Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear South Col™ 70

Mountain Hardwear South Col™ 70

South Col™ 70
Overall rating:
4.688 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for South Col™ 70
Review 1 for South Col™ 70
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very nice backpack, but could use more of a frame and extra access points.

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
wontonbomb
Location: San Diego, CA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is, obviously, a very easy-on-the-eyes backpack, which may have been more of a factor for choosing it than it should have been (I will take the hit for that). I used it for a 4-day backpacking trip on the Kalalau trail on Kauai (11 miles one-way, with multiple 800+ foot climbs, narrow paths sometimes on sheer cliff faces, wet/slippery trails, and multiple river crossings), weighed down with 40-50 lbs. of water, hammock, mosquito net, sleeping bag and pad, 5 days worth of dehydrated food, camping stove + gas bottle, emergency kit, and a little bit of heavy camera equipment; probably much heavier than I could have been, but well worth the extra effort. All that being said, and hopefully not speaking out of inexperience, the wrong application, or contrary to any design principles, the following would've been nice:
- A side and/or bottom access point(s) to reach items mid- or bottom of the pack without unpacking the whole bag. Even with the best packing/planning, sometimes you just never know when you suddenly need that thing you packed in first, right?
- The waist strap, as light as it is, feels relatively flimsy and just doesn't seem to transfer weight to the hips as well as it could.
- The backplate system seems alright, but, especially as I drank down my reservoir, aside from things formerly cinched down became loose, but that also caused a shift in the weight and its ability to transfer the weight to the hips, and instead started moving the weight back, away from the body, and I just couldn't quite get the weight distribution down. Perhaps a system closer to that of a traditional frame setup would alleviate that weight transfer.
Again a very aesthetically pleasing backpack, very light base weight, and some cool bells and whistles, but could possibly use an extra bell/whistle and stronger/more rigid back-waist system. Still gets the job done functionally and fashionably...
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for South Col™ 70
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple design

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
DS83455
Location: Victor, ID
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was looking for a pack with very few bells and whistles and that was durable. I used it for 25 days on a Denali patrol and it performed well on all occasions. I connected it to a sled and that worked fine. The attachment points for the sled were on the ski loops on the sides of the pack and the stitching held tough even when hauling heavy loads. The size is too small for full load hauling on big mountains, but it did fine in conjunction with the sled, or ferrying loads. I reverted to an old Dana Astraplane for the hike out of the range. If you want a pack for LARGE loads then the BMG is the pack for you. Otherwise I love the durability, simplicity, and weight of the South Col.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for South Col™ 70
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple and light pack

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mike68
Location: Seattle, WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a well built simple pack with only the necessary features. My favorite part of the bag is that is it large and extremely light weight with options to strip it down to a minimalist pack if so desired.
Plenty of room when expanded all the way out for extended trips but very easy to trim it down to a nice compact unit. Great job MH, love the pack.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for South Col™ 70
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versatile pack

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ridger
Location: Washington
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A good versatile pack. Not bad on weight for all the features.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for South Col™ 70
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bomber Versatile Pack

PostedSeptember 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Freddo
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This pack is exceptionally well designed. I picked it up for a Rainier climb and it was great. You can strip it down to a light summit pack by removing the top lid and swapping belts. The compression straps are perfectly designed, so both large or small loads are evenly weighted. The one downside is the ice axe attachment. It's confusing to use and doesn't work as designed on all axes.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for South Col™ 70
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bombproof pack for medium to heavy loads

PostedJuly 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
JonH
Location: Dundee, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this backpack because my older model Direttissima was just a tad too small for all the stuff I wanted to take on my summit attempt of Mt. Rainier. I really like it overall but I have a few minor issues with it: The sternum strap buckle sliders are made to come off, but they come off a little too easily. The right side came off a few times on the climb. The water bladder pocket entry is sewn high on the bag so that when you load a full bladder into it, it pulls the main compartment sides down. Once you have a full pack, the bladder issue is solved. The buckles for the top lid are sewn on with one side backwards. . . not sure why. If there is some cool design intended, it wasn't covered in the tag. Likewise with the ice axe tool clips. I couldn't figure out they worked until the climbing ranger showed me. They work fine, but I miss the old school strap that my Direttissima had. The main compartment mouth has two draw cords that snag on the material as you close them.
Okay enough complaining. . . The pack is made really well. It fits really tight against the body and keeps the center of gravity close to you. Despite the larger bag, the new materials make it lighter than my older Direttissima. I also like the way you can strip the pack down so that it's ultra light for the final summit push. They moved the center pocket access to the outside of the bag which makes it it very useful. It's perfect for gloves, hats, rope gear, etc. . .I like the whistle on the sternum strap buckle. I know that's not MH specific, but it's a nice touch. I didn't use the ski slots but the look pretty strong.
This a great pack and it worked for me. Buy it if you need a pack that's light and strong and can haul everything simply.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for South Col™ 70
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

By FAR the BEST!

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
starbridges
Location: North Georgia Mtns
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've used multiple competitors packs and this MH model is by far the most comfortable and durable. It has everything you need and nothing you don't. Weight is perfect and it can carry enough gear for a week trip with ease. The ability to strap the load down close makes it a wonderful pack to carry and the load will never shift on you. I've got 3 MH packs now, a daypack, a weekender and this model for major AT section hiking. This is the Best you can get.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for South Col™ 70
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid!

PostedJune 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dennis71
Location: Richmond , VA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pack. It has a place for everything. Can handle a heavy load and collapses nicely for lighter loads. I will be upgrading the waist belt. From reading the other reviews maybe it should just come with it!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for South Col™ 70
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very nice pruduct

PostedApril 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
basko
Location: Aloha OR.
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product has very good features, well design and good materials, however I think it may need a manual of the features for what the gadgets of the bag might be used for.Overall, very good product.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for South Col™ 70
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid pack

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
shasta92
Location: WA state
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this pack a year ago and really love it. I used it on several climbs with 35-40 Lbs. and it handled solidly keeping the weight distributed on my hips and shoulders. It climbs well and handled high-steps and rough terrain. I used it on Mount Rainier carrying a 50 Lb. load and the hip belt sagged a little, but that was expected and I upgraded to the Fitlock belt and that supported where needed. Great technical pack with all the straps and pockets in the right places. The fabric is bomb-proof and highly water-resistant. I highly recommend this pack.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for South Col™ 70
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent pack

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
FamousAmos
Location: Portland,OR
Just got my new SouthCol 70 pack 2 days ago as a late Christmas present. I must say that from the very moment I opened the pack, I loved it. From the asthetic appeal to the strong structure, I knew it was a winner and thats before I even put it on. I took it on a 9 mile short hike the first day throiugh easy to moderate difficult trails. We hiked the loop that took us past 10 waterfalls. The weather conditions were overcast with a fair amount of percipitation in the air. The pack beaded water like my whitewater rafting drysuit. The weight distributed well between my hips, back and shoulders. The padding was nice and I never got the "digging in" feeling. I hiked for about 5 hours with approximately 20lbs of gear loaded and I didnt feel a thing ! My only gripe would be that for females, well it squishes down in all the places packs usually do but we've learned to deal with that now haven't we ?
I love this pack and I will and would recommend it to anyone needing a good pack at a fair price. Definitely 4.99 star rating
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for South Col™ 70
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

South Col Pack Review

PostedJanuary 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
celus
Good quality pack. Size feels right relative to a large and I'm 5'10" 175lb. Excellent amounts of storage space, though would have been nice to have a zip pouch on the wait attachment. Hard to tell from the website whether it has a vented back support system. It does not. So if you want that then this is not the pack to get. Otherwise, handles big loads with ease and firm support in the back. Seems like all of the buckles and straps will last a long time, so we'll see.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for South Col™ 70
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

South Col 70

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Theo
Location: Portland OR
Nice pack with lots of options for storage. extremely light weight yet feels very durable.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Climber17
St. Louis
 
Please wait while more information about Climber17 is loaded.
Additional information about Climber17 could not be loaded.
Main Compartment Divider??
Posted May 24, 2012
is there an inside divider that separates the main compartment into an upper and lower compartment? thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 14 for South Col™ 70
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The mother load.

PostedApril 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bdan
This bag is big! Great shoulder and hip supports, comfortable back- this bad was made right, nothing to fancy! Great strong loop handles on the sides of the bottom of the back- works well to empty the pack. Very weather proof keeping all my things dry in wet virginia. removing the brain doesn't compromise the closure or weather proofing. Great draw string closure design under the brain- looks like it will last repeated abuse. Zip pocket to get into small compartments without opening the bag fully. Buckles on the chest clip come off easy and are hard to put back on- only downside I have seen. This bag is awesome..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for South Col™ 70
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall A great pack

PostedMarch 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
jimd118
Location: Ohio
Overall this pack is a well designed piece of equipment. Got it just a month ago and have been able to use it on a few trips now. When fully loaded the shoulder straps seemed like they were too small and would be uncomfortable however even when maneuvering up steep terrain there was no discomfort. I love the packs ability to cinch down and reduce or expand in size depending on your needs for a trip. Great pack overall!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for South Col™ 70
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for heavy loads

PostedFebruary 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Twap
Location: Berchtesgaden, Germany
I purchased the older version of the South Col couple of years ago and i can say that is the best backpack for heavy loads. It can also be compressed to use it like a minimal daypack for a summit push. Only the 100D cordura ripstop nylon is a little thin so you should take care of this pack and avoid sharp edges and rocks.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.