Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Phantom™ 45 (Regular)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Hardwear.

Mountain Hardwear Phantom™ 45 (Regular)

Phantom™ 45
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
1 out of 2(50%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Phantom™ 45 (Regular)
Review 1 for Phantom™ 45 (Regular)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

First Time Out

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ewing
Location: Oakland, California
Experience: Avid
Employee: Yes
  • Employee
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camped in damp conditions at Sykes Hot Spring in Big Sur this weekend. I used the Phantom 45 for the first time and it worked out great. Perfect for the weather and temperature. Bag packs down super small, which was great for the 20 mile round trip.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Phantom™ 45 (Regular)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I wished it was as good I was hoping...

PostedApril 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
ApexTraveler
Location: Global
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
So I see here that all these people that left a review got the bag that I was HOPING for. This bag is indeed small and light. However, I found that after just 3 nights of use, down had leaked everywhere and all the down had certainly shifted in the bag. Hold it up to a light, nothing but bare spots. Needless to say, I took it back and got a different MH bag, which I was very happy with. The idea is great, but the quality was just not there. Some improvments and I would try it again.
I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Phantom™ 45 (Regular)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Sleeping Bag Line

PostedSeptember 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
aspiringMountaineer
Location: Texas
Amazing bag! Very light-weight and very compressible. I use this as my summer bag and, being in Texas, once winter hits, all I need to do is put in a liner that adds some warmth. Put in a properly sized compression sack, and it is just as big as a softball. The Phantom series sleeping bags are by far the best bags for the money. It is a down bag, therefore it requires a little more care than a synthetic, but with dry bags, wash-in and spray-on waterproofing and many other products used while camping, keeping a down bag dry is no problem at all. My next bag will be a 15 degree Phantom, since it is $70 cheaper than the Marmot Plasma, and only 1 (one) ounce heavier! Plus I love the cut of the Mountain Hardwear bags much better. MH, keep this up and I will be a buyer for life!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Phantom™ 45 (Regular)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Impressive

PostedMay 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location: Texas
I was anticipating the arrival of my bag, the shipping was prompt and I was very excited to open up my package with the mountain hardware sticker on the carton! Once I saw the actual bag I was impressed with the quality and how light this sleeping bag is. The stuff sack is amazing and this is by far the smallest packed sleeping bag I have seen. I've used this bag twice and am real pleased with the comfort that this bag offers. Kudos to MH and all their efforts in putting this great product together! looking forward to my next MH product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Phantom™ 45 (Regular)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Anything but regular

PostedMay 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
BoulderDash
Location: Bloomington, In
This is my go to bag whether I am car camping, staying on a friends couch, or on a multi-day hike. It packs well and feels great. I have had this bag for 2 years now and would gladly make the purchase again if need be. Zippers are smooth and the bag holds consistent temperature.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Phantom™ 45 (Regular)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this bag

PostedJanuary 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Talbot55
Location: Feiffer, va
I've used the phantom for summer/fall camping for over seven years now. Very light, very packable. Everything it claims to be!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Phantom™ 45 (Regular)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awsome Bag

PostedOctober 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
jacobr
Location: Groveland, CA
This bag is great for summer trips and it even kept me warm even down around freezing. Packs down super small too!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Phantom™ 45 (Regular)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Phantom indeed...

PostedSeptember 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Stephen
Awesome summer bag... Packs down to an incredibly small size.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.