Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Trango™ 2

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Hardwear.

Mountain Hardwear Trango™ 2

Trango™ 2
Overall rating:
4.857 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(7 reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 7 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
7 out of 7(100%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Trango™ 2
Review 1 for Trango™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Home away from home

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
MWMS1
Location: Michigan
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Bought this tent for winter camping in Northern Michigan and for a summit bid of Mt. Rainier.
This is my 4th tent in my arsenal of tents. But, the Trango 2 is by far the one I take winter camping and for summit attempts. Build solid with tons of internal pocket/shelved for gear storage. It's also loaded with "must have" technical features. Not a tent for warm weather back packing......heavy and to warm. Better of using this tent for late fall, winter, early spring outings.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Trango™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of the best

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
himalayanoctopus
Location: Michigan, MI
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was one of my dream to own this tent for mountain climbing expeditions . Now I am using this as a al round tent.(For travel, camping and backpacking trips)
My wife and my-self , we were on Pictured rocks hiking trail for 4 days. Three days out off 4 was down pouring rain all day long and nights. We were completely dry inside the tent; not even single drop of water inside the tent. First time in 12 years of back packing and outdoors life I was not wet in such kind of rain and slept happily inside the tent. So far this tent impressed our family with protecting from rain, wind and excited to check it in the snow!!!
Now, in November we are on a 48 days road trip in Western US. This is our mini house. One of the day we camped in Kansas state park for a night while driving to Denver. It was super windy(45-50miles/hour) for whole night, but it din't bother our sleep. We slept like sleeping at home.my wife love this tent.
This is worth of paying so much money. I am 6.2 and this is the only tent which accommodates my longer legs.So I am not worried of the tent weight. This tent fulfilled all my requirements to be a all round tent.
Tent zippers are more smoother than before; more room to keep our back packs and other personal stuff. I will review this again by the end of our 48 days trip.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Trango™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Trango 2

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Theo
Location: Portland OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just got the tent and heading into November 2013. Ill give u some feedback after it makes it through this winters adventures. The tent looks bomber!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Trango™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!!!!!!!

PostedMay 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
WanderingAlbatross
Location: locations everywhere
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have owned this tent for 2 years now and absolutely love it. I work and live in this tent for sometimes months at a time. I continue to love all the pockets inside to squirrel away all my gear. The tent holds in heat and keeps rain well away from you. I have also used this tent on an excursion in Hawaii while camping out in extremely wet areas and the tent kept every drop out. But then comes my biggest concern with the tent. What would happen when the weather was hot out? I didn't want to bake in an oven and have condensation leaving me soaked inside. I unzipped all vents and left the rain fly shell on cause you never know when it was going to rain and to my surprise I was comfortable and fine. No condensation and I wasn't overheating. This tent is certainly the go to alpine mountain tent, but also does the job everywhere else!
The tent holds up to extreme wind and becomes easy to set up once you do it once or twice.
Now for the 2 slight problems with the tent. It isn't a light tent, but I already knew that so I don't really see it as that much of a problem. The second problem is that the rain fly shell has these plastic clips to connect to the main tent. They are fine, but one of the clips I have noticed broke. Don't know how, but it did. There is still enough of a hook on part of the clip to mostly hold it in place. Wish the clip was a little more sturdy and rugged. For the most amazing tent for extreme weather this is the only flaw.
All in all this is the tent of dreams!!!!!!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Trango™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Trango 2 Tent Built to Last

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Denver
Location: Ridgefield, WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Picked up this tent and headed for Mt. St. Helen's in Washington State. Skinned up about 3 miles to 4500 feet with the tent on my back. Picked a nice spot and setup camp. The quality of this tent is amazing. Its all about details with this tent. First surprise was the inside walls and ceiling are lined with pockets so you can cram stuff everywhere and keep the sleeping area clean. Next all major connections from tent to poles use lockable hooks that release when squeezed. The guy lines include lockable cleats that allow for quick adjustments and tightening. It was snowing and a bit windy when we set up camp but that did not slow us down with this easy to setup tent. Had it up in no time and was enjoying some nice hot soup in side. Once inside the body heat kept the tent pretty cozy even with vents open to cut down on moisture. Great tent. Cant wait to use it next week. Only minor thing is I am just over 6 foot and my friend is about 6'2" we were pretty much end to end in the sleeping compartment. Could have used a few more inches to keep the sleeping bag from touching the walls. But knew that going into it and figure less area means less heat needed to keep warm.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Trango™ 2
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

All around great tent...

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
nmbonfire
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had this tent for almost 6 years in elk country and in fire camp, from Glacier National Park to the Gila National Forest, I love it. I can't say enough good regarding this tent. It keeps out the rain, wind, snow, ash; not so much the smoke but its not supposed to, bugs and dust. I have had only one issue, and that's the pole that hold the vestibule up/open, it tends to crack/break at the uppermost joint. But a quick call to Mountain Hard-wear gets a new one en-route.
Thanks MH...
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Trango™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Waterproof and Dustproof!

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Elan
Location: Breckenridge, CO
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My boyfriend and I bought this tent (and the footprint) for mostly car-camping. Our first tent's trial was at Burning Man in hot, dusty Nevada. Even after a week of dust storms of extremely fine dust, the inside was relatively dust-free (aside from what we tracked in) unlike our camp mates' tents. Because of the heat, we kept the fly off, but it still got very toasty inside, which meant we were early risers! Still, if it could survive Burning Man, it would be perfect for us.
Our second test was camping on a rainy night in late summer. Luckily we set the tent up just in time for a summer downpour, and stayed dry inside!
Finally, our most recent test was hiking with it near Aspen, CO. My boyfriend carried the tent itself, and I carried the footprint, stakes, and poles in our backpacks, and didn't notice too much weight on our 17 mile roundtrip overnight hike. It was mid-autumn, and we spent the night a little over 11,000 feet, so it got down to the teens that night. I have a poor excuse for a sleeping bag currently, so I was still cold, but my boyfriend was happy, and if I had a bag more equipped for the temps, I would be too. There was a small amount of condensation on the roof, but nothing to worry about.
The Trango 2 is definitely comfortable with two people, with space at our feet for our bags. I am pretty stoked to continue using this next spring when it's a little warmer!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Waggler
Alaska
 
Please wait while more information about Waggler is loaded.
Additional information about Waggler could not be loaded.
Never once regretted this purchase
Posted January 5, 2014
I bought a Trango 2 about eight years ago. I guide hunters on the Alaska Peninsula and Adak Island (western Aleutians) two of the windiest places in North America. I've been in this tent in winds in excess of 70 knots, and have been able to sleep soundly at the same time. It's absolutely bomb proof.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)