.