Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Drifter™ 2

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Hardwear.

Mountain Hardwear Drifter™ 2

Drifter™ 2
Overall rating:
4.625 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
7 out of 8(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Drifter™ 2
Review 1 for Drifter™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Drifter 2 exceeded my expectations

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Poncho
Location: West Glacier, MT
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Drifter 2 is an excellent light weight, full featured tent. I have used the tent in a variety of weather conditions from hot and dry to cold and snow and in all cases it met my expectations. Material and functionality are outstanding.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Drifter™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly as advertised :)

PostedOctober 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
RoBear55
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After reading comparative reviews and then personally comparing this model against several others in several stores, I bought my Drifter 2 in March of this year. I've used it on 4, multi-night camping trips so far and I'm absolutely pleased with my purchase! In every way, it has delivered... easy to set up; plenty of room (although for adults, the second person needs to be your spouse); and, nicely shaped doors with zippers that work (even one-handed and in a hurry.) I've been rained on, with noticeable winds, on 3 of the 4 trips... not a single problem; and, the vestibules (and zippers) keep the water from dripping in while entering/leaving the tent. Not the smallest packing and not the lightest of weight but, for the price, you get outstanding performance and quality!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Drifter™ 2
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It's okay...

PostedSeptember 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
KidParadise
Location: Whiteland, IN
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I like the room and large vestibules. I slept in this tent for the first time here in Indiana Labor Day Weekend. It was unbelievably humid and pouring rain. There is no ventilation on this tent. It definitely needs some features added.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Drifter™ 2
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not Windproof...

PostedAugust 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
tacotaco
Location: Denali Park, AK
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall this has been a good tent for me. Ive used it in deserts and mountains in Arizona, New Mexico, and Utah as well as two 'summer' seasons in Denali National Park, Alaska. The waterproofing on the tent is top notch. Ive never had it leak. However, I had to send it back once because of zipper issues, which kind of get resolved. The zipper gets caught on the fly which protects it a lot, and still does. Ive had to rip that small piece of fly because of that. And on one fateful August Denali evening, this tent flat out failed. It was guyed all the way out and the wind gusts(at about 3,000 ft) caused the tent to completely bend over. It was touching me in the face while I was lying down. Eventually the stakes were ripped up(they also had large rocks on them) and the whole rainfly blew off thus becoming worthless and I got soaked. So if youre gonna be in anything that will provide serious 3 season conditions, Id look elsewhere. But this tent is waterproof and roomy and besides its serious lack of windproofing, its a good solid tent for the price. I will continue to use it in the desert, but never again while backpacking in Alaska or anywhere with alpine-like conditions.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Drifter™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this tent!

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
BeefyMarshmallow
Location: Hanover, PA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I looked for a tent that was in my price range of under $200. It had to be reasonably light and I wanted two doors and two vestibules for the rare trip which my wife decided to come along.
I have taken this tent on two trips totaling 5 nights, so far. My evenings have consisted of some hot, and some rainy, and this tent has delivered as advertised.
It has kept me dry on a rainy, lightning-filled night. It has also let the breeze come through despite the rain-fly being on. It is roomy enough that my wife and I can both fit in, or my pack if I am alone.
The floor feels delicate so I bought the footprint, but there have been no holes or rips on the floor. The footprint is the same material as the tent floor. It just feels thin and flimsy, but I have had not negative experiences, and I have read no reviews that mention the floor ripping or anything.
Ultimately, the weight is doable. I know I will be dry in the even of a rain storm. I know that wind can move through and keep me cool. I also know that I will be using this tent for years to come!
I HIGHLY recommend this tent. The price offsets the weight by far! Happy trails!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Drifter™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Water Tight

PostedJune 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hickhiker
Location: Metrowest Massachusetts
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I replaced my old tent with the Drifter 2 because I needed a 2-person tent that would NOT leak! My first outing in this tent was one where rain came down hard all night while back-country camping in the White Mountains. Everything stayed dry. I am very pleased. The vestibules are large and we had no problem keeping all our gear in them, and it was dry as well.
The only upgrade I'd like to see is the vestibule zipper be taped and not a flap. The flap works, you just have to remember to check that it covers the zipper after closing the vestibule.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Drifter™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Son's home away from home

PostedMay 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Maxwellg
Location: Glen Ellen, CA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Since the tent arrived, our son has been sleeping in it in the backyard. He is very much enamored with it! No need to build an addition anymore! The dog loves it too! Nice feature having two exits on the sides. We still have our two person tent from 12 years ago as well which we fit two adults, our son and two dogs in on many occasions. Our son wanted to move out so he got his own digs now!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Drifter™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

tent

PostedApril 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
nonickname
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
It's a great tent. I'm 6'2" and the tent is the perfect size. I was surprised how easy it was to put it up.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.