Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear LightPath™ 2

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Hardwear.

Mountain Hardwear LightPath™ 2

LightPath™ 2
Overall rating:
4.889 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 9(100%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for LightPath™ 2
Review 1 for LightPath™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Light

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
TommyBoiii
Location: Knoxville, TN
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This tent has kept me very warm and dry in the smoky mountains over the winter. I have not used it in the summer yet but look forward to trying it without the rain cover. The test is best with a tarp underneath. I have the mountain hardware one which is light and works well.
The tent is not free standing and requires in ground stakes to stand up. You cannot use it on hard ground like concrete or really rocky soil. The stakes however keep the tent from moving in high wind.
It is also a true two person tent, just enough room and no more.
The space between the front of the tent and the rain cover is very convenient for keeping packs and shoes out of the rain.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for LightPath™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's a tent.

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
ScrambleDoc
Location: Washington
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's a tent. It's light. It performs well. Buy it if you do 1-2 party hikes.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for LightPath™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Door

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
MissingTheMountains
Location: Cimeron, NM
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I work as a backpacking guide over the summer and slept in this tent nearly everyday for two months there abouts. The tent as a whole has preformed great and after a sponge bath looked good as new with no really wear anywhere. I really like the door when i was sleeping with a buddy it had two zippers in the vestible which allowed both of us to set up at the same time. I'm 6'3" he's like 5'10" and we both fit in quite nicely. As a solo sleeper its quite roomy making a morning stretch very easy.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for LightPath™ 2
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

light and dry

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
rpticker
Location: portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
used this during a thunderstorm and it stayed dry and upright without any of the guy lines. It is roomy and the vestibule is big enough.
not a 5 star because what is?
I would recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for LightPath™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Tent

PostedDecember 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shudy
Location: East TN
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I used this tent on a recent bug out mission. It performed beautifully. I will say it is roomy and with the rain fly provides extra storage area. Overall a great tent.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for LightPath™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good backpacking tent

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
NatetheGreat
Location: Big Bear Lake, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've used this tent all summer and have no complaints. It is a smaller and I think the lightest tent Mountain Hardwear makes which is why I purchased it. My hiking partner is only 5'2" and I'm 6'4" but we have plenty of space to sleep comfortably. The vestibule is large enough to keep our packs out of the weather. The design of the tent and the set up make it easy to deal with in the wind and it is quite taught even without using guy lines. I also purchased the footprint hoping to extend the life of the tent bottom. Overall I'm very satisfied with this as a backpacking tent; if I were car camping I'd go with something that offers more internal space but this does a good job of keeping us out of the elements and providing a nice place to sleep after a day on the trail. Gave a good for the "Function" rating only because I haven't had a chance to test it in the rain yet.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for LightPath™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick set up and perfect size

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
IWillBeFrank
Location: New York, NY
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love this set up. It's plenty of room for two people and has an awesome vestibule. The angled design is really good for keeping the heat rolling out of the tent. It's much easier to set up than I expected. The only issue I might say is the fly is a little snug and can be a little tricky to set up at first, but not so bad it's going to prevent you from getting it done quickly in the rain.
Great for overnight trips, recommend this.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for LightPath™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

"Two Man"

PostedJune 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Konrad
Location: Redondo Beach,CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This tent is a great 1 man and an okat 2 man. While it can fit two people when me and my friend (both of us are over 6 feet tall) fitted in to this tent it did feel tight. However, it still worked. Personally I like using it as a one man and having space to store stuff such as clothes, water ect.. next to me without having to be cramped.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for LightPath™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this tent is well thought out

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
basko
Location: Cairns Australia
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was a bit concerned it might be too small but its really quite roomy. I do intend it for just me though. I'm really impressed with all the little design features that make it a really versatile, robust and easy to use tent.
Well worth getting it shipped half way around the world. Bring on direct international shipping though.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.