Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Drifter™ 3

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Hardwear.

Mountain Hardwear Drifter™ 3

Drifter™ 3
Overall rating:
4.583 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
11 out of 12(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Drifter™ 3
Review 1 for Drifter™ 3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love my Drifter 3

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
smiler82
Location: Northern IL
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had this out in the UP for 6 days. I bought this to downsize from a much larger frame tent, and I think it is ideal for that. I did a test setup at home before the trip and purposely tried to set it up without reading the instructions. I've had several tents in the past and this one was stupid-easy to set up. Out in the woods, this guy can be set up in as little as 2-3 minutes. Simplicity is the game here and the DAC poles have a great fit and finish to them, good feel too. The floor should be included with the tent, and is overpriced in my opinion. That said, I also think it is required and when using the ultralight option, increases the utility of the setup. As with all tents on the market today, subtract 1-2 people from what is listed and that is the real-world capacity.
We had all types of weather on the trip; 95 degree highs and 45 degree lows, 40mph gusts and one particularly nasty thunderstorm which included a 30 minute drenching downpour.
The tent handled the rain without any issue. We were actually out hiking when the storm came through and I was glad I closed the tent up before we left. Everything inside was bone dry, not a drop came in. I left some small gear under the vestibules as well and it also stayed completely dry.
I did not set the tent up with the guy lines, yet it stayed solid during the gusty winds. I'd bet this thing could handle much higher winds with guy lines staked out.
The heat may be one area where this tent is lacking. The full coverage rain fly is awesome at keeping the rain out, but does not vent much at all. The tent vents decently with both vestibules completely open, but really needs the rainfly removed to be cool inside and that is a chore in the middle of the night. This 'issue' is also a boon if you are camping in cooler climates or night time temps. Because the tent holds heat so well, I think this could hold up in deep fall and even winter camping so long as there is not any snow on it. I never had any condensation issues during the entire trip.
I like the little touches that MH puts on their gear, and this tent has them too. Reflective guy lines/loops on the rain fly, double zippers on the fly, mesh pockets on boths ends inside, mesh ceiling pocket, plenty of clips to hold tent or fly doors. The ultralight option is also very cool, and one that I will be using in the future.
The quality on this tent is high, and if you've owned any other MH products then you already know what that means. Stop reading these reviews and get one, you won't be sorry.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Drifter™ 3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tent for two backpackers

PostedOctober 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
NebraskaCamper
Location: Omaha, NE
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Excellent quality, seams are well stitched and sealed, pretty lightweight for the size, and the double doors and vestibules are awesome. Pitch light option with the footprint is cool and will be great in the summer. The first night I took it out with a buddy was mid-October in the eastern Nebraska hills. It rained hard with moderate winds for a few hours but the inside of the tent was perfectly dry and we had no issues with condensation. We stored our packs in the vestibules and they were pretty dry as well. Drifter 3 is comfortable for two people (as long as you keep your packs in the vestibules), and the double doors are awesome for this. Two people with big packs inside would be a tight squeeze, but two people and a dog should be fine. Overall I'm very happy with this tent and it should meet my needs year-round.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Drifter™ 3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great backpacking tent

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
xcar27
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Took the Drifter 3 on a 3-day trip to the Bob Marshall in Montana. It's light, easy to pitch, and dealt well with the wind.
Only critique: I'm 6'3", and it was a little tight for 2 big guys and a couple packs. But I'd still recommend it strongly - I haven't found a better tent.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Drifter™ 3
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Drifter 3

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mags
Location: MN
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice tent. The only knock I have with the design is that it does not have a bath tub floor the seam is right at ground level. Good room and weight for a 3 person tent. I am 6'3" tall and had plenty of room left over.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Drifter™ 3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Light, durable, and fast to set up

PostedJuly 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jaeger
Location: PA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I used this tent during a week long trip out on the Appalachian Trail. We got hit with a storm early in the morning with 40+ mph wind and about an inch of rain in 30 minutes; no problems with the tent whatsoever.
It set up in minutes and was very comfortable for 2. I think you'd be pushing comfort sleeping with 3 but could be done if needed or your that close.
I would recommend buying the tube stakes just because the ones supplied are kind of flimsy.
The footprint is also real high quality just wish it was larger to cover the vestibule area.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Drifter™ 3
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great basic tent

PostedJune 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
spcarver
Location: Alaska
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tent worked well on a 4 night trip. Bottom kept the water out as it should. Would recommend this as a 2 person tent, but not 3. Unless you are really close friends.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Drifter™ 3
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This product need some new features

PostedMay 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
basko
Location: Georgia
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I was very surprised to find that there was no way to stake out the rainfly on the ends of the tent. The fly lays against the tent body witch causes the fly to leak.
I expected more because I have always been impressed with all the other products from MH
I do not recommend this product.
-8points
4of 16voted this as helpful.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
gavos
Atlanta
 
Please wait while more information about gavos is loaded.
Additional information about gavos could not be loaded.
Posted September 3, 2012
I agree with basko -- very odd that end (as in middle of short sides of tent) has no line to stake out. As stated, fly drapes against the inner tent. I'd be interested in why MH designed the tent like this. Was it oversight, or is it supposed not to drape if you stake the corners properly? I have tried to tighten it at the corners, but no dice.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
bhoffme
Oregon
 
Please wait while more information about bhoffme is loaded.
Additional information about bhoffme could not be loaded.
lol
Posted July 19, 2012
you are not setting the tent up right then... try again
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 8 for Drifter™ 3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tent

PostedMay 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cielle64
Location: Bremerton, WA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this tent for my boyfriend to spend a weekend hiking with the boys. I laughed all day on the day they left because it was a complete downpour and I knew it was going to be a rough go of it. They hiked until they hit snow, so it was wet and cold. He LOVED this tent. He was warm, dry and cozy despite the fact that he left me at home. :) Tons of room for just him but when we set it up to air out upon his return there will also be room for me and the dog on the next trip. He gives it a big A+ We love Mountain Hardware.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Drifter™ 3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drifter 3

PostedApril 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
PJS4
Location: Pennsylvania
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First time I used the Drifter 3 tent was on an overnight on the AT. It packed fine in the provided bag although I did use some small bungies to compress it down. Set up was fast, especially with two people. We had 30-40MPH gusting winds, low 40 degree temps, with heavy rain overnight and the tent worked as expected keeping us dry. Due to the wind, some “sideways” rain did get under the rain fly however no moisture was felt inside nor were there any bad drafts. No condensation was noticed. There was plenty of room inside for our packs since there was only two of us inside. The mesh gear loft was surprisingly helpful to stow important items (TP) which you don't want to dig for in the middle of the night when needed. The loft also worked great holding a head lamp and served as an impromptu overhead light. Take down, with two people, was a breeze and only took minutes. So far, I am impressed with the tent.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Drifter™ 3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

siiiiiicccccckkkkk!!!

PostedApril 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
RABBIT91289
Location: THORNTON, COLORADO
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a perfect tent especially for all people in colorado climates. the shield protects from the cold and from the rain, and in the morning the inside isnt all damp and wet. easy to hike with and easy to put away the cover helps to keep everything dry and some nights we dont even use the tent and just use the cover. Its me my girlfriend and our two dogs that sleep in it and we have enough room.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Drifter™ 3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Right size and features for two adults backpacking

PostedApril 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
DMMPhilmont
Location: Huntersville, NC
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality construction
tight walls and ceiling.
Light weight floor and fly for light weight set up on dry nights.
Sealed and ready to use.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Drifter™ 3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Tent (motorcycle touring)

PostedApril 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
nctouring
Location: Durham, North Carolina
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First, let me say that I have never been disappointed with a Mountain Hardwear tent. If you venture out beyond the big box stores, you can find a very dependable, light-weight tent that will keep you dry and last you for many years. Consider what you would pay for two nights at a hotel… spend that on a tent, and you won’t be disappointed. The attention to detail, quality construction and a full coverage fly make a technical tent a better purchase then your local department store.
If you are new to technical tents, let me warn you about a “3” person tent. You aren’t going to be able to stand up in this tent, and 3 adults in this tent would be very close. That being said, the Drifter 3 is a fantastic two-up tent with comfortable room, and space for your gear. The difference between the Drifter 2 and Drifter 3 is only about ½ pound, and the extra space (about 11 square feet more) is worth it. Retail price is $235.00
One of the things that stands out about the Drifter 3 is the opposing doors. Each side has a full opening door so neither you or your partner will have to crawl over anyone to get out when nature calls. Mountain Hardwear also sews their zippers on a curve so they zip with ease. There is plenty of mesh which gives the tent a light feel and is comfortable in the heat. With the addition of the fly, it becomes a 3 season tent that I wouldn’t hesitate to take out in the mid 30’s (with the right sleeping bag!). Here in the south, humidity is a challenge, and people often sleep “too warm” waking up in the morning with moisture on the inside of the tent. The mesh forces you to camp correctly with good ventilation.
In addition, when you put the rain fly on, two vestibules are realized at each door to keep your shoes out of the tent, but dry and out of the rain. The rain fly is a full coverage fly that is fully taped. They test these things in a rain room with 1200 inches of rain in 24 hours! This is not your average cheap tent.
The tent only uses two poles, and it took me less than 3 minutes to set it up. Without the fly, you can pitch this tent without any stakes (as long as it isn’t too windy). I’d highly recommend the footprint, a ground cloth made specifically fit this tent.
After checking out this tent, we purchased 4 of these tents for our motorcycle touring company. In summary, for motorcycle touring, the Mountain Hardwear Drifter 3 tent is a great piece of equipment. The weight is light and it packs small (if you keep the poles separate). One person can set this up in about 3 minutes, which is nice after a long day of riding. Two people will be comfortable with room for gear! All for a price just over 200 dollars!
I would recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.