Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear LightPath™ 2

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Hardwear.

Mountain Hardwear LightPath™ 2

LightPath™ 2
Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
Customer reviews for LightPath™ 2
Review 1 for LightPath™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple Durable Lightweight Tent

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
OldMan
Location: Yorktown, VA
I like the comfort of a tent where I can bring my gear inside, and store my pack in the vestibule. This tent is perfect for comfortable solo backpack camping. Sets-up easy. Note that you only have to use 4 tent stakes to get the tent stable enough to set-up the poles. I find this to be useful when setting-up on rocky (or frozen) terrain. This tent uses a total of 12 stakes, not including guy-lines, so I purchased some titanium stakes to reduce the total weight further. I find the thin titanium stakes easier to push around rocks and through hard ground too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for LightPath™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm and Simple

PostedSeptember 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Vinnie
Location: Naples, Italy
This tent, essentially a two person Bivy, has both advantages and disadvantages to its design. Its size and simplicity make an easy set-up and lightweight in the pack. It also means that it is large enough for your pack or your partner, not both (packs can be stored in vestibule). The size also means that you cannot sit up in the tent and requires one to take a laying-down position at all times. On the plus side, this tent is extremely warm!!! and will provide as an excellent shelter on very cold or windy nights. Removing the fly will make you feel as if you are sleeping under the stars while still keeping the mosquitoes away.
The only real concern that I really have is that the height of the sill at the door dips below the sill on the sides (only an inch or two above ground level at the door). In camp areas where water pooling may occur, this may result in a very wet night. Other
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for LightPath™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best

PostedAugust 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
newcamper
Location: Kansas
I bought the tent because my son has used one just like it. He tells me that it withstood heavy rain in the mountains and he stayed completely dry. Also it is light weight and very easy to set up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for LightPath™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tent

PostedAugust 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
ElkGuide
Location: Montana
I used this tent on a solo archery elk hunt in the back country last season and it was perfect. Just enough room and light weight. easy to put up and break down everyday.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for LightPath™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!

PostedApril 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
smokinJoe
Tent is on par with its description and was even a little roomier than I expected. Its a lightweight tent for travel so don't expect a cozy room to stand up in. It fits 2 people laying down just fine. It was also the easiest-assembly I've ever seen! Only 2 poles that are obvious in their placement, tent and rain guard are straight-forward one peice units. I think its a great product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for LightPath™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Bivy Style Tnt

PostedMarch 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Deltaoperator17
Location: Boise Idaho
Perfect "Go Light" backpacking bivy style tent. Guy it out and bam, so have a little bomber to protect you from the elements. Of course its small however that is the reason for this tet. Weight's nothing and after splitting the weight with your backpacking partner, you dont even know you have a tent with you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for LightPath™ 2
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great Tent for Small People

PostedFebruary 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Promus
Location: Woodland, WA
Tried this tend out on a two day outing on Mt St Helens. Setup was fast and easy even without the directions. Everything seems very well made. Though we only had a little snow over the trip it did seem to keep whatever moisture we had outside out. However, the amount of condensation, as expected, inside was considerable. As for the room inside, well for two people this tent is tight. The single vestibule doesn't have enough room for two packs and the tent itself offers very little room to change. Especially when two are in it.
For the most part this tent is a one person model unless you have a less than average size partner or a smaller cozy other. Other than the size a great tent though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for LightPath™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bullet Proof

PostedFebruary 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Muddrock
Location: Vero Beach, FL
I already own the lightpath 3 (which I love) but I picked this up for a solo outing or ultralight 2 man camp. My son and I squeeze in here relatively easy, keep in mind this tent is low profile, not a family car camping tent. I like the size of the vestibule, I can fit my pack and my dog(lab) inside. I also like the fact that Mountain Hardwear has a waterproof guarantee. This tent ventilates well, goes up quick, breaks down quick, packs up small. The bottom line on this tent is "the art of simplicity". For the square footage, the weight, performance, and price of this tent, you cant go wrong. Get This!! See you out there......Isaiah 40:5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.