Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Hueco™ 34

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Hardwear.

Mountain Hardwear Hueco™ 34

Hueco™ 34
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Hueco™ 34
Review 1 for Hueco™ 34
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

bag is awesome

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
snurfer
Location: Alaska
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently purchased this pack and so far it's been great. I have never had anything get wet inside. I can carry all of my climbing gear along with my running gear and a change of clothes. It's super comfy when biking or hiking.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hueco™ 34
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect 24 hour pack

PostedNovember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jackhammer
Location: TN
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently purchased the Hueco 34 pack as my 24 hour SAR pack. This pack holds all my equipment needed perfectly with room for additions. The pack sits well on my back and is comfortable for day hikes. After i received the pack, I loaded it up and hit a portion of the AT for a 10 mile day hike, I was greatly impressed by how comfortable the pack was. It is a major upgrade over our standard issue SAR packs from work. I have recommended this pack to several of my coworkers all ready. As always with MH products, the construction of the pack is excellent. Thanks for building awesome equipment that exceeds expectations.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hueco™ 34
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Crag bag

PostedNovember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wickett
Location: NC
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use this as my crag bag, the latest in a generation of many, and like the features. The grab handle on the back gets used a lot more than I anticipated and the helmet/compression strap is a useful touch.
My first bag had a defect, the top handle was not attached. MH quickly remedied that and I am thoughouly happy with the bag.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hueco™ 34
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

From the crag to the city streets!

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Suds
Location: Seattle, WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This bag has it all! I use it primarily for my bike commutes, and it holds everything from my textbooks to my groceries. Living in Seattle, this bag has been able to keep everything dry as well. The small features are what make this bag from a top zipper compartment to internal compartments to keep things organized. Took this out climbing as well - it was sturdy yet light enough to be the perfect multipitch bag. Highly recommended for biking/climbing folk!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hueco™ 34
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome bag that could use a couple more compartments!

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
hikergirlie
Location: Utah
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a great bag. I has been on several trips with us now and my husband wears it. He packs pretty heavy (mostly water for our dogs) and even with over 30lbs on a 10 mile + hike he says that he is still comfortable. His only complaint is he wishes that there were a few more small compartments, maybe on the outside for easy access to flashlights, snacks, glasses and other small items.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hueco™ 34
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this bag

PostedMay 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dizzy
Location: NC
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use this bag everyday, work, travel, climbing, and day hikes. If your looking for a highly organized (.i.e. Pen holders and laptop sleeve) this is not the bag for you. If you looking for something to carry ropes, water, and/ or 2 days worth of cloths this is the bag. the only things I would add are elastic bands to stow away extra hip belt slack.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hueco™ 34
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

City Biker and Hiker

PostedApril 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Niddle
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a guy who loves taking day hikes across PA but I also live in a city where biking to work is ideal. For the last 3 years I have gone through countless backpacks/bags/dufflebags that haven't met my needs. Some packs couldn't handle all of the stuff I needed on a given day ranging from my laptop, gym clothes, lunch, etc. The other ones that could often didn't fit right or were simply cumbersome when I would ride my bike. This bag not only is perfect for a day packed full of stuff but it also can be cinched down to a manageable size if you don't need to carry that much and it still fits great. Also as an amazing bonus this pack has all the trims and whistles you would want for a hiking excursion whether its simply a day hike or a nice 2 or 3 day spring/summer backpacking event. I love this pack and highly recommend it to anyone who had the same woes as I as a daily commute biker and hiker.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hueco™ 34
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Durable, versatile pack

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
yoyogadget
Location: Denver, CO
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had this pack for a few years now, and the more I use it the happier with it I am. I've taken it on many ascents of Colorado 14ers and it can handle anything that comes its way. It was recently my pack on a trip to Capitol Peak, and through a 2 day, 17mile hike/climb through rain and crumbling rocks the pack was comfortable and durable. In the winter, taking up a mountain face in 60 mph winds was no problem- all my gear stayed nice and safe
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hueco™ 34
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Let me count the ways

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
dadams
Location: Chicago, IL
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this pack. I love minimal, single space packs and have had a bunch of them in the past. This is one of the best.
Here we go:
Tons of space for the size. When the side tabs are pulled or the pack isn't full to the brim it is decently slim for its size.
Top compartment is great for fragile stuff that would get smashed otherwise.
So far its been bombproof. I'm a bit of an animal with my gear and tossing it all over has resulted only in character. Scuffs here and there but nothing serious. I also haul all my sport-climbing gear inside so all that heavy stuff banging around hasn't resulted in any issues.
Carries well for a minimal pack. I've had it stuffed with quickdraws and rope and it still wore really well. No superlong hikes yet, just hour approaches for climbing.
The only problem I have is that where my friend's older pack had gear loops in the top of the main compartment this pack has a goggle pocket. Useful I'm sure for snow enthusiasts, not so for me as a climber.
I love this bag, but inside gear loops would have made it perfect.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hueco™ 34
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pack (my previous pack was an Enterprise)

PostedAugust 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
ReidAuD08
Location: Nashville, TN
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use this bag for daily use as well as travel. I had an Enterprise pack before and found that I needed just a bit more room when I had to fit a 17" laptop, work notebook, dayplanner, a few books, iPad w/ keyboard, and other accessories. The Heuco 34 is the perfect bag for me - it handles a smaller load well but can also make a large/heavy load very comfortable. To me, the Cool Wave suspension system is a must and is a huge reason I love Mountain Hardwear packs - I tried out the Truckee 35 and it was very uncomfortable without the suspension system using both heavy a light loads. The Hueco 34 does not have the padded laptop sleeve that the Enterprise does (only a hydration sleeve) and it isn't as wide as the Enterprise laptop sleeve, but it could carry a 15" laptop comfortably. I carry my 17" in the main area of the bag and it's plenty secure. Also there are side pockets in the main compartment that help with organization - they are on either side and are the size of a travel umbrella. I like the top pocket because it's huge, but it doesn't have all of the storage compartments that an Enterprise does. I simply re-organized my stuff a bit and no worries. Overall, I'd say this bag is AWESOME if you have more stuff than an Enterprise can carry, and it's very comfortable. It can be used for daily activities if you carry a lot around but is really built to carry a lot of gear for packing/traveling. I've tried many daypacks over the years and Mountain Hardwear is the best!
I would recommend this product.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hueco™ 34
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect pack for trekking

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
cage
I bought this as an alternative to my larger backpacking packs for traveling and trekking. It doesn't have all the bells and whistles of the larger packs (i.e. fewer straps), which worked perfectly when I was packing mostly clothes and food. It was smaller than I thought, but worked out perfectly.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hueco™ 34
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Crag Bag

PostedSeptember 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dylan
Location: Burlington, VT
I use this as my secondary crag bag and heavy day pack and LOVE it. The top lid is great for helmet storage and the tough outside give me assurance when tossing it around the crag. Great pack. Quick and simple.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hueco™ 34
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Greatest Climbing Bag EVER!

PostedAugust 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
phil28
Location: Boulder, Co
I got this bag from my girlfriend for my birthday and we took it out last weekend and it was great. It held most of my climbing gear (rope excluded) and was very breathable and comfortable. I climbed with it on my back and didn't have any discomfort. It really is a nice sized pack for any climb!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.