Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear EV™ 2

Mountain Hardwear EV™ 2

EV™ 2
Overall rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
6 out of 8(75%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for EV™ 2
Review 1 for EV™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for intended purpose

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Stormchaser70
Location: Seattle, WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
This tent works great for it's intended purpose - tight spaces, high altitude and winter mountaineering. I own both the EV2 and EV3 and find the setup to be simple and intuitive. This is an alpine tent - suitable for the alpine environment. I wouldn't deem it appropriate for warmer and wetter climates - as the single walls are not ideal for condensation and ventilation management. On nights in the alpine environment with a light wind (to move the air), this tent works magically. I like the length and the integrated vestibule, and I am able to cook just outside the door.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for EV™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tent

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
JdSnowrider
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Th EV 2 is a fantastic tent. We took it to the Wind River Ranger in Wyoming and camped around 11.000 feet. It's design made it easy to find a campsite and extremely easy to set up. It weathered some strong thunderstorms and one crazy windstorm. Even with all the vents open we stayed dry and comfortable. The vents need to be open or some condensation will occur. We did close the upper vents during a thunderstorm and had no condensation. I have yet to try in it the snow but I am confident that it will perform well. I highly recommend this tent due to it's performance, light weight, and the ability to stow gear while sleeping 2.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for EV™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Trustworthy Shelter

PostedApril 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
SRD450
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would recommend this tent to anyone for winter camping. It is extremely solid and very well vented. If guyed correctly, it is very spacious for two fairly good size dudes over an extended period of time. Used this on an extended winter ski tour in coastal AK. It held up very well to high winds and was super easy to guy out with skis, ice axes, shovels, and such. If you want superlight and don't mind being crammed, go with the Direkt2, but if you want a more bomber tent for two larger folks, go with the EV2. Construction is top notch.
This is a winter expedition tent and I've never carried the supplied stakes.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for EV™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lightweight, Durable, Easy Set Up

PostedApril 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
SuperSoldierSerum
Location: San Francisco, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Very solid construction. Single wall is surprisingly warm. Vents & zippers are durable & easy to use. Quite snug with 2 people but it is worth it at being only 5lbs. It is a technical 2 person tent or a spacious solo tent. I would strongly recommend this tent (EV2) or the EV3 if you need more space. Great product.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for EV™ 2
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Holy snow

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
cavscout68
Location: north pole, AK
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I've used this tent several times over a variety of weather conditions across Alaska's Interior range. This past week was the first time I've used it in extremely windy snowy conditions however. We camped on Castner Glacier for a few days with winds pushing 50 mph and blowing snow. No matter what my tent mate and I did to protect this tent from the winds and snow we couldn't stop the constant whipping of tent material or the snow blowing straight through the vents and into our tent. I understand a small amount will always make it through no matter what you do but the snow we had blowing through is unacceptable for a tent designed for this type of environment. We ended up having to call the trip early due to the snow that had blown into our tent and sleeping bags. It was miserable. My tent is three years old now and maybe MH has already heard of this problem and hopefully addressed it accordingly. I absolutely love the trango series tents and all other mountain hardware products I've ever purchased. This is the only product of theirs that I wasn't completely satisfied in. Everything else gets 5 stars from me.
I do not recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for EV™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BOMBSHELTER

PostedJune 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
SpeedyReidy
Location: Breckenridge, CO
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This thing is a refuge in the Gnar of Gnar, If your looking for a bombproof lightweight shelter for mountaineering, this thing is the best tent out there in the pounds to toughness ratio... My only grip is it's a 1 season tent not a 4 season. Its for winter and or high altitude only. It is not versatile at all. With that being said it's my favorite tent
I would recommend this product.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for EV™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EV2

PostedJune 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
benja
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've gotta speak up on this one.. I strongly disagree with the "needs work" review. I've owned this tent for three years. I have used this tent on Rainier (twice), Shasta, Whitney, and Marcy (all winter climbs). I've never had an issue with "anchors".. I'm assuming the above review was referring to the stakes.. then again, if your using the stakes, it probably means your on the grass, which also means, you should probably be using a different tent. I don't think mine has ever seen bare grass. You have to spend a little time staking it out properly (with ski's, deadmen, ice axe, or snow anchors) if not, any tent will be floppy. When it is staked out, the tent is bullet-proof. I've experienced high wind, dumps of snow, and even hail and only have ever gotten one small pin hole which I patched. The material is very durable. The poles are sturdy and aren't showing any signs of quit after three years. The above review talks about the pole design, where at each section break, there is a small "floating" connecter piece. I've never had an issue with this either.. you just alternate which end you put in at each section break, and there is no problem. The tent itself is narrow, don't expect tons of room when sleeping with a partner. They designed it this way for a purpose. If you're looking for room, get the Trango. Also, this tent weights less than most 2-person mountaineering tents out there, because of the single wall design and narrow profile. Its a purpose built tent with limited application. If your on the glaciers more than the trails, you'll appreciate it.. I don't know about $660 bucks worth of appreciation, but you'll still appreciate it.
I would recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for EV™ 2
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Needs work

PostedMay 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nada
Location: Cottonwood, ca.
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Spent the weekend in the backcountry this weekend and used this tent for the first time. I first noticed that the anchors are very weak and broke a number of them (have never had that problem with other brands of tents). Also, the number of anchors didn't cover all anchor points. The winds over the night were high and we paid for it with no sleep due to the floppyness of the tent. All other 4-season tents that I have owned never had the amount of movement in high winds. When taking the tent down, the poles require your full attention due to the male ends coming out of either adjacent pole section. If not careful, the poles when broken down can be very uneven and not fit in the bag.
I will have to go back to my old tent and use this very expensive tent for I don't know what.
I do not recommend this product.
-29points
14of 57voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SpeedyReidy
Breckenridge, CO
 
Please wait while more information about SpeedyReidy is loaded.
Additional information about SpeedyReidy could not be loaded.
Bomb Shelter
Posted June 19, 2012
This guy "Nada" doesn't know what he's talking about. This tent is an absolute Bomb Shelter, I have pitched it 70mph winds on a 13,000 ft ridge and hardly flapped all night. Used it 20+ Colorado winter nights. Its tight for two guys with gear, but its cut skinny to fit on tight ledges. I wouldn't call it a 4 season tent at all, 1 season bomb shelter
Either "Nada" works at Marmot or has no clue how to pitch a tent... My go- to winter workhorse tent
Images for this Comment
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
9of 12voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)