Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Corners™ 6

Mountain Hardwear Corners™ 6

Corners™ 6
Overall rating:
4.615 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
4 out of 5(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Corners™ 6
Review 1 for Corners™ 6
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Room to spare

PostedApril 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
es1329
Location: Vacaville, Ca
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We purchased this tent last year for our family. Easily holds all the gear needed for our family of 3 and plenty of room to fit every possible thing we could bring with us. The tent is much easier to set up with two people and necessary if its windy.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Corners™ 6
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent tent

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
ExplorerKY
Location: KY and traveling
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is our second Corners 6. We lived in the first tent for six months, setting it up and breaking it down almost daily while traveling the US. Only takes about 8 minutes for 2 people to set up (including footprint) when familiar with it, but can be set up by a single person. It has great headroom, even across the width, enough to walk around a queen sized mattress. We like the mirrored floorplan with doors on both sides for convenience, both in getting in/out, and when deciding direction to set up. Even in the worst windy thunderstorms, the tent would bow over with gusts, then pop right back up - never damaged and always dry as a bone inside.
We sent back our first Corners 6 to MH to repair minor damage that they weren't able to fix. C6 was not available at that time, so they replaced it with different smaller model that we did not like as well. We don't want to camp in anything but the Corners 6 again!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Corners™ 6
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not buy this tent

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
wishIboughtmarmot
Location: SF
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Unless you plan on camping indoors this tent is not worth buying. It literally catches wind like a sail boat. On my very first camping trip my brand new tent sadly got blown down a ravine. I had it staked and it was full of essentials for five people for our three day camping trip. It was awful to return to see our tent in shambles and bent poles. Do not let this happen to you. The design in great its just too big.
I do not recommend this product.
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Corners™ 6
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!!

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chupacabra
Location: Montana
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had this tent for a couple years now and have used it for family camping approximately 12 times. Whoever designed this tent really put a lot of thought into it and came up with a great product. The tent has been totally waterproof and easily fits six people. I'm a gear snob...and I highly recommend this tent.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Corners™ 6
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tent for Hunting

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wardog
Location: Texas
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So far so good. I just got back from a week long hunt in the middle of Texas. Temps were around 35 degrees and wind was 27 knots gusting to 30. The tent held up extremely well in the wind and was toasty in side. The Tent packs nice. Not sure how weather proof when it rains yet. Only complaint I have so far is the tent stakes don't work very well in the Texas dirt. Bent half of them trying to stake down the tent. Overall, would buy this tent again
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Corners™ 6
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I have not used it yet, but impressed w/ quality

PostedFebruary 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
ActiveTim
Location: Portland, OR
I set this up in my garage, but have not tested it. The build quality is a serious upgrade from our economy-level tent purchased from everyone's favorite co-op outdoor store. Set up and take down is easy. The instructions aint great - I would have preferred better detail on which side the perpendicular pole stays are supposed to face (up or down), also would be nice to see where the stakes are supposed to attach (the mini d ring or the attached mini cord hoop?) - no biggie, but I wanted to set it up the optimal way - with no guess work. Our last tent this size was not designed well enough to make me comfortable in windy or seriously rainy conditions - with this tent and optional guy lines, I am confident we'll be dry and comfortable in any reasonable NW conditions.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ActiveTim
Portland, OR
 
Please wait while more information about ActiveTim is loaded.
Additional information about ActiveTim could not be loaded.
I like it, I like, I like it
Posted January 27, 2014
We've now used this for 4-5 family camping trips in the PNW from June - Sept - me, 1 wife, 2 boys. So far only one rainy night but we were dry as you would expect.
I would buy this again because it is super easy to set up, BIG, durable, and finished very, very nicely. While we tend to camp in the summer, I would absolutely be comfortable camping in the shoulder seasons with this tent, again its durability makes me confident that as long as I were not the poor guy from SF who's blew in to a ravine..., this tent would hold up. OK, since you brought up the SF guy, we typically have so much weight in our tent that even if all stakes pulled out, these poles would snap before the tent would go anywhere. Even then, if you sense its going to be windy, then whip out them dar' guy lines!
Finally, 7-8 years ago on a whim we bought a costco 6-8 man tent. It turned out to be 30 minute two person set up job, and the fiberglass poles broke on us twice. While amazing they could sell that much tent "material" for only $80 it took the fun out of set up, and made us vulnerable to anything other than clear skies. Keep that concept in mind when you shop for your next tent.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 7 for Corners™ 6
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Spacious Tent

PostedOctober 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hikerboy
Location: Portland Or
We got this for our main car camping/base camp tent. This thing is BIG inside. The twin vestibules add enormous amounts of well covered space for things to be left out. We had a tarp for the footprint but I think we may get one that they make for the tent. It is tall enough inside that I can stand all the way to the edges and not hit my head (6'). Pockets on all 4 corners and gear loft loops everywhere. This weekend we had 25 mph wind gusts and it never flinched. The rain drained well with all guy outs used.
There was only one thing I noticed. When you step from the tent into the vestibule there is very little room at the top. The tent naturally slopes that way. Most 6 man tents have vestibules that come out from the main tent body. Since I am the tallest in the family it was not an issue for anyone else. We all loved the tent and slept 5 with room for one more no problem. Very Nice.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Corners™ 6
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Taj Mahal of family camping tents

PostedJuly 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
aksmitty
Location: Southcentral, AK
This is a great car-camping tent for the family. We wanted a tent that offered enough room for four people and gear, and this is it. There's ample room inside to stand up, and plently of room on either side for outdoor storage in the vestibules. The poles on most larger tents have to be run through sleeves, which can be frustrating at times. The use of clips on this tent makes for a quick and easy set-up. The fly did a superb job keeping the pouring rain on the outside of the structure. The optional footprint is heavy duty and a wise investment to protect the tent floor. Set this up next to your house and you have an instant addition!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Corners™ 6
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Tent

PostedJune 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shack
Location: La Jolla, CA
This tent is huge and I love it. My wife and I put a king size air bed, and still had room for all of our stuff and our two bulldogs beds. I can't say enough about the quality of this tent.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Corners™ 6
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing tent with easy set up

PostedMay 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
sherwood
Location: Sherwood, Oregon
First time setting up a new tent can always be a bit confusing, unless you purchase the Corners 6. Super easy set up, with an amazing support structure. Forgot to purchase the footprint, so I didn't have that to use but it's now on the way and should only make it that much better. Cool venting system incorporated into the fly/tent. Lot's of storage pockets, and a tall ceiling. I'm 6'1" and had plenty of clearance. Very happy with this purchase.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Corners™ 6
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Tent

PostedApril 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
CampingPA
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The tent is easy to put up, even with one person (if you have camping experience). The poles seem to be very good quality. I was impressed with the size of the front and rear vestibules. There is plenty of head room in the tent and the gear pouches in the corners are nice. Of course the first time I used the tent it poured and was extremely windy. The bottom of the tent has one long seam and it leaked in one spot. Not sure if this is a manufactures defect. I plan to try some seam sealer. It was really easy to pack the tent back up. I may get a more heavy duty bag to put the tent in, the one it comes with is made out of tent material and I'm concerned it may rip. Pther than the one small leak I am satisfied with the tent.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Corners™ 6
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best family tent

PostedApril 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Doingr8
This tent is a "Super sized" version of my Drifter 3. It fits the whole family very nicely with room to spare. All 4 corners have pockets for storing gear. On our first trip we got rained on both nights with no problems at all. The full rainfly came in handy for getting wet clothes off before venturing into the tent and also kept our shoes out of the tent but dry for the next morning. Zero condensation inside the tent the and the vestibule clear "Nut window" was a nice touch. Strong poles and ease of set-up are also strong points (i.e. I didn't have to argue with the Ms. when setting the tent up as it is a basic 2 pole design). I would recommend this tent for anyone looking for a tent for car camping, especially those with kids.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Corners™ 6
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

6Corners

PostedApril 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
1Camper1
Location: Omaha, NE
I have owned several tents made by different manufacturers over the years with varying degrees of satisfaction. This tent surpasses all the others. The materials used are superior in quality and appear to be highly durable. The tent is light weight and packs well.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.