Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Phantom™ 32 (Regular)

Mountain Hardwear Men's Phantom™ 32 (Regular)

A compressible, lightweight Q.Shield® DOWN 800-fill bag for backpackers, and climbers 32 F /0 C. A super-lightweight 800-fill bag ideal for gram counting backpackers and climbers. Q.Shield® DOWN maintains heat and maximum loft in damp conditions. The almost translucent10D fabric has a soft hand and is exceptionally lightweight.
Overall rating:
4.375 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
7 out of 8(88%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Phantom™ 32 (Regular)
Review 1 for Men's Phantom™ 32 (Regular)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ultra Light vs Warmth

PostedJune 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Took my new Phantom 32 to Gorgonio Wilderness for an overnight. The bag is perfect in regards to weight and pack size, best UL investment so far! Although, it was slightly uncomfortable when the temps dipped into low 40's, mind you that we were sleeping outside without a tarp or tent. I had a down sweater and thermal base layer, still was a bit cold. Overall great performance!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Phantom™ 32 (Regular)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very happy with this sleeping bag.

PostedMay 31, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this bag as an upgrade to my existing backpacking sleeping bag. The main reasons I chose this bag were the weight and size when packed. I've used this bag on a half dozen occasions now, with the coldest night being a 16 degree F night. I remained quite comfortable in the bag, while wearing the appropriate sleep clothes. On nights where the temperature has been well with the bags specified limits, I've slept in shorts and t-shirt and remained very comfortable.
The materials used on the bag are very lightweight and seem very fragile, but to date I've had no issues and expect the bag to be around for quite a while.
The provided stuff sack seems a bit too tight, I have to really work to get the last bits of the bag into the stuff sack. I'm a little concerned that really jamming it in there may damage the down.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Phantom™ 32 (Regular)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great bag

PostedMay 7, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Stafford, VA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a great lite bag, well worth it if you are looking to shave ounces off your sleeping system. I use it in conjunction with a Klymit Interix X-Frame pad inside the Phantom 32. This combination has keep me plenty warm so far, plus my sleep system is down to 32 ounces total (including stuff sacks). At 5'7" and 160 lbs I have plenty of room inside the bag. The zipper takes some getting used to and you can't horse it, or else you may get jammed up. The M.H. stuff sack is pretty tight once the entire bag is in, but takes up little room in the pack.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Phantom™ 32 (Regular)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

32 Degrees - Not

PostedApril 7, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Franklin, NC
Experience: Avid
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I was very disappointed in this product. I am currently and Appalachian Trail thru-hiker and purchased this because of its packability and lightweight material. I am quite a ways in and have stayed cold. Two nights ago it was 42 degrees and I had on thick socks, thermal leggings, underwear, shorts, a wool upper base layer, rain pants, rain coat, and toboggan. I had chills all night and it was 42 degrees!!! Last night it was 53 and I had all of that on minus the rain layer and was chilly. And it was 53!!! My advice, don't purchse this. At least get the 15 degree and it might be closer to what you want. I was hoping this bag could get me to Maine, but with many summer nights in the mountains dipping into the 50's I am going to have to search elsewhere. Where this bag makes up in weight, I will have to carry extra clothing just to stay warm. And I am a minimalist.
I do not recommend this product.
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Phantom™ 32 (Regular)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just right!

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I hiked the warmer part of the PCT (NoCal and Oregon) with this bag, and never wanted anything else.
There are lighter bags with similar ratings out there, but they're often less roomy and to actually stay warm in those one has to shake the down into the right areas, make sure to sleep on top of the zipper and so on. Or, they simply don't deliver on the rating.
I find the Phantom true to rating, comfortable to sleep in and a very light sleeping bag considering the features. And man, even long-distance hiking, I'll happily carry an oz or two for a good nights sleep!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Phantom™ 32 (Regular)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New Go-to Bag

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently purchased this bag for a backpacking trip to New Zealand's South Island, and it performed superbly. I couldn't believe how small the bag packs down to, and I didn't even notice the weight in my pack. As for the temperature rating, it got down to the mid-30's and rainy near the base of Mt. Cook and I slept comfortably. The DryQ Down stayed fluffy in wet conditions.
This is my new go-to 3-season bag.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Phantom™ 32 (Regular)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Phantom 32

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Location: Fresno CA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I Recently bought and used the Phantom 32 on a lightweight backpacking trip to Humphrey's Basin in the High Sierras (11,300') campsite. I don't know what age and elevation temperature testing is done but the bag performed well in 40 degree morning temps at that elevation for a 68 year old lean man. I don't have any "R" factor to speak of. I wear a balaclava and keep my face out of the bag. I am 6' tall and the bag was a good fit. I used the Phantom 15 degree bag last week near the same area (Piute Pass) but knew the weather was going to be stormy and wanted the extra margin of safety. I had to backpack the Phantom 32 from the west (Florence Lake) (20 miles) and the Phantom 15 only 10 miles coming over Piute Pass from the east (Bishop). I count every gram of weight depending on the distance I have to carry it. P.S. This is the Sierra National Forest and you can take your dog with you.
I would recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Phantom™ 32 (Regular)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I've been looking for in a sleeping bag

PostedJune 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Location: Boston, Ma
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently decided that the time had come for me to upgrade my sleeping bag situation. My previous bag was a synthetic fill bag with a 20 degree rating. However I am rarely backpacking in temps that low, and the bag was relatively heavy and bulky compared to comparable down bags. So when I saw that Mountain Hardwear updated their Phantom 32 with the water repellent down, I jumped at the chance to pick one up.
Having just used this bag on a wet backpacking trip this weekend in the White Mountains, NH where the temps got down to the low-to-mid 30's, I can attest to the fact that it is very warm and extremely comfortable. Waking up on a rainy morning was hard to get going as the bag was so comfortable, and it did not lose any loft with all the moisture that was in the air. The size was ample enough to allow for side sleeping, yet I didn't feel a single cold spot. It also had a small pocket inside which was perfect for my headlamp and glasses.
My favorite two features of the bag however was the light weight and the compactness of the bag when compressed. These two features are HUGE upgrades from my previous bag as it weighs only 1lb 6oz, and takes up very little space in my pack. While hiking, I could barely notice that I even packed a sleeping bag!
The one gripe that I have with the bag is the zipper can be a bit tricky, however I liked the other features so much that I did not let it reduce my rating.
All in all, this is a great bag that will be my new go to kit for all of my future excursions.
I would recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.