Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Skyledge™ 2 DP

Mountain Hardwear Skyledge™ 2 DP

Skyledge™ 2 DP
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
14 out of 14(100%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Skyledge™ 2 DP
Review 1 for Skyledge™ 2 DP
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent tent design

PostedMarch 23, 2016
Customer Avatar
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this tent for week-long backpacks with my spouse. So, we wanted a 2-person and very lightweight tent with 2 entrances. We hate crawling over each other when we gotta get up in the middle of the night. This tent filled the bill. It takes a little time to get used to because of the pole-anchoring devices. But once you have that down, the tent goes up fast. I've had a lot of tents over the years, and my biggest complaint has been with a lightweight tent's no-seeum netting coming in contact with the fly. The netting would almost always come to touch the fly wall at some point during the night to cause condensation on the inside of the fly to drip down on the occupant. Not so with this tent. The designer has taken care so that the mesh inner wall stays tight and away from the fly. Reliable and dry shelter, and tight in the wind.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Skyledge™ 2 DP
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tent, though cozy

PostedOctober 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I have had this tent for two years now. I have spent the better part of 30 nights in it. I love it.
There are a few quirks to the tent that take time to get use to, but after a few nights you will get use to them. One of the main ones is getting the sides right. The head wall and foot wall are different sizes, so make sure to set up the footprint, tent, and rain-fly all oriented in the correct direction. Not difficult but common mistake.
I primarily use it as a very roomy one person tent. It is light enough to fill this roll well. I am 6 foot and can sit up easily in the tent and have no problem fitting laying down. If you are seeking protections from bugs, you will more than likely not feel cluster phobic at all in the tent.
The air circulation in the tent wonderful. If you zip up the fly fully it cuts down any wind, not tent flapping either (maybe in really high winds there might be a little but nothing yet for myself). On hot nights adjusting the vestibules you can always find some air movement.
With two people it is cozy, but if you don't have a ton of gear, their is plenty of space in the vestibules of everything. If you like bringing everything and the kitchen sink, this tent might not be for you.
Honestly there is very little that I can see as a downside to the tent. I have yet to have any problems with it. After two years, I really dont expect to find anything new.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Skyledge™ 2 DP
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tent SMALL INSIDE

PostedSeptember 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Sherwood, OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I just wanted to provide some input to those sitting on the fence regarding this tent. First off yes I share the concerns regarding all of the plastic clips but otherwise this tent rocks! Beware it is 27 SqFt inside the same area size as the ultralight so you will be Very snug. My wife and I bought it set it up on the living room floor crawled inside and in about 2 minutes said we are getting the Skyledge 3P. No real extra room what so ever for gear, getting dressed, or hanging out in. If ALL you want to do is sleep in it then go for it. However; I would feel cramped if I had to ride out a major storm or serious rainy day inside. As a solo tent it would be the absolute best, for a couple I think it is still a little too snug for our liking. Hopefully this will help those head scratching about will it be big enough for a couple. Happy Trails
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Skyledge™ 2 DP
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

well done

PostedAugust 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Sierra Nevada
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great tent, that is well built and spacious for the weight. Of course it is tight for 2 people but that is what you signed up for with an ultralight tent. The extra pole across the top sure makes more head and shoulder space while not adding much weight. Love it
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Skyledge™ 2 DP
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tent

PostedAugust 7, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: San Francisco CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I think this is an excellent tent and I have had 6 tents. All widely used and abused. Great engineering. I am writing primarily to address the Dry Pitch feature. You must realize that the Jakes feet can be removed from the tent body and then used with the poles, fly and footprint for DP. The hooks attached to the MH supplied footprint attach to the Jakes feet. Not evident in the instructional videos.
SF...Lynne
I would recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Skyledge™ 2 DP
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good expedition-length summer tent

PostedJune 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Yosemite
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My only concern is how long the plastic will last. The rest I really like, the design, the way the fly is spread out above the tent doors, etc.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Skyledge™ 2 DP
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Generally fine

PostedMay 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Bay Area, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I think I have a slightly older version. The tent is well-made and functional. I like the lightweight materials.
To me, it's seriously small for 2 people. I'm 5'6", average build, and my 5'3" petite friend also said it was small.
The 4-star rating is due to two things:
* The cross pole for the vestibule doesn't sit well in the reinforced areas of the vestibule.
* Something is forcing the floor of the tent to pull up, causing the usable floorspace to be even smaller.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Skyledge™ 2 DP
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tent

PostedMay 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had this tent for one season and it has worked great. I have used it with the trips I lead and on personal trips, going into my second season with it, I love it. This tent, though a two person, does not have many draw backs as a one person tent. Since it is so light and as a trip leader the extra room is nice for the extra gear, I could not think of a better tent.
As a one person tent, I can set it up very fast and with little hassle by myself. The only thing that messes with set up is that one side is a bit longer than the other so make sure to get everything the right way round so the fly doesnt flap all night. Easy to do once you know what to look for.
I have only used it as a two person tent a few times. It still does its job great, but know it is very cozy. Still a great tent but make sure not to have too much gear. there is not much space in the wings and very little in the tent with you. There is plenty of space but not a ton.
The zippers are holding up great, no signs of any problems in the near future. Fly is still perfectly water proof. Stake wires are well designed and work wonderfully. The special corner pole hokes work great, and are holding up great. Honestly, I have yet to have a major problem with the tent.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Skyledge™ 2 DP
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy set up and functional

PostedMarch 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Bitterroot Valley, MT
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My wife and I took this tent on a 9 day trip into the Beartooth Wilderness in MT. A lot of this trip was around 9,000 plus feet with wind. Tent was fast to put up and when staked withstood wind, rain and snow. The double vestibule is a great feature as the tent is "snug" but fine for a couple and 2 Boston Terriers. The vestibule and double entrance made it easy for us to be comfortable. Great product and easy to carry. With stakes, no bag and a groundcloth it is 3lbs 15 oz. Best tent I have used of the 7 or 8 backpack tents we have owned.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Skyledge™ 2 DP
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tent

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Location: Northern California
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
User submitted photo
I used this tent as a single person sleeper on a 3 day 26 mile trip. It was light and provided very good coverage for my gear and food while I was exploring and fishing. Even though there was moisture in the air the tent did not gather condensation by touch or naturally. The tent stayed dry and comfortable. I am 6 feet tall and my inclination is that this would be a tight fit with two adult males but, perfect for a 1 adult and 1 child or a couple. (Note*:I prefer more room vs a single person.) The zippers worked perfectly in a dusty and small pebble environment. It has two small diamond holes at each end to stare at the stars at night if you keep the canopy on at night. The fine but, strong netting keeps all bugs out.
I used an REI extra long pad. My pack weighed in at 65lbs. The tent is light and packs up compactly. Very durable and my tent was the first one set up out of a team of 5 with no rushing or racing. It was simple, comfortable easy to set up. I give this a great rating and hats off to the engineers at Mt. Hardware I could tell they put great thought into the design and durability of the light fabric they chose. I was very impressed. Fully set up pic attached.
I would recommend this product.
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Skyledge™ 2 DP
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Home Away From Home

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Location: Oregon
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This tent is legit! I bought it so I could be free to camp anywhere, at any time. My first trip with it was to Glacier N.P. in Montana and Banff N.P. in British Columbia, and it was fabulous. My brother and I shared it, and although it was a bit small for the two of us (we're both 5'8", 190 lbs), we're brothers and it was fine.
I typically use this alone so it's perfect. Sets up really easy, is very durable, and as light as I could imagine a tent being.
It blends in with the natural scenery well so I don't feel I'm broadcasting my location, and it's an all around gem. I'm taking it out in the rain and up to the snow next week, so we'll see how she handles, but I'm confident it will be amazing.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Skyledge™ 2 DP
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Functional and Light Weight

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Location: Wichita, KS
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought the tent for bicycle camping so needed the lightest and sturdiest tent available. This tent fits the bill. Camped in 15+ mph winds and had NO problems. Love the double doors. My significant other and I are small enough that the 2 man was perfect. It is small so if you're a large person I would recommend the 3 man for two people. I would have given Quality an Excellent but having only used the tent once doesn't tell me the construction will hold up over time.
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Skyledge™ 2 DP
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Location: Cimarron, New Mexico
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great well put together tent. The rain fly is so very thin I'm afraid it might tare, but it's light weigh. The tent is warm and is a awesome shelter. The tent is so warm the rain fly builds up a lot of perspiration on the inside when I wake up in the mornings. I used it for a month backpacking as a Ranger at Philmont Scout Ranch and i love the tent and will be using it on the AT in 2013. I needed a tent to help me hike it and this was my choice.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Skyledge™ 2 DP
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great tent

PostedJuly 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Location: Arizona
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
I purchased this tent to use at work. I go out on wildland fires which requires me to camp out a lot. My previous tent was a Kelty Cosmos which was 10+ years old. I like this tent more because it offers two doors on the tent and fly. The fly can be set up without the tent or first if its raining.
For work I need something small and light this fits the bill. It's a two person tent which would be snug if it was to be used that way but for hiking and back country it would be efficient.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Skyledge™ 2 DP
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super comfy 1-person tent

PostedJune 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Location: California
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought it as a 1-person tent. It's a 2-person tent only if the occupants are skinny enough and friendly enough. That aside, this is a fabulous tent. Well made, and super light for its size. It has large vestibules on both sides, so there's plenty of room to keep your wet stuff out and still protect it. (The flip side to that is that you can't pitch it in a super-confined space. It looks almost like a VE-25 after the fly is staked out.)
I run a wilderness program, and provide the 3-person version of this tent for our leaders. (They use it in twos, not threes.) Almost everyone of them wants to buy that tent on our pro deal as soon as they get back. That speaks volumes for the quality, weight, and comfort of Skyledge tents.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.