Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Molimo™ 70

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Hardwear.

Mountain Hardwear Molimo™ 70

Molimo™ 70
Overall rating:
4.111 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
5 out of 5(100%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Molimo™ 70
Review 1 for Molimo™ 70
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Pack

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chris503
Location: Portland Or
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Took this for 3 days in Jefferson wilderness area. Pack adjusted excellent. only cons no rain cover and loose gear pocket on back does not seal. Pros pocket sizes were excellent and zippers all seal and function well.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Molimo™ 70
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pack

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
nevz51
Location: Portland Oregon
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Used the pack this last weekend right out of the box for a summit climb on Mt Adams in the Washington cascades. Worked great - covered my needs for the approach and summit climb.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Molimo™ 70
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good bag

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christopher
Location: Boulder, CO
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
My wife and I recently traveled abroad for over four months and I chose this bag to come along. I used the bag in New Zealand on a three day hike and a four day hike. I also used it in Nepal on the 14 day Annapurna Circuit. The bag is well constructed as the material and stitching held up well with constant use. The addition of a batter pouch is great. The pocket on the bag is large and if you have overflow or items that constantly need to be use you can put them in the open pocket located between the back pocket and the main compartment. The side pouches held a 1L bottle nicely, unlike some other bags of experienced.
I do have two complaints about the bag which I feel are fairly important. The first is that the bag does run slightly large. I'm 5'8 and even after measuring myself I found that the size medium bag fit slightly large, even after adjustments. I would have been better off with a size small. My second complaint is that, while the Velcro adjustment system on the back is quick and easy, it does not hold up well over constant use for an extended time (such as a 14 day hike!). Every few days I had to reattach the Velcro under the back so that the pack fit "straight" on the back. Apparently from constant lifting of the bag the back harness would start leaning to the side. While putting the bag on I even use the method of holding one shoulder strap while holding the tote handle to pick it up and place it on my back. Possibly because I also needed a size smaller, the chest strap also fit a bit high.
Overall this is a good bag and well made, but next time I may shop around a bit more.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Molimo™ 70
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very comfortable, but some tiny details...

PostedApril 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
codemonk
Location: NY
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I tested the pack the day after receiving on a 2-day hike and was pleasantly surprised by the comfort and space it provides. It feels more like 120+l pack, with all the "out-of-pack" storage possibilities, of cause I did not need that on the short trip and could compress it to the needed size. Also nice was the (hugh) "front pocket" to holde a camel bag (and other things) and the four pockets, which took some time to discover. The side pockets are really usable while wearing the pack, which I also like very much.
Comfort was great, I was hardly sweating on my back and it distributed the wight very well. I had some pressur points on my hip, but I think the belt could have been better adjusted. I started noticing that on the end of the second day, so there wasn't any time left to play around with the adjustments.
But there is one problem with the hipbelt: It is adjusted by velcro and the hooks can not completely attach to the loops, leaving them open on your sides. If you wear for example a Wicked Lite shirt, then it will slowly roughen the sleeves and maybe rip them eventually. I will need to find some cover for the velcro hooks on the hipbelt.
One other detail: The divider between the lower and the upper compartment only attaches on four points and thus does not keep small objects in place.
Summary:
Pro:
- Spacious
- A log of "out-of-pack" storage possibilites
- Compressible to smaller sizes
- Very adjustable
- Comfortable
- Many pockets
- Easy reachable side pockets
- A place for a camel bag
Cons:
- Velcro hooks on hipbelt
- Divider (for lower and upper compartment) only holds back big objects
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Molimo™ 70
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Direction, somewhat poor excution

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
basko
Location: Arlington, Washington
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The Molimo is a unique backpacking bag to say the least. The single big suspension down the middle is a departure from the other bags with suspensions that line the outer outline of the bag. It's the only MHW "true" backpacking bag that will allow a sleeping pad at the 70L range, while the South Col is a mountaineering bag.
The biggest disappointment was the subpar hipbelt. For the price, you would think it would match other packs in the range. I would suggest to get the advanced hipbelt if you buy this, but that puts this bag at almost $400. The stock belt is fine with small loads, but for multi-day trips to push the limits of the bag will require the better hipbelt.
The hydration sleeve has no outlet on the side, but comes out on the top. The zipper isn't waterproofed, so if you underpack, you may run into some problems there.
I noticed that I had some difficulties adjusting the upper shoulder straps by accidentally pulling on the skirt extension straps on the back-end.
As for positives, it's very organized and thought in terms of compartment placement. I also suggest that you follow the following advice in protection your things from the eventual moisture breakdown that will happen for this bag with a simple black garbage bag inside and ziploc bags to keep things water-free.
I conclude that's an innovate bag, not fully completely thought out and begs to question it's price tag with the upgrading needed to comfortably use the bag, immediately placing itself out of the price range it should be competing in.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Molimo™ 70
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic pack

PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
BigBen
Location: SoMD
What a great pack. It seems like a lot of the dings from other reviews have been mitigated in the latest iteration of this pack. Incredibly well thought out with plenty of access points and a comfortable wearing pack. Would like a hip belt with padding that wraps a little further around my waist, but its still comfortable as is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Molimo™ 70
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Received damaged pack

PostedJune 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
DHF94706
Location: Berkeley
I got the backpack as ordered and it's great. Unfortunately, the aluminum support in the back was bent so out-of-shape that the pack was unusable.
Thanks to the people at the Mountain Hardware store in Richmond, they were able to re-form the support so that the pack could be used.
Had it arrived in perfect condition, the product rating would be 5 stars.
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Molimo™ 70
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I am very happy with this pack

PostedMay 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
biodrummer
Location: Boston, MA
User submitted photo
I just got back from a 2 week trip to Thailand that I bought the Molimo 70 for. It worked great for the trip, held up without any issues at all. In my opinion, for traveling, it has the perfect number of zippers and pockets. Just enough to keep things organized, but not so many that things get confusing. The pack seems solidly built with a simple, utilitarian design. I also like that it isn't the same exact backpack that every other person travels with!! A very nice MH product!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Molimo™ 70
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Just ok

PostedApril 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
JAMES1234
Location: Ohio
I bought this backpack to use on a week long trip to Georgia. One of the buckles broke on it and the zipper tore the lining when it got stuck closed. Wasn't real happy when the buckle broke and hit me in the face. It will be sent back to be repaired.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.