Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Phantom™ 15 (Regular)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Hardwear.

Mountain Hardwear Phantom™ 15 (Regular)

Phantom™ 15
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
5 out of 5(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Phantom™ 15 (Regular)
Review 1 for Phantom™ 15 (Regular)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Freakin awesome!

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
geronimo00
Location: LA, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Never been warmer! I absolutely LOVE it!!!
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Phantom™ 15 (Regular)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Bag!

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Daniel1979
Location: Bend, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've used this sleeping bag on three backpacking trips in Oregon's Cascades in fall and winter conditions. I have never felt cold in the Phantom. This is my first foray into the world of down sleeping bags. I have always used synthetic in the past. This bag is easily as warm as zero degree synthetic bags manufactured by both Mountain Hardwear and The North Face that I have used in the past, yet it weighs half as much and takes up half the space. My one concern is that every time I have used this sleeping bag it has been slightly damp when I awoke in the morning. The down hasn't been matted or seemed to be any less lofty due to the moisture. I haven't felt cold at any point during the night due to the presence of moisture, either.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Phantom™ 15 (Regular)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great bag!

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
falcon4000
Location: SoCal
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For me the fit and design of this bag is perfect. I never worry when the temps start dropping. The hood is one of the best designs I've used. My only concern was the durability of the light weight material but after using it in different situations this is a non issue.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Phantom™ 15 (Regular)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Bag!

PostedMarch 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
basko
Location: Lander, Wyoming
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Phantom 15 from BD is awesome. High quality materials and craftsmanship, great practical features, and it is very comfortable for me. I am 5'8 @ 185 lbs and the regular size is perfect for me. Plenty of room to move around, as I can be an acrobatic sleeper sometimes... I plan to take real good care of this bag and keep it for the rest of my life, hopefully.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Phantom™ 15 (Regular)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent 3+ Season

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Texico
Location: Atlanta, GA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a perfect 3+ season bag for southern Appalachia. That is provided, of course, that you can keep the down dry. I've used the bag to ~10*F and slept reasonably comfortable on an Exped Synmat UL7. The ground was frozen that night, definitely. I agree that it does fit a little snug, but it fits me perfect. I can't say enough good about this bag so far, and I'm hoping it will serve me well on an AT thruhike.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Phantom™ 15 (Regular)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm and cozy

PostedDecember 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gary
Location: Portland, OR
I purchased the Phantom 15 degree with the Sierra section of the PCT in mind. I love my Phantom 32 degree but I'm concerned it will not be warm enough in the Sierras, on my PCT thru hike next summer. So far the 15 degree rating seems good. I have been using it on overnight training trips with night time temps in the 20's, with only a short Z-Rest pad and I have been cozy. The hood and collar system rivals my -5 degree winter bag. i have been happy with both of my Phantom bags and may someday add the 0 degree. They do run narrow, but at 5'8" and 148 lbs., they are just right for me.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Phantom™ 15 (Regular)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very warm bag

PostedDecember 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
DrJack
Location: Central Ohio
I'm a long-time MH customer. After using the MH Fairview 40 degree bag for the past 5 years, I decided I'm ready to start 3.5 season packpacking so I bought the Phantom 15 degree bag a few weeks back. I tested the bag at home a few nights after receiving it, heading outside on a night with lows right at the 15 degree limit. I wore a hat and a midweight baselayer and woke up too warm at 20 degrees around 2am. I opened the hood, leaving the draft collar to keep the heat in and it worked well. I was still too warm 45 minutes later and packed it in rather than sweat through the bag. I could have adjusted the zippers top and bottom, but it was just a test. I'm very impressed with the bag's design, cut and performance. Regular length fits well, I'm 5'11" 190lbs, and don't feel confined. Loving this bag.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Phantom™ 15 (Regular)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nicest 15 Degree I've had

PostedSeptember 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
PNWD00D
Location: Portland, OR
Only used this once. Temp got down into the mid 30s with heavy humidity and rain. Though it got a little damp from touching tent walls no moisture entered the bag and I slept warm and comfortable in this bag. As an athletic sleeper, I found this bag moved well with my nocturnal acrobatics without binding too much. The built-in pockets near the face opening were handy as well. The stuff sack it comes in is pretty nice too but I added a water resistant compression sack to get it down to it's smallest possible size. Either way though, it fit well packed into my backpack.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Phantom™ 15 (Regular)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of the top two bags made

PostedSeptember 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Locoguitar
Location: Santa Monica, Ca
The phantom 15 is one of the lightest and smallest packing bags made for its EN rating. Very well constructed and very warm.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Phantom™ 15 (Regular)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warmth to Weight Ratio = Awesome!

PostedApril 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
BayAreaGal
Location: Sausalito, CA
This has been the best sleeping bag I could have asked for. I have used it backpacking in the Sierras, where it kept extremely comfortable on chilly nights. It packs down to almost nothing, and is very light weight - ideal for the avid backpacker. It has kept me warm in Yosemite, when others in my group were feeling very chilly! It is snug, without feeling confining. I loaned it to a friend who went trekking in the Himalayas for several weeks. This was her only bag - and it served her quite well. It's ability to compress down, and be very lightweight, yet keep you toasty is unbeatable. I thought about getting a 0 degree bag... but have found this to be pleanty warm for me. And so you know... I have a tendancy to "run cold." I tend to feel cooler than my friends in similar conditions. So as you can see... this is an excellent buy. I would happily recommend it!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.