Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Hoopla™ 4

Mountain Hardwear Hoopla™ 4

Hoopla™ 4
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(6 reviews) 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 6 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
5 out of 6(83%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Hoopla™ 4
Review 1 for Hoopla™ 4
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Winter Cook Tent

PostedApril 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
PNWmountaineer
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have been using the Hoopla for a winter camping cook tent for two winters. Even though it is not as rugged as the Hoopster, it has held up to 60mph winds and heavy snow, and it is 3lbs lighter. We dig a booth and table down in the snow (see pictures) and then pitch the tent over it. We do get considerable condensation when cooking and boiling water, but that can't be avoided when producing that much steam inside a tent.
Overall this is a great option for a lightweight cook tent that seats up to 10 people.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hoopla™ 4
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Circus tent

PostedOctober 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wolf
Location: Adirondack, NY
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Actually a roomy 2 person tent.
No pole, then a 3 person.
2 lbs 16 ounces?
4 years of marketing at a college, why not say 3 lbs?
Needs a tub floor and half netting,
This price for just rip stop nylon and two poles?
Could be a little taller for this type of tent.
I would recommend this product.
-3points
5of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hoopla™ 4
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hoopla La!

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
nobody
Location: berkeley Cali
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Having extensively used the old Mt Hardwear Kiva, the newer Kiva , and the Black Diamond Megamid, I will say that the Hoopla is an excellent "pyramid" style tent (although it is not really a pyramid anymore now with the hoop).
First of all, let's address the previous reviewer's confusing about silnylon. Silnylon does stretch. But stretch does not equate with less durable. Having slept 150plus nights in silnylon tents under widely variable weather and temperature conditions I can attest to the durability of silnylon. Great tensile strength, perhaps not as puncture proof as heavier materials. Raising and lowering the center pole (aka hiking pole) is an easy way to adjust tension in the Hoopla.
As for setup, once the hoop is in place, staking is remarkably easy for a pyramid because the hoop and tent itself become the guides for proper stake placement.
Liveability? The hoop addresses the problem of lack of head room in a pyramid tent. There's not as much headroom as a domed tent, but it's not a dome tent. And it weighs less than 2.5 pounds for all that space inside. Space for 4 persons? in a pinch, yes, but tight. Three persons, ok. 2 persons, Yeh!
Weather? Silnylon doesn't breath so one has to know how to vent humidity. In a warm rain it is going to get damp in a Hoopla. Also if the door is closed and the sides staked low to the ground for windy cold weather it also could get damp. The green material is pleasant in sunny weather and not intrusive to the wilderness vistas, but is a bit dark for long term dreary weather.
Wind? Does great from every direction. The hoop makes a huge difference in terms of stability. when I first got this tent I set it up in a big storm and watch the wind try to thrash it. The Hoopla stood up well. Like any tent, staking is important.
Floor? I have but don't use the optional floor. Without the floor, I can pitch the Hoopla's big footprint over rocks or stumps. I can walk into the tent in my shoes. I can cook (a NO-NO in a tent, especially a silnylon tent! Don't do it!). I just use a ground cloth under my sleeping bag.
Room for improvement? Yes. I'd like to see a door screen and an optional perimeter screen for buggy places.
Because the Hoopla does not come with a center pole, one uses a hiking pole that can adjust to 50 inches. For those of us who use fixed hiking poles, 50 inches is long. There is no optional center pole. I would like this option.
Overall, an innovative design in a lightweight weather worthy and liveable tent. Spacious for two persons. Great for someone camping with a dog. Obviously there is a learning curve for campers not familiar with silnylon's stretch. I will be retiring my Mountain Hardwear Kiva.
I would recommend this product.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hoopla™ 4
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Hoopla 4 not quite there

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
MountainGuy
Location: Fremont, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The Hoopla 4 is a very cool tent. The interior space is light and airy, and offers excellent sitting space for four people. The tent offers comfortable sleeping for two people. (Four is a real stretch.)
Unfortunately, the Hoopla 4 is not as durable as I would expect from Mountain Hardwear. The Sil-Nylon fabric responds dynamically to changes in temperature and humidity, and on the second day of use I had to repair a panel between the hoop and the center pole because the fabric had partially ruptured from being stretched due to exposure to the sun. The stretchiness of the tent fabric also makes maintaining a proper pitch very difficult, and on uneven ground, all 12 stakes are necessary to achieve a proper pitch.
Overall, I like the design of the tent very much, although the door could be improved. However, without further refinement, I would not use this tent as my primary shelter in anything but the most benign conditions.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hoopla™ 4
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Is floor included?

PostedApril 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
marti124
Location: Delmar NY
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
The specs says "Optional floor footprint." Sometimes the footprint sheet of fabric that is a protection for the floor, not the floor itself. Wonder what is the case here?
I would recommend this product.
-19points
0of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
MHWDude
 
Please wait while more information about MHWDude is loaded.
Additional information about MHWDude could not be loaded.
Optional Footprint
Posted May 21, 2012
This is an ultra-light floorless shelter. The footprint is sold seperately and serves as the floor by mating tightly to the fly.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
Brockolli
Portland, OR
 
Please wait while more information about Brockolli is loaded.
Additional information about Brockolli could not be loaded.
Floor not included
Posted April 26, 2012
Think of it like a more enclosed tarp-like tent. There's no floor with the tent, you can buy the floor in the acessories section on this webpage.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
ambfitz
Western,KY
 
Please wait while more information about ambfitz is loaded.
Additional information about ambfitz could not be loaded.
Floor Response
Posted April 8, 2012
The floor is completely seperate. Looked at this setup yesterday at my local outdoor shop and fell head over heels. Can't wait to purchase!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (3)
Read comments (3)
Ratings-only reviews for Hoopla™ 4
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product
Too Small
4 / 7
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5