Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Juggernaut™ 115

Mountain Hardwear Juggernaut™ 115

Juggernaut™ 115
Overall rating:
4.312 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Juggernaut™ 115
Review 1 for Juggernaut™ 115
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Bag

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
WVUJJ
Location: Washington DC
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This bag has plenty of space in it to carry everything you could need. I packed it full of my clothes and dive fins for a 2 week trip to the keys. The material seems to be pretty rugged and I really like how the inside of the bag is an orange color so that it is easier to see what you have in it.
My only complaint is that there are no photos on the website of the interior of the bag. Thus when I searched photos online prior to purchase they showed a bunch of interior pockets on the top flap that could be used to store smaller items. I was disappointed that these pockets were not in this bag. I guess this is the newest version and they decided to remove the pockets for some reason.
To clear it up for everyone on the interior there is one small mesh pocket at one end of the bag. On the exterior there is a small pocket that is located right near the pull handle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Juggernaut™ 115
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Expected More

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Fletcher
Location: Louisiana
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
When looking for the right rolling duffer for me I really wanted one from MHW. I do a lot of traveling with the military and always have to pack lots of extra gear. When I purchased this bag I did not know the layout of the inside compartments. All that was available were youtube video reviews. So when the bag arrived I was disappointed of the lack of individual pockets inside the bag. Its overall size is decent for one week trips but I would not recommend it for extended stays. Overall my expectations were high but wished there were more pictures of inside compartments because it would have swayed my purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Juggernaut™ 115
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

world traveler and his juggernaut

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Eddy
Location: Pacific Northwest
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great just love it! esp. silent wheels glide smoothly zipper could be more rugged though I tend to over pack w very heavy electronics and travel in remote places like water resistant top wish all of juggernaut was same material but I tend to be over critical of equipment!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Juggernaut™ 115
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

overall good but needs a little bolstering

PostedJune 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
emiliob
Location: Kodiak AK
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like this travel bag very much. After removing it from the mailing box, I packed it full and traveled with it the next day. My only regret was that it arrived slightly broken. The center peg that held the backing material to the frame had popped off. As said, I needed to use the bag immediately. I was headed to AK. I didn't have time to try the process of returning it for a new one. My bag's backing separates from it's frame. It functions well but it's an aesthetic that shouldn't have happened new. Noticing how weak the peg was built in, it would've happened eventually. Maybe it's an improvement Mountain Hardware can make for future bags.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Juggernaut™ 115
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Extended Traveller

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Vinnie
Location: Portugal
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
YouTube videos and previous reviews led me ot believe that pockets existed on the underside of the top flap. Most reviews were critical of these pockets (becuase they zipped from the bottom up and things fell out) and I was suprised when I received this pack (April 2013) that these pockets were removed. This bag is HUGE. Well made, rolls well, and is perfect for my next 4 month trip with multiple activities (rock climbing, camping, travel, jiu jitsu, military exercises, etc.). Actually ... I may need another one.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Juggernaut™ 115
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Trusty travel companion

PostedApril 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
SRD450
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My wife and I have taken this bag all over the world. I like it because it has structure and the frame provides some protection for my ski boots and other more fragile equipment. The bag appears pretty small for its size, but you would be amazed at what you can stuff in there. I usually travel with this bag and the large duffel because I can carry the duffel like a backpack, have my ski bag in one hand/shoulder, and pull this bag with the other hand. Very mobile and well built. I have the yellow and black version, but I would get the all black version next time so I don't stick out so much.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Juggernaut™ 115
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
youguysare
Location: New Hampshire
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have two of these now. We have two kids and this bag is such a brilliant addition to our traveling adventures. It's rugged, spacious and brilliant!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Juggernaut™ 115
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features inside

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
amAK
Location: alaska
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
There is a lot more to offer in this bag than what the product information tell you. It would have been even more of a selling feature to know this. There are lots of compartments and extra little travel bags inside for seperating our gear and sundries. I love it and cant wait to use it.
While empty it will not stand up alone. Im hoping that fill with my gear it will stand up on its wheels.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Juggernaut™ 115
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well made piece of luggage

PostedJune 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Roger
Location: Chicago, IL
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have been using my North Face basecamp XL duffel bag for the last few years, and while that thing is light and extremely durable, it was hugely cumbersome to carry around. That's when I started shopping around for a rolling duffel. I still wanted something very durable, but as lightweight as possible so I can still stuff all my gear in and keep it under the 50lbs limit. The Juggernaut 115 fit the bill perfectly and I recently used it on a climbing trip to Yosemite Valley. While its a bit smaller than the TNF XL basecamp duffel, I was willing to sacrifice some space for convenience. The dimensions are actually sized perfectly to stay under the max size of airline checked luggage. The outer material is heavy duty, as are the zippers. The extendable handle seemed very solid and the large wheels really did make it easier to maneuver around and roll over curbs, uneven pavement, etc. than a standard rolling suitcase.
A few things that could be improved: The single handle on the 'top' that is connected to the compression straps doesn't do much good to help pick it up, but I guess that's why you have the handles on either end. Also, I felt that the zippers on the mesh pockets on the inside of the lid were poorly placed. Usually I will put my luggage against a wall and open it up so that the lid sits vertically against the wall. However, the zippers on the mesh pockets are then facing down, so when you unzip the pockets everything falls out. They should have put the zippers on the other side of the pockets, minor issue but it was annoying. The only other thing is that I felt I could have done without some the of the pockets, like the deep one that is near the extendable handle, will probably never use that and its weird how deep it extends into the bag.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Murse
Baltimore, MD
 
Please wait while more information about Murse is loaded.
Additional information about Murse could not be loaded.
Posted August 25, 2012
Hey Roger, that big/extensive pocket at the top of the bag that you are confused about, is actually meant for wet clothing/gear. So that you can seperate wet/damp stuff from the rest of your things, even if you dont have a plastic or dry-bag.
I agree about the zippers.
Overall, I agree its a beast of a bag. Solid purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 10 for Juggernaut™ 115
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Juggernaut 115

PostedApril 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
basko
Location: washington state
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Bag!!! Smooth roller with excellent capability. Lots of storage features and versatility. Bag is already very light so getting up tot he airline 50 lb limit allows for lots of clothing choices. Incorporated shoe bag helps protect clean clothes - great idea! Material is strong and resists airport baggage monkeys. The metal zipper pulls are very strong and esthetic. This is a great travel bag to use the "bundle" packing method. I fit 2 budles of clothes and one suit, 3 shoes, and all the rest of my goodies without difficulty or wrinkling.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Juggernaut™ 115
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Wish it lasted longer

PostedJanuary 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chewster
Location: Virginia
My bag traveled the world a few times before it finally gave up on me. I loved this bag. It a simple design and seemed bomb-proof. I had a love/hate relationship with the zipper the covered the extendable handle. I could never get the handle to retract enough to zip it closed, but it seemed like a good idea. With tightening one of the external compression straps the buckle exploded. Pieces went all over the train platform. Easily repaired.
The final straw was the main compartments zipper. It is right on the edge and not very well protected. Enough times through the airport and zipper finally at the corner.
This bag would last forever if the zipper was better protected, but it did last longer than any other bag I have used.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Juggernaut™ 115
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bombproof adventure luggage

PostedMay 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
runmomrun
Location: Portland, OR
We bought these suitcases for a trip to Belize. They are incredibly made, waterproof, and very easy to lug around airports, dirt roads, and over rocky roads as well. Very roomy for all clothing, gear, and souvenirs for the trip home.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Juggernaut™ 115
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not the best

PostedMay 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jdub
Location: Syrian Desert
I bought this bag to carry military gear/clothing for deployments and while en route overseas, the handle broke at the base. It completely snapped where it enters the main frame housing. I now have to use the handle at the top but this is not practical as you have to walk backwards when using this if you have any kind of weight in it. Im pretty disappointed... and stuck traveling with a broken bag.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Juggernaut™ 115
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great piece of baggage

PostedMay 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Morgan
Location: PDX, Or
Heavy duty build w/lots of straps and tie downs (inside and out). Handle is in a hidden zipper compartment and the wheels and axles are of a heavy duty skate style. The only thing to think about is the 115 is at the max size limit for normal check in bags on most airlines (L W H = no more than 62"). Should last forever if cared for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Juggernaut™ 115
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Juggernaut

PostedOctober 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dan1984
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Great bag that will conform to the gear that you are carrying.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Juggernaut™ 115
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great bag, tons of room

PostedOctober 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Evan
this thing is great, plenty of room for me on a long trip or me, my wife and daughter on a weeklong vacation. Solid built, and easy to wheel around
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.