Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Fluid™ Race Vest

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Hardwear.

Mountain Hardwear Fluid™ Race Vest

Fluid™ Race Vest
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 10(90%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Fluid™ Race Vest
Review 1 for Fluid™ Race Vest
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fluid

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
TF78
Location: New England
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good points:
1. Low profice
2. Carries some of the stuff you need.
3. Quick in and out of hydration bladder.
4. Double clasps
Mountain Hardwear can improve this vest by creating bigger pockets, not everyone carries just gels. Bars are difficult to carry with this vest, I for one do not use gels, so I have difficulty loading up this vest for long duration runs. One point of improvement that I see within the industry is there isn't really an option to have the choice of carring water bottles on the front of the vest or going with a hydration bladder. I think everyone has seen the new products at Ultimate Directions but again, it is one or the other, come up with the option to carry water two different ways in two different spots.
This product is good, but again significant improvements can be made by Mountain Hardwear.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fluid™ Race Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Phenomenal

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Konga
Location: Tucson, AZ
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've used a lot of different vests and this is my favorite so far. I put a 2 liter bladder in it and run some pretty rugged terrain with little to no bounce. I almost forgot it was there a couple times!
The comfort level is through the roof! I think the only thing I would change is to make the pockets on the front larger, but even so I can carry enough water and gel for a 4 to 8 hour run (depending on how hot it is).
Awesome product, like always!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fluid™ Race Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great, versatile vest

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jack
Location: South Central Indiana
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've long resisted hydration vests as just too much, preferring handheld bottles and bottle belts for longer runs. But on the hottest days I can't carry quite as much water as I'd like with those systems, and when commuting by foot, the bottle belts get too heavy if I add my phone, wallet, and a jacket.
I was nervous about a vest that didn't come with a reservoir, but I liked how minimal this one looked, and thought it might be more versatile--something I could use to carry a rainshell/phone/food while maybe still using handhelds.
I've paired it with a CamelBak Antidote 50 oz. reservoir, and the two seem made for each other.
Pros: great fit, minimal movement, no discomfort, very high quality.
Cons: a little fiddly to get the hydration hose through the shoulder loops, could have used slightly bigger/more pockets, clip that holds rear elastic cord to top of pack comes unclipped too easily.
Highly recommended as a versatile, minimal hydration/commuter running vest.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fluid™ Race Vest
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A bit small!!

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
UltraRunner
Location: Virginia
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The product is well constructed but it was hard to get a guage of the size. It would be great to display this product on someone to get an understanding of the size. I was looking for a bit larger race vest to fit a small bladder. This would be an excellent race pack for a small female.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fluid™ Race Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fluid Race Vest

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
runmthood
Location: The Gorge
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As the name implies this is a lightweight vest designed to allow you to carry the bare minimum during a race. The pockets are just big enough for a packet of chomps each. I don't think I could fit a PB&J, 2 packets of chomps, and my phone though. The extra stretchy pocket on the back carried 60 oz of water easily. Probably would fit 72oz. Form fitting design of the vest snugs up against the body preventing bouncing and chafing. Adjustable straps really are adjustable but it took a bit of wiggling to move them up and down.
The only drawback I found was one stretchy pocket that fit my iphone was not lined on the inside so my sweat seeped into the pocket and had the potential to "drench" my phone. I lined it with a plastic bag and solved the problem.
This is my first hydration pack for running and was pleasantly surprised. I am not sure it would have enough pockets though for a > 4 hour trail run but certainly would work for a supported race.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fluid™ Race Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must for trail and distance runners

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
RunnerRich
Location: Central, FL
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not wanting to stash water along my routes during weekly "long" runs and looking for something more practical for trail runs, the Fluid Race vests completely fulfills a runners need for water and nutrition support. It fits perfectly, holds up to a 70 oz. water bladder and has plenty of space for gels and a cellphone. I've used it for 10k trail runs and 10 + mile road runs during 26.2 training and am completely satisfied with the vest's fit and function. The multi-adjustment points allows the runner to tailor the fit. Comfortable on the bike as well. Kudos to MHW for providing an excellent product!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fluid™ Race Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just got it and....

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Toastie
Location: Bakersfield, Ca
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am impressed with it so far. This is my first "vest" style pack and I like the fit and comfort of it. At first glance I thought it would be too small but after wearing it out on a few MTB rides and runs (road and trail) I have got the fit to be far more comfortable then my usual "backpack" style packs. I had to adjust the two closures to fit more comfortably and was a bit apprehensive about how the material would handle being manipulate to remove/reposition them. In the end I was able to get them moved with a bit of trial and error.
The smaller size fits squarely between my shoulder blades allowing for unrestricted movement during trail runs (I am 5'6"). The pocket fabric allows for various shaped items to be stored (ie. gel bottles, gel packets, cell phone, head lamp), and the zippered pocket keeps keys secure. I also, always carry a small knife and minimal first aid kit. The bladder pouch is ample enough, and again with strech fabric can be manipulated to hold various sized bladders.
Overall I am pleased and see this being a frequent go to piece of gear.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fluid™ Race Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fluid race vest

PostedAugust 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mikeeey
Location: American Fork, UT
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i'm 5'10'' 165lbs (mostly upper body) vest fits great. holds just enough including keys, cell phone, ipod touch, credit card and ID, energy chews/gels, about a liter of water, and my tshirt if i don't want to wear it or my waterproof shell if the weather looks threatening. even completely loaded bounce is minimal. wearing it right against the skin feels good but as your drink you should snug up the chest straps or it starts to rub on your ribs a little. very stylish in my opinion and reflective.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fluid™ Race Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sleek and functional

PostedAugust 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Runwasatch
Location: Draper, Utah
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Great running vest, fits great and rides awesome. Easy to adjust on the run and surprisingly has alot of room for run essentials for a minimist vest. Highly reccomend it!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fluid™ Race Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My new go to vest

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
CWTrail
Location: Lexington, OH
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just finished the Leadville Silver Rush 50 and used the Fluid Race Vest for the first time.
I can say that the Fluid is now my go to vest for all races.
It fits like a glove and had no noticable bounce like most vests I have worn.
I had multiple comments from aid station volunteers about it being the lightest vest they had seen.
It held my rain jacket, camera, multiple gels, blister kit and 50oz bladder easily.
Another great product from Mountain Hardwear.
I would recommend this product.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.