Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Fluid™ 6

Mountain Hardwear Fluid™ 6

Fluid™ 6
Overall rating:
4.625 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Fluid™ 6
Review 1 for Fluid™ 6
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little pack!

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
GrandmaPat
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
My 6-year old granddaughter was REALLY bummed when she thought that she couldn't get a Fluid 6 like her sister's. I was finally able to find one on Columbia's online store, and she is thrilled!! We even had to take a short hike after school yesterday so she could use it. Now my adult son- long-distance runner, enduro motorcyclist - wants one, too.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Fluid™ 6
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Long Run, All Day Pack

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
ghostpossum
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
I've yet to fill this pack up for outings up to 4 hours. I can get everything I need for a run or hike in the mountains and it carries great. There is hardly any bounce and the straps can be easily adjusted as the contents are reduced.
My only issues with the pack are a lack of loops to hold trekking poles, The side bottle pockets are really hard to get bottles back into without taking off the pack and I wish there was another bottle pocket on the strap up front. The pack rides off balanced with only one bottle up front.
Overall, it's a great pack for long outings and I hardly notice I'm wearing it.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Fluid™ 6
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great, but a few details...

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
James00000
Location: Massachusetts
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Great pack, use it nearly daily for trail runs to stow gear as I heat up. Two annoying issues:
The sternum straps have tons of placement options along the shoulder strap - except that they're sewn in place. Should have been a different config on that piece.
The rear elastic webbing: the clip to hold the whole thing in place is basically useless, so the over-long cord comes loose.
Would be cool to see those addressed in the next iteration, since they're nothing that would add to material costs.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Fluid™ 6
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love it

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
JakesFire
Location: Seattle, WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I really love this pack! There aren't many packs that I can run with but this sure is one of them! For the women out there with a bigger chest size this actually acts like a second bra if you get it adjusted right, which is awesome! Only con is there isn't any padding between what is in the pack and your back so if you don't have everything perfect you will get poked, but this is also a pro because it doesn't keep a lot of heat in. I like the little pouches in the front of the vest prefect for little things like chapstick, hand sanitizer, bags for dogs. Anyways I love it and will probably buy another one for my husband so we can both have a little day pack
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Fluid™ 6
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very little bouncing, just the right size for long runs

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
ShaneSS
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The pack doesn't bounce much, very similar to the Nathan pack. It is cheaper than the Nathan pack, but it doesn't come with a bladder.
The main pocket is actually quite large, you can fit several layers of clothing inside. The side pockets and shoulder strap pockets are all perfectly positioned and sized.
The pack is light enough to substitute for a race vest if you don't want to take hydration bladder.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Fluid™ 6
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice, light vest pack

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
bigskyrnner
Location: Montana
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm really enjoying this little pack. I needed something that I could use for long runs in the mountains and this fits the bill. The main pack is roomier than meets the eye- plenty of room for extra clothing, food, and a few necessities. The bungee setup on the front of the pack allows additional items. It has two stretch pockets on the side that will fit your typical 20 oz running bottle, but unless your VERY limber you won't be accessing them on the run. I've used them to carry a small camera on one side and a cell phone on the other. The pack carries really nice with little, to no bouncing. Much better than any other pack I've used for trail running. The small front pockets are handy for electrolytes, gels/cubes, sunscreen and the like.
a few nitpiks-I do wish the main pack had a small mesh pocket that one could put things like a first aid kit, headlamp, map, etc so they weren't just floating around in the main pack- this would add very little weight and would be most welcome. The straps that adjust from the bottom of the pack are prone to loosening, they are easily accessible so it's not too big a problem, but I think easily solvable with perhaps a hardware change. One larger pocket on the front of the vest would be very handy and again add very little weight.
All in all, a very nice pack for your long runs!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Fluid™ 6
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great light pack

PostedSeptember 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
UltraFan
Location: Chandler, AZ
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome pack. It carries a reservoir or bottles well. Also holds just enough food and gear for an all day excursion. It would be nice if the front pockets were bigger. But overall I am very pleased.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Fluid™ 6
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fluid 6 Delivers

PostedMay 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
AKbound
Location: Girdwood, AK
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I needed a pack for cycling, light hikes and excursions, and this is the perfect pack. It's super comfortable and holds just the necessities when I opt not to take a full-blown pack of supplies. Being a female, I'm particular about straps rubbing but this pack was well-designed. I recommend adding this one to your collection.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ChiefEngr
Portland, OR
 
Please wait while more information about ChiefEngr is loaded.
Additional information about ChiefEngr could not be loaded.
Lightweight and functional
Posted September 11, 2012
I am not an ultra-marathoner or endurance athlete, but I like the lightweight backpack for my hydration pack and small items when I bike with my infant son. It's comfortable (sits high on my torso) and versatile. I expect to use it for light day hikes, snowshoeing or skiing.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)