Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Lamina™ 0 (Regular)

Mountain Hardwear Lamina™ 0 (Regular)

Lamina™ 0
Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
6 out of 6(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Lamina™ 0 (Regular)
Review 1 for Lamina™ 0 (Regular)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lamina 0

PostedDecember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tim41
Location: SC
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I haven't used the bag yet, but intend to in January 2013. It seems thinner than I thougth it would be but as long as it keeps me warm that's fine. I like that it comes with a compression bag and mesh expansion bag.
I would recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lamina™ 0 (Regular)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Sleeping bag is lite and very warm!!

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
EasternSierra
Location: Sonora, CA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As far as the bag goes, I am able to pack it down to about a rugby size ball or an oversize football, about 6.5" in circumference, 7" tall. The weight to warmth ratio is amazing! Great bag for the price! There is only one zipper, that is dual use meaning it rotates inward when you wanna zip it up from the inside, but I find that it works best if you just pull up on the zipper from the outside. I am in the Eastern Sierras so we get the maritime polar winters meaning a little wetter than most places. So with that in mind, it was the best pick, synthetic that is for the area I am using it most. Great product over all!!!! I am 72"; 185lbs.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hank
Breckenridge, CO
 
Please wait while more information about Hank is loaded.
Additional information about Hank could not be loaded.
Excellent bag, BUT....
Posted October 29, 2012
I'm a bad news first kind of person - the zipper on this bag stinks (for lack of a stronger word). Imagine it's 3am, and you have to go like Seabiscuit. On returning, the zipper jams. Your snug warm bag just turned into a miserable comforter.
I love Mountain Hardwear products, the level of quality is exceptional, bar none. But, Mountain Hardwear has a zipper problem with some of it's products. I also own a Hammerhead 2 tent with some zipper issues.
I will probably just sew the zipper shut at the point of failure in the photo, and pray it doesn't fail again higher up.
The good news - This is a magically warm and comfortable bag (when it works.) Size is perfect, I bought a long. The ThermicMicro fill is very light and warm, and it truly stays warm when wet. I've used this bag soaking wet and stayed warm. The compression sack it comes with is outstanding. The mesh storage bag is very handy for long term storage.
Generally, a very good bag, just be prepared to handle the zipper like a surgeon in the dark...
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 3 for Lamina™ 0 (Regular)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great bag

PostedJune 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
x60ce
Location: WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
I bought this bag for the cooler months. So far it seems like it will be a great bag for use in colder temps.
I would recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lamina™ 0 (Regular)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

.great bag!

PostedJune 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
jefe1
Experience: Core
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent product. well built and loaded with features
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lamina™ 0 (Regular)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Summer bed

PostedMarch 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
DesertBotanist
Location: The Great Basin Desert
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I do environmental surveys in the Great Basin desert where the average elevation is 5,000 feet and nights can easily drop below freezing in the middle of July. I spend more nights in this sleeping bag then my bed in my apartment, and I have never had an uncomfortable night. I have used this bag on 9,000 foot peaks and on salt flat valley floors with and without a tent, this is a great bag and you will not be disappointed. I say that as a true outdoor professional and not a weekend warrior. The negatives that keep me from giving it 5 starts, the zipper catches very easily and it's narrow at the shoulders.
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lamina™ 0 (Regular)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The next best bag...

PostedFebruary 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
warhoop
Location: Bend, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I'm a little selfish in that I like to have my lines to myself. So at least once a month through the winter I'll load up the pack and skin into the less accessible piles of snow in Oregon and spend a long weekend making turns when I can see and building raging campfires when I can't. Lightweight gear is good, compressible is getting better, but warm is what I need. This bag delivers. Roomy (5'11", bought a regular) enough for me, my water bottle, and boot liners. Compressible enough to fit in the bottom of my 50L pack. But the bottom line is that I never felt cold. So some details for perspective. 1. Domicile: single wall tent or tarp shelter in the snow 2. Mattress: Downmat 9 3. Pajamas: baselayer top and bottom, midlayer top, plain old white socks 4. Temps (so far): high teens to mid 20's I have slept great, got up rested, and eager to crawl back in at night. This bag is worth more than what I paid and you'll like it too. I did struggle from time to time with the zipper although I don't consider them the nightmare some do, otherwise 5 stars.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lamina™ 0 (Regular)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A REALLY GOOD BAG!

PostedJune 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marcus
Location: Seattle, WA
This is the perfect bag for a Northwest night. It kept me and my spouse warm the entire night. (We got the same bag). I liked the mesh bag that it comes with for long term storage as well as the compact bag for taking on trips to save space. It is very rugged material and I was the perfect temp all night, although it only got down to low 40s/high 30s. My only complaint is the zipper catches on the lining a little bit if you don't have your bag lined up just right. A little annoying, but overall, I was really impressed with the bag and would definitely get another.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lamina™ 0 (Regular)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lamina 0 sleeping bag

PostedMay 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Richard
Location: Winchester, CA
Outstanding bag! I purchased for cold weather camping with a Boy Scout Troop that I am an adult leader with. Campout was in Big Bear in February and I did not yet own a 0 degree bag. I didn't think that I would need this bag as the weather was predicted by NOAA to be around 35 degrees, near the limit of my North Face Cat's Meow.NOAA was wrong as the low that night/morning was 21 degrees. In fact it was 28 degress when I turned in for the night around 10pm after campfire. Within 10 minutes of going to bed I was so warm that I was shedding a light fleece jacket, sweat pants, and skull cap. I slept in shorts, wool socks, Troop T-shirt and was warm all night.
When I woke up in the morning it was 21 degress and the front of the hood was frozen from condensation from my breathing but I was still warm. I used again in Idyllwild in April.Late season snow,22 degrees.Warm again dressed the same.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lamina™ 0 (Regular)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Snug as a...

PostedMarch 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Stoked
Location: Cascadia
Picked this bag up a year or so ago. Different colors, same awesome build. Used it at fire camp last summer, on top of it until it got chilly, then inside. Used it a few weeks ago in the Cascades at 5-10 degrees, never even thought of adding a liner or staying fully clothed. Compresses tiny, gets lost in my large packs :D Bought another for my son over the holidays, he has yet to try it outside but slept on top of his bed for a few days in the bag- he didn't want to give it up.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Lamina™ 0 (Regular)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does what it says

PostedFebruary 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
ATex
Location: Catskills, NY
I've spent more than one night at 0 F to 7 F in this bag and have no complaints about the warmth. On the 0 F night, I was wearing sweatpants, a single baselayer of capilene 2 and a basic fleece. I was the only one in the group who was not freezing all night long.
The stuff sack is incredibly small for how much insulating power the bag has. I'm sold on the Lamina from here on out.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Lamina™ 0 (Regular)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Bag

PostedJanuary 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
OldMan
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
I'm very pleased with this bag. It's about the most compact, lightweight synthetic bag I could find. I favor synthetic because it often rains when I camp (Murphy I suppose). I absolutely love the loose storage bag that comes with it! My first test included a 17 deg F night in an open shelter. I like my feet warm, so I used a Thermolite Reactor liner, and threw a body-warmer near my feet. I left my pants and socks on, and jacket too, mainly to accomodate the usual, brief walk around 4am. The jacket was not required to stay warm in the bag because I had a tee shirt and omniwool overshirt. I'm 5' 7", 140lbs, and had plenty of room. In fact, taller
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lamina™ 0 (Regular)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lamina 0

PostedDecember 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
jsisti33
Location: Brevard, North Carolina
Recently purchased this bag and it has performed very well. Stayed cozy down to 10 degrees on some cold wet nights in the N.C Appalachians. Compresses well and stayed warm even when fairly wet. I'm 5'10 and the bag fits very well. Anyone taller should think about a long. Very satisfied with product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.