Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Paladin™ Backpack

Mountain Hardwear Paladin™ Backpack

High-country aesthetic. Urban-jungle attitude. Rugged construction and smart features like external side-access padded laptop sleeve. HardWave framesheet improves fit and carries heavy loads more comfortably.
Overall rating:
4.429 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(7 reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 7 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
7 out of 7(100%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Paladin™ Backpack
Review 1 for Paladin™ Backpack
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Fieldwork Bag

PostedApril 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: New York
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I highly recommend this product to anyone doing fieldwork in remote areas. I had a number of important criteria for a fieldwork bag and this product fit the bill. It is small enough to carry comfortably on horseback and motorcycles. It fits perfectly on the plane as carry-on luggage. There are many internal pockets to carry notebooks, pencils, recording devices, and a safe laptop compartment. It fit all of my fieldwork equipment and clothing for weeks at a time while doing fieldwork in Mongolia. It is rugged and survives abuse, but also has great style.
Thank you, Mountain Hardware, for making a fantastic product.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Paladin™ Backpack
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great bag for smaller laptops

PostedMarch 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Pennsylvania
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wanted to keep this bag because it was well made, sturdy, and thoughtfully organized.......But, if you have a laptop that is larger than 15 inches (even 1 cm larger) it won't fit. My laptop is 15.4 and it wouldn't fit. I returned it for the Cronus since it was a little bigger. The Cronus is labeled for a 15 inch laptop also but it has a little more room and fits my machine perfectly. Both bags are recommended, so long as you pick which one is the best fit.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Paladin™ Backpack
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Well designed, but the quality continues to slip

PostedMay 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had been looking forward to receiving this backpack as a replacement for my very excellent 2009 Mountain Hardwear Guardian backpack. The quality of that daypack, with sealed zippers and durable nylon tarp for the rest of the pack, surpassed anything I had ever seen thus far in a daypack. If it had an external laptop zipper, it probably would have been the perfect backpack.
Unfortunately, after years of use, the external zipper broke, and I needed a new bag. On the surface, the paladin is the perfect replacement, and it would be, if it wasn't so cheaply made. All of the materials are substantially inferior to those in the Guardian. The nylon feels cheap, and seems barely a step above the type of material you feel in a backpack you buy from a drug store. The straps are thin and lightly-padded. Where the Guardian had aluminum accents, this pack has plastic ones. Even the tarp is substantially thinner and lower quality.
My largest complaint about this backpack is the zippers. The zippers on a backpack are the piece of the pack that you interact with most frequently, and are thus the main way that I experience the quality of the pac. A pack with great zippers feels solid and reliable; a pack with lousy zippers feels cheap and causes me to question its durability holding valuables like my laptop. Gone are the sealed, thick, quality zippers from the guardian pack. In their place are very low tier, un-sealed, zippers that I would expect to find on a pack I buy for $20 in a drug store. I worry I'm going to break them every time I close the pack.
A minor complaint is that the top part of this bag tends to fold over itself when the pack is not stuffed (this is why the bag is so stuffed in all the promo shots), but frankly, that doesn't matter too much.
The design of the bag is phenomenal. I love the side-loading laptop compartment, the large main compartment, and the top organizer pocket. Even if I have complaints about the materials, at least they are light weight, and the pack empty is significantly lighter than the guardian. I put some straps through the external webbing so that I can carry over-sized items on my back. Design-wise, there is really no other backpack that I've seen that works for my work/play lifestyle balance quite like the Paladin. I have a large messenger bag from a popular company, and I would pick my mountain hardwear bag any day over the messenger bag. It is far more versatile and easy to use.
At a $130 price point, I would have been more than happy to pay an extra $20 to have everything top-notch on this pack. I really hope Mountain Hardwear steps up their quality in the next version of the pack, because they could really achieve perfection!
I would recommend this product.
+10points
14of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Paladin™ Backpack
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nearly perfect!

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Location: Niceville, FL
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I spent a few weeks conducting an exhaustive search for my perfect backpack. I was looking for something that combined the organization benefits of a laptop backpack with the features of a technical backpack. The Paladin came out among the top candidates. I love the look, the many interior pockets, the durability, the size, and the laptop sleeve accessibility. It would be perfect if it had a more substantial hip belt and longer water bottle pockets along the side.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Paladin™ Backpack
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Initial thoughts.... WOW!

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Location: Maryland
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is an initial review, I just got it, and am excited to get out using it! Construction is top notch, no loose stitches, untrimmed material. All the quality you should expect in a product is there. Also, attention to details, like the pull tabs at the zipper points of all the way open on the main pouch; makes it so much easier to shut the lid!
This thing is roomier that it advertises, and for a "daypack" you could easily use this with a lightweight set of gear for 2-3 days, at the least. It fits great, is easy to adjust, and holds weight quite well, though I haven't put 20-30 pounds in it... Yet!
Appearance is spiff, attractive and not a lot of extra hanging off. The side entry laptop pocket is HUGE! It runs the full top to bottom of the pack, as does the zipper for it, which also nestles into a cover when shut, so rain doesn't enter at the zip end (it is at the top end of the pack).
I am super impressed, and plan to give an update when I have had some time to really put this pack through it's paces!
I would recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Paladin™ Backpack
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect On the Mountain and Off

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This backpack is the truth! It is perfect for on and off the mountain with all the features you would expect from a quality piece. I love the side access compartment for a laptop. Important to note: it does fit a 17" MacBook Pro in the side compartment.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Paladin™ Backpack
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect pack

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Location: Portland, ME
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I picked this pack because it was the perfect size, had lot's of individual internal pockets and could fit in the overhead bin on an airplane.
The overall construction is the first thing you'll notice with this bag. It's rugged, technical and will last me years to come.
Perfect for biking or heading out on the trail. You won't be disappointed.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Scott451
Paris, France
 
Please wait while more information about Scott451 is loaded.
Additional information about Scott451 could not be loaded.
Does the white show Dirt ?
Posted January 29, 2014
I am very intereste by this pack. The Shark version looks cool, but I am wonderning if the white parts will shot a lot of dirt.
Can anyone give feedback ?
- Scott
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)