Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Direkt™ 2

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Hardwear.

Mountain Hardwear Direkt™ 2

Direkt™ 2
Overall rating:
4.429 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
12 out of 14(86%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Direkt™ 2
Review 1 for Direkt™ 2
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Direkt 2

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
dematson
Location: Fresno CA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
I wanted a single wall, quick set up and light tent. I actually use this tent as a single person tent because it is super light and it gives me lots of room to keep all my gear under cover. Storms come up fast in the Sierra Nevada mountains and I wanted a means to get me and my gear under cover ASAP. For my purposes, I can use rocks to stabilize the tent and eliminate the weight of the stakes. I believe the ventilation could be improved to decrease the condensation but have made it my tent of choice for mountain backpacking.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Direkt™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Light weight and well suited for alpine ascents.

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
tnewkirk
Location: Vancouver, BC
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I recently used this tent on a Mount Rainier ascent. The setup was easy and once staked down it was not going to move. Size is what I expected, with two adult males we didn't have much extra space for non-essentials. I am willing to forgo some conveniences for the weight. All-in-all great alpine tent.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Direkt™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Direkt 2 Tent, quick, cozy, anti ice maker

PostedMay 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
GoGoBoots
Location: Portland Oregon
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I tried out my new tent on the shoulder of Mt Hood, about 9000 ft. I left the tent for a few minutes, late at night, moving my Nalgene bottle over, hearing the water swish around in it. When I returned, I had left the door open 6 inches, as I moved my bottle again, ice cubes were clinking around inside.Proving my great tent keeps Everything inside from freezing!
I would recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Direkt™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lightweight Wonder!

PostedApril 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
SRD450
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
I absolutely love this tent! Used this tent alongside an EV2 for an extended ski tour in AK. The Direkt2 was VERY fast to setup and guy out. Skis work awesome for guying this tent. If you guy the two windward side corners of the tent before you even start, you can be out of the wind and in a set up tent in about two minutes or less. Always guy out the two middle loops in the center of the large side panels for more stability. One very minor complaint about the venting is the single vent on this tent is more of a challenge to either keep open (when its snowing) or clear when the vent is facing into the wind and blowing snow. The EV2 has a better vent system with supports in the vent to prop up the vent. The Direkt2 would benefit from this type of vent support. That's all I can nitpick on. If you are going light, I would pick this tent over the EV2. I think the EV2 would hold up better in extreme conditions, but for featherlite ski touring, I would more often use the Direkt2.
The tent pole corner clips are super easy and amazingly handy, making this tent the easiest tent I have ever used if there is only one person setting it up. I would highly recommend this tent.
I attached a picture of the packed tent next to a size 9.5 shoe. It's super packable.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Direkt™ 2
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Still a beta version

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joseph6000
Location: Grapevine, Texas
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
I have used this tent on two multi-day trips, first with a hiking companion in Patagonia, then for only myself in the Eastern Sierras West of Bishop CA in early September.
Pros:
- Lightweight (although a few ounces more than originally advertised on the Website).
- Waterproof (but not seam sealed).
- Quick to dry (lift it up in the wind like a windsock).
- Sleeps two average hikers (we even managed to keep our boots and backpacks between our feet and the zippered door)
Cons:
- Bending the poles into place is a challenge.
- The poles will not easily align, and will not stay aligned with the intersections of the four walls. The Velcro tabs are too long and therefore can't quite hug the poles (hence they feel a bit flimsy; beta version syndrome?)
- When the top vent opposite the door is fully opened, it is still too small to ventilate enough to prevent condensation. One definitely needs to also unzip the bottom of the door. This makes the tent unsuitable for camping where there are insects.
- I was surprised that such a reputable manufacturer had not seam-sealed the tent. (same Beta version syndrome?)
- Page 4 of the "Owner's Manual" states: "to further stormproof your tent add two internal guy systems to the inside of your tent by using the cord and cord cleats provided and the webbing loops sewn into the interior walls and roof. Join the two pieces of 96" cord, forming one long cord. Tie one end of the cord to point B (Fig. 4a) at one inside corner of the tent..."
There were no cords and cord cleats in the package, and I still haven't found "the webbing loops sewn into the interior walls and roof". (Beta version syndrome, or wrong booklet in the package?)
- The flap material over the door zippers is caught in them every time, unless you use both hands and operate the zippers carefully. (Beta version syndrome?)
Conclusions:
The tent is good for high altitude mountaineering. It is 2 lbs lighter than my other MHW tent which has two walls and weighs 5 lbs. But I dread the thought of struggling with the poles and velcro tabs in rain and snow and wind.
Mountain Hardwear should seam-seal it, and install a mesh screen inside the door to make it usable in bug season (since one has to unzip the bottom of the door for ventilation).
Mountain Hardwear must do something about the annoying problem of zipper flaps getting snagged in the zippers.
It would be helpful to have a bigger vent (most people who want a lightweight standalone tent from a reputable manufacturer will not use it in the rare atmosphere of the high Himalayas.)
Those long loose Veclro tabs must be replaced with a better precision design.
I do not recommend this product.
+20points
31of 42voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Direkt™ 2
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does the job

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
John17
Location: SLC, UT
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So when I was shopping around for a single wall, 4 season, lightweight alpine tent my choices were limited. I have used the BD I-Tent before and it performed well with no issues. However when I saw this tent and how much lighter it was and the materials used I thought why not give it a try. I would say that this tent is better than the BD single wall tents across the board. Stringer, lighter and rappels water better. The only thing i would say is that you really have to bend the poles to a point where you think they might snap. They won't or should I say haven't yet. Overall good tent and I plan on using it for the next couple of seasons.
I would recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Direkt™ 2
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A week in Colorado

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hillhog
Location: NY
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
Went camping a week in the Front range to climb the classics, so I stayed at with 2 camp grounds: Guanella and Longs Peak's. Rained everyday like clockwork at 2 pm. The tent behaved very well, but I had taken the extra precaution to rig a rainfly from an old scrap tent to make a vestibule and had the footpad too. Never was wet inside despite the torrents that somedays inundated the camps. Very easy to take on and off once you get a hold of it (I just put myself whole into it to attache the pole to the corners for ex). Very portable and sooo light!
I would recommend this product.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Direkt™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lightweight and Bomber!

PostedMay 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
samr
Location: California
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As advertised, this tent is incredibly compact and light, with no frills. I used it in single digit temps and wind gusts up to 60 mph, and it was bomber with no flapping- and I didn't even have the sides guyed out! As others have mentioned, there is no vestibule or much inside storage, so one has to plan accordingly.
I did find the pole system a bit of a challenge, but once I got the hang of it, it was very fast. Once it was set up, I was surprised at how much room there actually was inside. I'm 6 ft. tall and had no problem fitting inside with my pack and ski boots (in a large trash bag).
I would recommend this tent to anyone looking for a lightweight, strong, no frills shelter for use in an alpine environment.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Direkt™ 2
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very poor design!

PostedMay 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
TreeGuyPDX
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have 3 main concerns with this tent.
1. The design where the poles sit on the inside and are held in place with Velcro is the worst design I have ever come across. Getting the poles to sit just right is nearly impossible with high winds let alone the comfort of my living room floor! I ended up bending a pole on my first trip out with this tent trying to get them positioned into the Velcro.
2. The stakes are awful. Broke 2 stakes on the first trip out with this tent as well. I am no idiot and was not pounding them into rock, but rather clay soil. the top broke off of 2 of the steaks rendering them unusable!
3. I am coming from my last tent being the EV2 which was a far superior design and I had zero complaints with that tent, however the Direkt 2 was stripped down to make it lighter and smaller pack size which was appealing to me but way less functional and in my honest opinion not a tent you can in any way what so ever rely on for camping in any conditions worse then your living room.
Overall I think that Mountain Hardware really messed up on this one. They tried to do away with too many bells and whistles in order to simplify it and reduce weight and pack size. The unfortunate part is that they sacrificed the integrity of a product.
In final I would say 2 things to MH. give me the extra weight and size but make a sleeve for the poles to run through rather then having to be bending them and bowing them back and forth while the wind rips the tent apart as you try to get it set up. I can set up an EV2 in under a min. This tent easily takes double the time to set up if you can set it up at all. You might just end up like me. with a borken pole, broken stakes and no tent to sleep in!
Sorry MH but this is the worst product I have ever bought from you. And probably the biggest purchase regret I have made in years.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
8of 16voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ChrisV
Washington, DC
 
Please wait while more information about ChrisV is loaded.
Additional information about ChrisV could not be loaded.
A Few Things to Consider...
Posted May 26, 2012
A comprehensive review, but a few things to think about:
1. The "ball & socket" design is different, for sure. But, once familiar with the system & well practiced, it can be pitched in just a few minutes (much faster than a Trango and with many less steps).
2. Stakes aren't generally terribly helpful in a mountaineering / alpine climbing context (the purpose for which this tent was designed; not camping). It's easy enough to guy out the tent.
3. Stripped down features is exactly what the tent promises. No pockets, screens, extra pieces, or extra parts. For that, you get a tent that's barely over 2 lbs (less than even the "ultralite" backpacking tents MH sells). What you give up is some comfort, features, and bells & whistles (that may well be worth it for a longer expedition - or camping - trip).
For what it's worth, I've had the Direkt2 in high wind conditions - it performs great (super fast to set up; super bomber once it's properly set up).
But, as I mentioned in my review, it's not for everyone... you absolutely give up some comfort & features (in exchange for size & weight).
+13points
13of 13voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 10 for Direkt™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything It Claims To Be. And Nothing More.

PostedMay 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
ChrisV
Location: Washington, DC
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
SUMMARY:
This tent is everything everything is claims to be - and nothing that it doesn't. Which, depending on how you'll use it, is exactly what you want. It's crazy small, crazy light, and doesn't have any features that aren't absolutely essential. The result is a really solid minimalist tent that is perfect for alpine climbing.
TESTING:
I tried this tent out on Mt. Shasta's Casaval Ridge in April 2012. It was a nasty day - near freezing, very low visibility, and 40-50mph winds that were gusting up to 80+mph, and it was going between freezing rain & snow. We ended up digging a shelf in a 25-30 degree snow slope to hunker in for the night.
WHY I LOVE THIS TENT:
1. It's bomber. Even in really high winds, it was super solid. It's hard to believe something this light weight is this solid - it feels paper thin, but it's totally robust. We anchored it down well and never had any concerns at all - quite the contrary!
2. It's light (and small). It's astonishing that such a solid tent can be so tiny and small. It packs up super easy and is a pleasure to carry. Weighs practically nothing and packs up about as small as an expedition size puffy parka. The whole thing is about the size of a football!
3. It's easy (and fast) to pitch. It has two poles. They each lock into a "ball & socket" style clip. It's easy to get those in place (even in high wind) and then you just hop in the tent and connect the velcro ties, which do the rest. Even in bad conditions, we were pitched in less than 3-minutes.
4. It has a tiny footprint. In bad & exposed conditions, size matters. This thing is barely wider than two people and barely longer than a 6' person laying down. In other words, if you find yourself digging in (like we were), you'll be digging less - and spending more time out of the weather.
CONSIDERATIONS:
A few things to be mindful of.
1. It's not (at all) the Ritz. Two people fit inside (I'm 5'10", my climbing partner was 6'0"). But it's a snug fit. Perfectly cool for a night or two, but would get pretty crowded for a longer trip.
2. Limited Gear Storage. No vestibule for a pack, so everything is either in the tent with you or outside. Only one (minuscule) mesh pocket inside. So, in other words, no place to stash gear & no place to get your pack (and anything else) out of the elements. On a short trip, not a big deal - I use my pack as a pillow and my stuff sacks keep everything organized. But, it does make you rethink your tent organization routine.
LAST WORDS:
Buy it. It's awesome. ZERO regrets. Perfect tent for alpine, minimalist, and/or ultra-light trips. If you're looking for more creature comforts, the Trango is the way to go (and you'll pick up the extra weight because of it). So, it's all about how you'll use it - and what you care about. For me, it's rock solid and I can't wait for the next trip.
I would recommend this product.
+17points
19of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Direkt™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent tent for the weight

PostedApril 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
winterclimber
Location: California
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
If you're willing to make some sacrifices (space and some ventilation) this tent is insanely light and packable. I've used it now a few times in high winds, cold snow, wet snow and even cold rain and found that it held up well to most any weather. In order to achieve the low weight the tent has minimal ventilation (one overhead vent), which causes some moisture buildup on the inside (sort of unavoidable for a single wall tent). When properly guyed-out the tent will shed rain and despite the single wall the floor doesn't leak.
25 sq feet is pretty minimal for a two man tent but at 6'2" I was still able to comfortably stretch out in my bag and it doesn't feel too cramped even with two. Because there's no vestibule and minimal floor space its hard to find shelter to run a stove so melting snow outside the door in nasty weather is slow/difficult. I'd probably recommend a hanging stove system for any longer expeditions with anticipated nasty weather.
I also found that the internal pole system made setting it up in high wind (30-40 kts) a bit of a challenge as opposed to the EV2 or other external pole tents; but once put together and guyed-out it was bomber. I imagine though, in a tight bivy spot, the internal setup would be a great feature.
I expected this tent to be a glorified bivy with more headroom but really its a bomber minimal two person at under three pounds. I would definitely recommend this tent to anyone trying to shed pounds and save space in alpine or winter conditions.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Direkt™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for New England winter fast packing!

PostedMarch 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
basko
Location: Massachusetts
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
In the world of lightweight fast-packing, i've always hit a snag when looking for a solid, lightweight, winter shelter. It seems like tents designed for colder temps are also designed to withstand ridiculously high winds and snow loads, and are therefore built more burly, adding weight. What i really needed was a winterized, ultralight tent. The Direkt2 tent is ridiculously light, only a bit heavier than my bivy sack. What's most important, is that the tent can be sealed up tight to keep the cold air out. Headroom is surprisingly good. Construction and materials are top-notch. The interior floor space is very tight, but it's to be expected. 2 full size sleeping pads, side by side, take the the entire floor. 6- footers will definitely be hard pressed to fit in the Direkt 2. For winter ultra-lighters who don't mind sacrificing some space, this tent is awesome!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Direkt™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Tent

PostedMarch 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
DavidG
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I needed a light and compact tent for backpacking. Used the tent this weekend in low teens. Kept me warm and dry. Super easy setup and very well thought out. I love that it is long enough for a person as tall as 6'+ to fit comfortably (without sleeping at an angle). Super light. Well made and packs small. Great ventilation.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Direkt™ 2
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product
Too Small
4 / 7
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5