Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Fluid™ 32

Mountain Hardwear Fluid™ 32

Fluid™ 32
Overall rating:
4.455 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
8 out of 9(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Fluid™ 32
Review 1 for Fluid™ 32
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

fluid 32

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Figure8
Location: Maui
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I use this pack for self supported efforts on ultra efforts/runs and hikes when running the only issue is the left top strap can dig into your neck but my pack is fully loaded with some minor padding added this should take care of that// Alohas Meep
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Fluid™ 32
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I wanted to like this pack

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Johnson
Location: Portland, Or
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
but either I am too short for the frame, 5'5", or the design is quite poor in that the metal support rod hits the top of my neck when I look up.
The top loading is easy to deal with and the cinches work well to keep the pack stable. I regrettably returned the Fluid 32.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Fluid™ 32
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Bag!

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
mountaindobes
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
I have used this bag for a couple of day hikes and my only complaint is the slot to route the hydration hose is a little too small. Other than that this is a great back with a good suspension system. Very comfortable with about 25 lbs in it.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Fluid™ 32
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice pack

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Julesavern22
Location: Moab, UT
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This pack is awesome! The med/large is a great size for day trips and it is super light. Simple but efficient.
I would recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Fluid™ 32
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Larger Day Pack

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Emma
Experience: Avid
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This pack was exactly what I was looking for. I originally had reservations because of previous reviews discussing the amount of straps, but they all have a function and have been very handy so far.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Fluid™ 32
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Still looking for what it can't do...

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
CampJCT
Location: North Carolina
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
...but I can't find it.
A day's worth of climbing gear? Check, easy.
Short backpacking trip? Check.
Five-day front country trip...with extra shell and layers for a ski day? Done.
Seven-minute sprinted connection in the world's busiest airport? Oh yes--no kidding. I barely even felt the pack on my back--no clumsy bouncing or "wide load" problems moving through a crowd--which is probably why I made the plane. AND it fit easily in the overhead.
Perhaps more useful for you: it runs true to size, is very adjustable for a daypack, and fits this female well (I usually can't get unisex packs to fit right). The suspension is fantastic. As far as capacity goes, I'd swear it's bigger on the inside. It's a great blend of simple overall design and useful details, like the mesh pocket on the underside of the lid, the elasticized front overflow pocket panel, and the well-designed hydration bladder sleeve and ports.
This is a winner!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
CampJCT
North Carolina
 
Please wait while more information about CampJCT is loaded.
Additional information about CampJCT could not be loaded.
And it keeps going...
Posted February 21, 2013
After writing this review, I took this pack on a two-week international trip. It was my only luggage except a small computer bag. So not only have I STILL not found what it can't do, I can now say it will also:
- carry about 8 days' worth of stuff (if you don't plan to do laundry) suited to late fall travel in Europe, or enough stuff for a short winter backpacking trip
- fit (packed) in almost all hostel lockers.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 7 for Fluid™ 32
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fluid 32

PostedJune 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tommasini
Location: North Carolina
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Overall, a great pack and a much needed personal upgrade. I'd recommend it, but with two reservations: 1. It is festooned with needless (and needlessly complicated) straps. There are so many loose ends that it looks like a tattered big wall belay. The hip strap takes the cake for pointless over-engineering. Why does a day pack need such an over-the-top system?
2. The closures, while snazzy, are needlessly complicated and defy one-handed operation. Again - it's just pointlessly over-engineered. Case-in-point: the hook enclosure for the top flap is goofy and hangs up on every attempt to open it. This is deeply annoying, like a zipper that won't close without repeated tugging. Mine is destined to be cut off and replaced with a more functional buckle.
Still, a very nice pack, but if you're looking for straightforward functionality, this ain't it.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Fluid™ 32
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for a Weekend Backpacking Trip!

PostedJune 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
DERCT
Location: Nashville, TN
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Surprisingly ample room for my two-person tent, 20 degree bag, food, water, clothing, etc., for a 2-night excursion into the wilderness. Good overall design.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Fluid™ 32
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent daypack!!!

PostedApril 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Alex123
Location: ca
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this is my second Fluid daypack and is another great design. has good support with plenty of room for clothes, food, etc. good for a weekend trip. the integrated hydration sleeve is great. would be pretty cool if a MP3 player clip/support system can be integrated to one of the straps.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Fluid™ 32
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My new "go to" pack

PostedFebruary 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Paddlemore
I bought this as an all around pack I could use around campus and on weekend trips. So far it has delivered in every way!! The compression system allows the pack to snug down to the right volume when it is partially full and expand to carry everything for a light weekend trip.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Fluid™ 32
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Really well thought-out, functional pack.

PostedFebruary 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anodos
Location: Allegheny Mountains
Somes bright minds went into the design of this pack, and the details show it. There are just the right amount of pockets at just the right places, and the buckle closure is a really cool idea (albeit kind of tricky to open sometimes). My favorite thing about this pack is just how compressible it is. With the compression straps drawn and the top loop used to close the top (there are two - smart), you've got a very compact pack. WIth all the straps loose and the lid on the lower loop, you have a surprising capacity to work with. It's also very stable while hiking.
4/5 stars because although I love it, the straps are needlessly long. I had to do a lot of tying and tucking to keep them from swinging and dangling all over. Otherwise though, definitely the best day pack I've owned.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.