Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear SummitRocket™ 40 Backpack

Mountain Hardwear SummitRocket™ 40 Backpack

SummitRocket™ 40 Backpack
Overall rating:
4.571 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(7 reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 7 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
6 out of 7(86%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for SummitRocket™ 40 Backpack
Review 1 for SummitRocket™ 40 Backpack
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Minimalist pack with the right comfort!

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
MountainManDan
Location: CA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a minimalist pack and everything about it (for the exception of the updated lid) is minimalist. If you dont want the extra frills and BS this pack is for you!
Originally had the 2012 edition of this pack with the roll top. Believe it allowed for a bit more than 40L. Broke off one of the tie-in points for the outer straps due to poor stitching. Returned the pack and picked up another with the updated lid. Like the change from the original design. Allows for quick access to bars, first aid, headlamp, etc.
Loaded this pack to 30+lbs for some early spring mountaineering in the Sierra. Stuffed to the gills, updated lid zippers were ready to burst and still the pack was comfortable despite lacking an aluminum frame and padding. Anything more then 35lbs would be too much unless you're using the thicker Alpine Belt. Load adjusters kept the pack close to the back without sacrificing mobility.
The X-Ply Ripstop is extremely tough. Held up to repeated crampon and ice tool abuse without puncturing or tearing.
Others have complained about the extremely long waist strap. CUT IT! Or roll it up and duct-tape it. Ice tool placement on the pack is straight forward.
Also own the SummitRocket 30 and use it for peak bagging, excellent construction and quality!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SummitRocket™ 40 Backpack
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

SummitRocket 40 Backpack

PostedJune 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
dematson
Location: Fresno CA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is my latest pack in the quest for a light and sturdy multiday pack for use in search and rescue and backpacking in the high Sierra Nevada Mountains. While I haven't used it off trail yet, I believe it will withstand bushwhacking through rough brush. It does accommodate a bear canister required by Seki and Yosemite National Parks. I know the pack is intended for climbers in particular but here are some thoughts that would make the pack better multipurpose pack for fast-packers too. eliminate the shock cord on the back and replace it with an expandable mesh pouch to provide quick access to rain gear. install a wider waist strap (comfort) and install at least one zippered pouch on the waist strap for quick access to things like lip balm, mosquito spray and water purification tabs. It could also use a water bottle pocket on one side that could be reached without taking off the pack. Thanks for the chance to offer suggestions.
I would recommend this product.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
mr2mki
Fort Collins, CO
 
Please wait while more information about mr2mki is loaded.
Additional information about mr2mki could not be loaded.
It is this way for a reason
Posted June 23, 2014
dematson, just so you know, they left out the things you suggest for good reasons:
- The shock cord is needed for attaching axes, and a mesh pouch would be shredded by crampons (which are usually attached on the back)
- Narrow waist belts doesn't interfere with a climbing harness
- Side pockets get in the way of strapping skis, pickets, and other equipment to the side of the pack
There's a reason do-it-all packs are heavy. There's a reason this isn't a do-it-all pack!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 3 for SummitRocket™ 40 Backpack
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Summit Rocket 40

PostedMay 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Alxmountainman
Location: Denver, CO
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I love everything about this backpack, except three things that I think could be improved: The belt straps are WAAAY TOOO LOOONG, I wish it had a little pouch by the waist to put a snack, my whistle and my pocket knife. I have a 30lt from BD that has pouches on each side and they rock. And the last thing is the main access using a zipper. It's working great, but zippers, sooner or later they can fail, specially in a place that is so important, such as the main access, where sometimes it can take some pressure. I still love the pack and hope the zipper will never fail. It is a great design. I love specially the side straps to compress when it's partially loaded.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SummitRocket™ 40 Backpack
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great, super light pack. Not for all conditions.

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mike12
Location: CT
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Bought this minimalistic pack as a lower price alternative to the full Spectra / Dyneema packs.
Pro: Lightweight, rides perfect between the shoulders for harder technical climbing.
Con:
Some confusion with the way to fix the ice tools. One side comes with the “ bottle opener “ the other not.
I believe there is a design flaw with the opening at the back of the pack where the small sleeping pad slides in. The upper part of the opening does not overlap the lower part. This creates a kind of bucket opening . I used the pack this year in Alaska on Mt. Huntington, experiencing a lot of spin drift. The result: the back of the pack constantly filled with spin drift. Not a great thing: Your back get’s first could than wet, especially in case you strip the pack of all the padding. I wouldn’t use the pack for this kind of alpine climbing.
It seems that the Summit Rocket 30 does not have this problem.
I do not recommend this product.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SummitRocket™ 40 Backpack
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

More than I expected

PostedJune 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
pshell
Location: Western WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this pack as part of my plan to cut weight out of my camping/climbing/mountaineering gear. I try not to own a bunch of bags and I think this will replace the majority.
I replaced the frame sheet with another product meant for sleeping. It's egg carton shaped in design and has reflective material on one side. It should be noted that I didn't try the mountain hardware frame sheet first.
I've only carried the pack, fully loaded, about 1k on flat ground. It's very comfortable, but I bet I only had 35lbs inside it. I had it loaded up for 3 days in the mountains for a summit attempt that never went.
Some things that I worry about from my initial use are the outside of the bag where you would strap crampons down. You need to take extra care not to punch through the material. That's kind of the name of the game with the lite weight stuff. You need to be extra vigilant that you don't stick something sharp through it.
The shoulder straps are perfect. Slim but padded just enough. The waist belt may need more or not. It's just too soon to tell.
The size of this bag also makes you really choose what you need and what you don't. If your not committed to that, then don't buy a bag like this.
Overall, I love it. Great concept and execution.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SummitRocket™ 40 Backpack
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable, quickly adjusted, and light weight.

PostedApril 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
SnowHawkMike
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Core
Employee: Yes
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I will preface this by saying I am a realist. I rarely buy gear solely for it's intended purpose, I am not always the easiest on it, and I rarely store it the way it should be. I have a feeling I am not the only one who has been know to simply toss his gear in the back of his car, rather than carefully placing it in a temperature controlled closet, on a special all natural oak hangar, away from direct sun light.
That having been said I love this backpack. Does it have internal organization? Nope. Pockets for pens, cell phones, water bladder specific pouch with a fancy hole for the tubing? Nope, nope, and nope. This is part of why I love it.
This is truly a gear heads backpack. It's got a vast, easy to pack, and easier to access, compartment. It keeps your gear dry, is incredibly light weight, but extremely comfortable. The comfort, on a bag so lightweight, was shocking, to be honest. It fit the curve of my back, the hip belt was thin, but supportive, and the weight distributed evenly.
Lastly this thing has put up with my abuse. Like I said, I don't store it in a special way. I also use it go from hiking, to work, to the office. This thing has been kicked, dragged, tossed, wet, muddy, and it still looks new.
I would recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SummitRocket™ 40 Backpack
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Summit Rocks!

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
macleod
Location: Dirty South
Experience: Core
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This pack covers all of your needs for alpine fun... and nothing else. The spartan suspension held loads up to 40lbs with aplomb yet never seemed too bulky or cumbersome for true climbing. The included pad can be removed and replaced with a 3/4 Z-lite for a bit better comfort and R-value. I loved having a roll-top for quickly stuffing or removing my puffy and the clean exterior and interior literally prevent you from bringing excess gear. The pack body is pretty burly and water resistant so I'd feel fine never using a cover. From ski-touring to alpine climbing, this pack crushes.
I would recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AkaTheAlpinist
 
Please wait while more information about AkaTheAlpinist is loaded.
Additional information about AkaTheAlpinist could not be loaded.
ski-touring?
Posted February 26, 2012
I was wondering about getting this pack for ascents and back country skiing. Will it hold skis?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)