Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Paladin™

Mountain Hardwear Paladin™

Paladin™
Overall rating:
4.077 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 13(77%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Paladin™
Review 1 for Paladin™
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

i left a review before but you didnt post it/remove it.

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
bally
Location: new york
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
i LOVE the look of this pack, mostly because of its monochromatic look.
but when i got it, the part of the pack that is made up of the vinyl type material is way more glossy that the product picture is. they have obviously dulled it down in post-production, or used dulling spray.
its a pity, i ended up selling it at a loss.
I do not recommend this product.
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Paladin™
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Pros and Cons

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
rayceraw21
Location: Fayetteville, AR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros:
The feature I love most about the pack is the surprising roominess of it. I have always been able to fit what I've needed in there which has seemed an impossible task at times. The second sweet feature is the supplementary gear loops for anything you might ever want to latch on. The outside drink pockets are good too because they are adjustable to fit all kinds of easily accessible goodies in there. The laminated strip down the middle adds for an extra degree of waterproofness but beware: it doesn't take much rain to get things wet inside. There's so many organization pockets its insane e.g. sunglasses, pens, laptop, water bottles, folders, etc.!
Cons:
This backpack has a lot of seemingly cool features that turn out to be a hassle. Since this is a high end urban pack you would expect ample interior organization. The four inside pouches that are provided actually cause annoying problems. If you try to put any sort of wide book or binder in there it will invariably get caught on one of the inner side pockets. Also if you put anything in the interior side pockets they will block any storage you have under them. Second major issue is the main zipper design. Since the zipper only goes three quarters around/down the top it makes the main storage area collapse very easily especially if there is anything in the smaller outside pocket. This design makes for an unnecessarily difficult packing/unpacking job. The third major issue is that the back pad does not lie flat on the back unless its (the pack) stuffed. So say that this symbol: | represents the back and this symbol: ( represents the back pad. The result you get looks like this (| with the pack never truly conforming to the back. This is a shame because the padding is really good. As a result the bottom of the back pad tends to wear alot more.
Bottom Line: Good backpack but the fact that it costs $150 makes me apprehensive to recommend it. It's roomy and got tons of organization but the essential features of the pack are amiss.
My Advice: Check it out in person before you buy it.
I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Paladin™
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

2 Weeks in Colombia

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
cmaloneus
Location: Portland, ME
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this bag right before my trip to Colombia.
For me, a big plus was that it was able to be carried and stored in the overhead bin on the plane. Also - the central compartment is wide and deep enough for a lot of clothes/possessions. The top pocket has a lot of storage space for documents / passports which is key for keeping a traveler organized.
Comfortable when full and blooming a nice rugged look; I am very happy with this bag and will use it for years to come.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Paladin™
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Super high quality backpack

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Trpfms
Location: New York, NY
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just got this backpack a few weeks ago. I live in NYC and run 8 miles to work with this pack along the west side highway. This backpack is sturdy and functional and has a great suspension for running. My first mountain hardware backpack, so still getting used to all the pockets etc. Would highly recommend it.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Paladin™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FTW

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
filmcrewtraveller
Location: Seattle WA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this pack after traveling with a friend who had one - and envying his pack the whole trip! The top loading pocket is great for quick access to your travel docs, cards and phone in the airport. It offers excellent organization-so many pockets.
The deep, wide open main compartment is spacious and great for stuffing all my softgoods into - it holds a lot. The upright side pocket in the main compartment worked well for a small bike pump or camera tripod! Even when the bag is stuffed out with softgoods/gear/overnight essentials, I can still easily access my laptop through the side zipper; which really came in handy when going through security at the airport.
Also, want to mention that the laptop sleeve is well built and I feel confident that my laptop is well protected inside. The straps are comfortable and distribute the weight well; great foam and good circulation in hot temps. I love the discrete outer side pockets - they can hold a water bottle, but aren't limited to that. I like that they can cinch down when not full, unlike the usual floppy mesh bottle pockets. Nice reflective hits on the straps. Front handle is well placed.
Only things I might suggest adding are a neoprene tablet sleeve on front of the internal laptop sleeve and a quick-access slip pocket on the shoulder strap for my cell phone.
Highly recommend this pack!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Paladin™
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great business travel backpack

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
PortlandBizTravel
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This backpack has plenty of room for my laptop (15.6" Asus), Android tablet, and lots of cables and gear. Build quality is excellent and it seems to be fairly water resistant in the rain. There are plenty of organizer pockets in the top and 5 pockets inside the backpack, plus 2 water bottle pockets. It's very comfortable when loaded down with over 25 lbs of stuff. I use it for business travel and it works great.
My only complaint is that most of the organizer pockets are in the top cover (this is standard with lots of brands). After adding my cords, cell phone, pens, etc., it tends to sink into the backpack when it is empty. Also, if the organizer top is unzipped when you flip the cover open to get your laptop it dumps your loose items out. It would be nice to have more organizer areas inside or lower on the backpack.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Paladin™
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The Paladin does it all

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
cweed
Location: Moscow, ID
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I buy and then sell a new school/hike focused daypack on average every three to four months because I have been searching for a bag that does it all for me to replace some of my lesser choices. I finally found the pack that can carry it all for me and keep my laptop safe while I am doing it. I can carry all my gear to the climbing gym/crag or on a nice day hike if needed. This pack does all that and more with ease all while looking pretty sick and keeping my laptop safe.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Paladin™
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good pack.

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
tyrannosauruswrx
Location: Girdwood, AK
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I work at a ski resort, I have two computers, an iPad, cameras, papers, gear, workout clothes, food, water bottles, blah blah all have to fit in one bag. I had been looking for the perfect pack forever, and came across this. I figured a bag that had room for an ice pick and a computer pocket would work. This pack has a ton of compartments: iPad, computer, cables, sunglasses, water bottles, beacons, shovels, skis, whatever you want. The only thing that annoys me is that when I put too much stuff in the top it flops over and is uncomfortable; I sort of wish they put a few more pockets in the side/bottom instead of all of them on top. I like the top-loading, back-zipper function and also the zip for the computer removal. All in all I think this bag is excellent, I needed something to practically live out of each day and I think this is an excellent choice. Not too big, not too small, compresses easily, just gets a little top-heavy if you have a lot of small stuff.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Paladin™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great all around pack.

PostedAugust 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Turk
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a great all around pack. It has a solid construction and seems to be made of really durable materials. The inside side pockets are my favorite feature, but the front inside large pocket was getting in the way so I cut it out. The only downside I can find is that this pack was designed to hold a helmet or over large bulky item at the top of the pack. This means that if you are just carrying around a laptop plus a few books, and you have the top flap full of goodies, the top of the pack will fold over on its self. Not really a big deal when it comes to function, just aesthetically off.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Paladin™
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Lopsided but sufficient

PostedAugust 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
KevinG
Location: Salem, oregon
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
if top lid has anything the weight of a wallet in it, it sinks into the pack and makes it tough to load.
Pack doesn't sit upright easily (even when leaned up against a wall)
side laptop zipper makes it hard to pull a 15 inch laptop out of it.
pack no longer covered entirely with smooth tough leather like covering. Only on part of the pack is.
it fits fine, and appears quite tough, but the usability of this thing is terrible
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Paladin™
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bomber Pack with some idiosyncrasies

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
BigD
Location: Corvalls, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Totally bomber. Nothing will break this bag. Also, very comfy. Cons: Too many (5) internal organization pockets in the main compartment make for awkward packing. The laptop and folder sleeves are great. But the internal lateral water bottle/shoe pockets and the internal front misc pocket snag everything I try to stuff in main compartment. I rarely use them and am thinking about cutting them out. When there is a laptop in the sleeve and a fairly large load in the pack, the back panel distorts a bit and is kinda uncomfortable. Besides these small design flaws (at least for me) this pack is great for daily commuting or long days at the crag. If you think you will be using more for the latter, then I think the Hueco 34 would be better.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Paladin™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A truly well done MULTI purpose pack

PostedJuly 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
asdfghjkl
Location: Denver, CO
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This pack is a VERY quality solution to wide range of tasks. First off, it positions cargo extremely well via the material cut, compression straps, padding, and internal spine making for ideal load bearing. It has a well optimized pocket layout enabling convenient parsing of your gear/stuff with 6 internal pockets and the organization pocket in the lid.
I use it daily for commuting on my bicycle; packing my 15" laptop, office shoes, shirt, hoody, lunch, coffee mug, lots of computer cables, big headphones, lab notebook, etc. The pack carries very comfortably and ventilates well while riding my bike; there internal frame/spine on this pack is really nice = not too rigid no too flimsy...
I use it for airline travel; it fits under the seat in front of me (due to its very sleek profile) with the same load as my daily commute swapping the lunch, coffee, food for a week worth of clothes. In the tight spaces of a commercial airline the side access to the laptop is key as I always fly seated in isle seat being 6'2" this pack fits better than I do ;) Also the lid organizer pocket makes for quick easy access.
Used this pack on many day hikes (longest was > 16 miles) and packed a water bladder where the laptop goes (get a bladder with a spine like Osprey HydraForm; using one without was not easy; that's why I bought one :) => MH please install a mounting loop for easy hanging of any bladder). The shoulder straps are fantastic and the waist strap (usually buckled backwards through the axe loops for daily commuting) came in handy for taking some load off my shoulders and just general comfort and adjustability. Because of how well it preformed on long day hikes I'll be taking it up to 14k ft this coming August :)
Also I stole this pack for $55 on sale!!! I have the older white,yellow, black one; only the color has changed. However this pack is WORTH EVERY PENNY even if i paid full price...MH please waterproof the lid zippers which would essentially waterproof the pack!!!
This is the best [and truly] multi purpose pack on the market!!!
If you want full functionality in bicycle commuting, travel, and hiking...
BUY IT AND BE HAPPY:)
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Paladin™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Laptop Backpack!

PostedApril 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chris32
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently purchased the Paladin Backpack in all black and I absolutely love it. It fits my 14" laptop just fine and could fit an even larger one if needed. I love the side zipper access to get it in and out without having to unload stuff out of the top. When worn with the laptop, I can't even feel it is inside. There is very little movement of the pc in the bag, which some backpacks have a problem of achieving. The pads on the back make for a great feel and protection of the computer. You'll never know it is inside.
It's durable looking, sleak black look is very appealing. I'm not 100% sure about how waterproof it is, yet. I haven't been in the rain for a long period of time. It looks to be sufficient for the average user. Compression style straps on the bag cinch it all down nicely when carrying smaller loads, but it has a very large capacity. I had everything I needed for a weekend trip packed in nicely, so it is extremely functional and well-rounded. It's my laptop bag, weekend bag, and school bag, all wrapped up into one. I would highly recommend this backpack to anyone looking for something multi-use. For someone seeking something much more specific, there are tons of other options out there...
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.