Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Mtn Speed™ 32 (Regular)

Mountain Hardwear Mtn Speed™ 32 (Regular)

Mtn Speed™ 32 - Reg
Overall rating:
2.5 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(4 reviews) 4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 4 reviews
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
2 out of 4(50%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Mtn Speed™ 32 (Regular)
Review 1 for Mtn Speed™ 32 (Regular)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Purpose built

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sack
Location: PNW, Cascades
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First off, this is function before luxury. This is an ultralight no frills bag, that is cut tight to the body. Yes the zipper is flimsy and a bit of a pain to deal with, but it works just fine if operated correctly. It’s not a KYY zipper on that other 2lb bag we have, but this isn't that 2lb bag. The bag packs down to the volume of a Nalgene bottle, allowing it to pack with ease. The bag material is thin, which means you might need to be more careful with it than other bags. I've never had an issue, and I am not that gentle on gear. The bag is rated at 30, but I would consider that cloths on 30. Since its a minimalist bag, this is how I'd use it anyway. Why take cloths and not wear them all for warmth? The hood is very functional, but again tight. When I snug it down its like wearing a hoody. There again isn't a lot of room. The bag is my go to bag and was a welcome addition to my kit. It's seen service throughout the Cascade's on my climbing tripswhich is generally camping high and on glacier/snow. If you understand the bit of luxury that is sacrificed for weight, this bag is for you.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mtn Speed™ 32 (Regular)
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Love the Bag, hate the zipper.

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
DDonoDD
Location: Southern CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is one of the Lightest bags out there!
Keeps you warm, on those not very cold nights.
The Zipper, though is terrible. I have used the bag twice, and it got stuck both times! The first trip I was able to get it unstuck, but the second, the zipper actually came apart.
It was on a one night trip, so it wasn't a big deal, but If I was on a week long trip, I would have been in trouble!
Mtn. Hardwear agreed to sew in a new, larger zipper that should remedy the situation, but will add a bit of weight.
I'd give this bag 5 stars if the zipper was better!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mtn Speed™ 32 (Regular)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst zipper ever

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
AkaTheAlpinist
Location: Portland OR
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The cut is really tight but that's understandable as it is suppose to be ultra light and was meant to fit Ueli Steck. I am 5'8" and weight 150 lbs and it fits fine although a little bit tight. The only problem is when you add to it a zipper getting caught and getting stuck! When you are in a middle of the night and you are getting cold and you try to zip it up and it gets stuck! you are in for trouble. I was lucky enough that it was in the morning and I just fought through the cold. It could be very problematic if I am at high altitude or if i am overheating and I cant open the zipper. I wish they would do a recall or free exchange when they remodel the zipper, this was a very expensive purchase. Furthermore, why didn't the keep the zipperless design that Ueli Steck created? The only part I like about this sleeping bag is that it is light.
I do not recommend this product.
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mtn Speed™ 32 (Regular)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Comfortable to 40...maybe

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
jj723
Location: Utah
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Yeah the zipper needs a lot of work. If it is not getting stuck on the "zipper guard" it is stuck on the draft tube. Works best if pulled from the outside of bag (awkward). I think I like Steck's zipper-less prototype.
Used it in the Grand Canyon over 4 days and had it down to 38 degrees with 3 layers on top (T-shirt, mt. Hardware base, and a micro chill) and was ok, thermal tights and piero pant) but not warm. I froze at 33 with the same layers + hat and thick leggings.
Lots of "holes" in the down, they are easy to see as the fabric is opaque.
Weighed in at 15.8 oz after I cut the tags and shorted the draw cords.
Bottom line: steep price @ $400 for a 45 degree bag and even steeper @ the $480 they increased it to as I typed this up review.
I do not recommend this product.
+14points
20of 26voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (4)
Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Kicknglide
Eugene, OR
 
Please wait while more information about Kicknglide is loaded.
Additional information about Kicknglide could not be loaded.
Light and Warm; serious zipper issue
Posted May 1, 2014
I agree with other comments about the zipper; Mt Hardwear must address this issue. As it's meant to be a tight fit, moving to fight with a zipper is a real problem. I found the problem to be worst when I was zipped up in the bag in my bivi sack. I don't really get claustrophobic, but I did have a few moments of panic when I could barely move and the zipper was jammed shut.
That said, the bag is very light and I found it to be warm down to below freezing. It's expected with this type of bag that you wear clothes or even a light jacket underneath. It does pack down quite small.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
Tdem
 
Please wait while more information about Tdem is loaded.
Additional information about Tdem could not be loaded.
32 bag
Posted September 5, 2013
@ SierraPCT It would be understandable if this bag were cold in 33 degree weather if it were a 45 degree bag, but considering that it claims to be a 32 degree bag, it should keep a body warm and comfortable down to 32 degree weather.
-1point
0of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
Oatmeal
CO
 
Please wait while more information about Oatmeal is loaded.
Additional information about Oatmeal could not be loaded.
Fast and Light
Posted April 9, 2013
Crazy small, super light and for 1lb its as warm as you'll get. I really like the super trim fit to not have any cold spots. Used it for the Colorado Trail and was always warm enough but like the other comment, the zipper catches a lot.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
SierraPCT
Flagstaff
 
Please wait while more information about SierraPCT is loaded.
Additional information about SierraPCT could not be loaded.
45 degree bag not intended for 33 degree temps
Posted March 14, 2013
Yeah man, its going to be cold in a 45 when its 38 or 33. The 45 temp rating is the minimal temp to stay comfortable and that would likely feel cold if night time temps were 45.
-3points
1of 5voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (4)
Read comments (4)