Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear BMG™ 105

Mountain Hardwear BMG™ 105

BMG™ 105
Overall rating:
4.278 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 9(100%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for BMG™ 105
Review 1 for BMG™ 105
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Awesome Heavy/Family Hauler

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Brentj
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am a self-acclaimed family expedition guide. Recently my wife (5 months pregnant) and my 3 year old son went to Havasu Falls, AZ. It is a 20 mile round trip trail in the Grand Canyon. With my wife being pregnant and my son too young to make the journey without any help, I was left to carry everything including him for a 4 day adventure. At the end of the day the pack weighed 100 pounds!
I have carried this before but with the ridged main stay and large main compartment it was the most comfortable I have ever been under that amount of weight.
Since that I have also logged other hikes both day and longer expeditions and have always turned to this pack. I really like the number of stabilizing straps, there are just enough to tighten down large loads as well as condense the back to be used a day pack.
I do wish the lid could turn into a small "peak pack". This would make the peak day more enjoyable versus lugging the whole pack up to the top. Also the outside water containers are hard to get to with the pack on, however the size is nice to cache gloves, hats, glasses and any other misc. items not needed but keeping them close.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for BMG™ 105
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solid Pack for the Price

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Alaska80
Location: Delta Junction, Alaska
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have owned this pack for about 3 years now and have put approximately 1200 miles on it. Never have I carried less than 55 pounds and have carried up to 85 pounds over sustained time periods.
The Good:
1. It is truly a minimalist pack, compare it to similar freight haulers and you will see a significant difference in weight.
2. It has plenty of room to sustain oneself indefinitely in the wilderness.
3. Being as rigid as it is, it does an outstanding job with load bearing.
The Bad:
1. The lumbar pad is very rigid, though this was not a significant issue for me. The greater issue was the hip belt, it could definitely use more padding. I would often be rubbed raw on my hips.
2. Ice axe loops could be better positioned.
3. There is no easily accessed water pouch.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for BMG™ 105
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent large hauler

PostedJuly 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
mps102
Location: Colorado
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent (relatively lightweight) large hauler. Comfortable on many mountains carrying heavy loads. I've used it so far up to about 60 lbs. and it felt like 40.
Cavernous bottom zipper section holds two sleeping bags and even a small inflatable pad.
Ice axe system is a little awkward and overly technical. Not sure why MH didn't keep the traditional loops on the bottom (might've saved an ounce or two as well).
Lastly (and least important), I believe the "Large" size is actually 115L...this might be excessive - I'd rather retain the 105L size.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for BMG™ 105
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It has the potential to be so much more...

PostedMay 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Robert5
Location: Denali, AK
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I used the BMG on Denali this spring because it was the lightest pack on the (mainstream) market for the given volume. Unfortunately, there were a number of small issues with the pack that I think could easily be eliminated:
1. As mentioned in another review, MH does not allow you to mix and match waist strap with pack body, meaning I had to shell out another $60 for a pack to fit my body (if you go on other sites, you can get the waist strap for substantially less, although its for the older version of the pack)
2. The padding in the lumbar region is EXTREMELY stiff. It left bruises on my lower back. Not sure if the stiffness is for load transfer, but it needs to be reconsidered for the next model.
3. There's no "traditional" ice ax loop near the bottom of the pack. MH support was great in getting back to me and showing me how they thought an ax should be carried, but it seemed a bit off to me. In the end, I made my own ax loop by attaching it to the bottom compression strap buckle (where you would normally attach a closed cell pad).
4. The lower compressions traps were to short to attach a Ridge Rest, so I had to add my own.
5. The water bottle pockets seem at odds with the rest of the pack's design choices. It seemed overly burdensome--I had to compress two straps just to get a drink of water out.
In the end, I appreciated MH's minimalist approach to this pack. I understand that there really is no way to COMFORTABLY carry 50-60-70-80 lb loads (although the Denali Pro, which I used for several months, seems to carry loads a little better, but at a cost of about 2.7 lbs). However, I know MH has it in them to build a better pack, without substantially increasing weight.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for BMG™ 105
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Big Load Hauler

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
kvharker
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased this pack in December 2012 for Denali climb in May 2013. Have used it twice on prep climbs. One on Mt. Hood, one on St. Helens. Both trips I loaded the pack with about 40lbs of gear, food and equipment. The sleeping bag compartment is a nice feature, as is the ability to really compress the load with the side and front straps. I'm 6'2" and have the "large" size - fit perfect and felt very comfortable .
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for BMG™ 105
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great pack

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
mike44
Location: Mesa, AZ
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I really liked the pack. The pack can carry heavy loads well. I would have given it 5 stars if it wasnt for the chest strap/clip, it is not secured to the pack and falls off. I lost it so now im looking for a remedy. should be a simple fix. Great pack!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for BMG™ 105
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Pack - Watch out for Belt Size

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gary99
Location: Massachusetts
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
What a great pack and does great carrying a 70 pound load - - good weight transfer to the hip belt.
Watch out though for the belt sizing. I needed a Medium sized pack but the hip belt wound up being too small to go around my hips. Since you can't choose a belt size, I wound up having to buy another belt a size up - - cost $57 which starts to make the pack very expensive.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sisulu
Los Angeles, CA
 
Please wait while more information about Sisulu is loaded.
Additional information about Sisulu could not be loaded.
waist belts
Posted September 9, 2014
Mountain hardware will exchange any hip belt for a different size. You initially will have to eat the cost by purchasing the correct size but all you need to do is return the unwanted hip belt and they will give you your money back.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 8 for BMG™ 105
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best value big pack out there

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
DuncanIdaho
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything that you need in a big pack and no more. Not quite minimalist, but very simple and well made, but it still has just the right number of pockets (big main, plus sleeping bag and front pocket, plus few key stash pockets) and features. I especially like that when you remove the top lid, there's a flap with pockets that still covers the top which significantly reduces the size of the pack for shorter trips. The pack compresses down well when it is not full. For me it rides well and is very comfortable. Even so, get yourself in shape because it is so large that it will still be heavy when it is stuffed full of all of that stuff your family wants to bring along but does not want to carry themselves.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for BMG™ 105
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

IT'S A MONSTER!

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
JohnsGranola
Location: Minnesota
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this pack for 3-5 day backpacking trips. In the summer, this pack has more than enough room for all my gear and plus some. In the winter, this pack easily holds all my extra winter gear. Great craftsmanship throughout. Like a monster, this pack loves to gobble up your gear.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for BMG™ 105
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great bag for heavy loads

PostedJuly 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marty
Location: Lincoln, NE
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this bag to use for hiking and hunting. I have loaded this pack up with 70+ pounds on multiple occasions and it carries the load very well. The removable stay at the bottom of the pack is great for the really heavy loads. The load lifters are functional and takes the weight off of my shoulders like they are suppose to. I am very happy with this purchase!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for BMG™ 105
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Everything but the kitchen sink

PostedNovember 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
someguy
Location: Montreal
Great massive bag. The only draw back is it's too big, you inevitably pack too much. I had everything I needed and more for three weeks on Aconcagua last year on my back. Didn't use any mules or services and this bag held it all. By the end my approach boots were shot but my back/neck were fine.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for BMG™ 105
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big Massive Gargantuan (BMG) Bag

PostedAugust 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Trousers
Location: Bend, OR
This bag is great. Anxious to try it out, I carried it up Three Fingered Jack a few weeks ago loaded with typical the typical gear (rope, food/water, extra clothes, etc) and had plenty of room leftover. It probably weighed all of 30-40 pounds, but road very well. The compression system makes the bag very functional for a variety of loads and is great with or without the top pouch. It remains waterproof and rides well either way. I had reservations about the thickness of the fitlock hip belt, but it was very comfortable and the backer bar locks it into the bag tightly. The buckles and glove friendly straps are ingenious. The only gripe that I have with the bag is the the internal separation between the bottom and top compartments isn't removable. The shear size of both compartments and easy access make this a small downside. Still 5 stars!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for BMG™ 105
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Reasonable pack

PostedAugust 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
pikin
Location: Portland, OR
The pack is not too bad but I think there is room for improvement! I was carrying a 50 lbs load in the pack and the shoulder straps were extremely uncomfortable... they need to be widened! The pack was constantly cutting into my shoulders, which became unbearable after a few hours on the trail. The chest strap was useless as it was unable to adjust more than to a position just below my throat.
-13points
0of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SamM
 
Please wait while more information about SamM is loaded.
Additional information about SamM could not be loaded.
Wrong fit/ You are doing it wrong...
Posted May 15, 2012
The fact you are saying the shoulder straps are cutting into you tells me you are carrying the pack wrong. The hip belt should be carrying most of the weight where as the shoulder straps balance the load. Since the chest strap was at your neck you had the pack adjusted incorrectly or the wrong size all together. Try getting the pack up on your waist and sinching it down tight, then pulling the load in towards your back. Also, try not to pack 50 lbs.
+8points
9of 10voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 14 for BMG™ 105
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Awesome Awesome Pack!!!!

PostedJuly 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
areamanbilly
Location: Chicago, IL
I suffer fI purchased the previous version of this pack in 2009 and it quickly became my favorite pack ever. The suspension rides better that the Gregory's I've owned, and it is very versatile. I had a buckle break in 2010 after putting several peaks and a bunch of trail miles, and the drawstring that synches the top expandable hood ripped about a month ago. MH support has been quick to fix both issues. They also provided me with extra buckles to take on climbs...free of charge. This pack is great on expedition style climbs, handles ice tools and ropes with ease, but is also great for weekend or extended backpacking trips. Also, if i got stuck in a blizzard on the side of a mountain I could bivy in the pack! OK, maybe not, but it's big.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for BMG™ 105
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Excellent Pack Except For One Minor Flaw

PostedJuly 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
steinpix
I got this pack to replace my 20 year old North Face model. I took it on a 5 day trip with my kids and was able to to carry an excessive amount of gear pretty comfortably. The only problem is that the pack has a pesky habit of losing the chest strap. One half of it fell off two times in a row which was a drag since I had to go back down the trail looking for it. It seems to come partially or fully unhooked from the shoulder straps when you take off or put on the pack. Another drag was if it comes partially unhooked and you want to reattach it, it is very to extremely hard to reattach with the pack on so I ended up having to take the pack off a few time to reattach it before learning to double check the thing each time I put the pack on. Perhaps next year they can change the chest strap so it isn't detachable or at least make it easier to reattach.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for BMG™ 105
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

BMG 105 Review

PostedApril 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
RTC1234
Location: Everett, WA
Great pack! If it were not for the price it would be a solid 5 stars. Well built, sturdy and surprisingly light for such a large pack. Just enough tech worked in to keep you comfortable and keep your stuff organized while not going overboard with unnecessary pieces of flair. The pack was comfortable on the first use and has gotten even more comfortable with follow on uses as it got more broken in. Great for carrying heavy loads and versatile enough to be minimized to carry smaller loads on shorter trips as well. Nice job Mountainhardwear an a near perfect pack!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for BMG™ 105
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

about the best darn pack around.

PostedMarch 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
bgoffak
Location: Eagle River, Alaska
I own the south col pack also so I was thinking this was just a larger version of the south col. Not so ! in a perfect world if I could custom build packs, after many tries I would end up with this pack. it fits like a glove and has the ability to haul all the gear you will ever need. very good construction, and balance on any load. It has the ability to compress down or open up to a huge haul bag. Most all of the issues that the south col had were well though out and fixed on this pack. if on your next outing you need the one bag to go from the trail head to the summit, and you don't want to look like the clampits this is the bag for you. the best of the best of this pack include, better suspension ( aluminum spreader bar ), some larger side pockets for wands etc, a separate field accessible section ( lower sleeping bag / food section )
in closing best pack in the lot for what its for.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for BMG™ 105
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

greatest pack EVER

PostedMarch 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location: Pennsylvania
User submitted photo
This is a great professional guide pack. Plenty of room for your personal gear plus extras for clients. From a personal stand point this pack is great for the regular "couples" backpacker, when your girlfriend or even boyfriend wants to dumb gear on a long haul, there is plenty of room to throw it in your pack.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.