Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Drifter™ 2 DP

Mountain Hardwear Drifter™ 2 DP

Drifter™ 2 DP
Overall rating:
3.5 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
5 out of 7(71%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Drifter™ 2 DP
Review 1 for Drifter™ 2 DP
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Fit, Great extras

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
dggurr
Location: SLC, UT
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
I recently bought the dp2 to be a car camping tent for my girlfriend and I. We were using my lightpath2 before and found it to be a tight fit. The DP2 was roomy and breathe-able while still keeping the heat in.
When I opened the box i was pleasantly surprised to find the tent came with a footprint.
The new pole design with the plastic clip and swivel (Don't know the correct techy terms) was simple and strong.
The tent is on the heavy side and doesn't pack too small so i wouldn't use it for a backpacking tent, but for quick trips to the forest or the desert this is my new favorite shelter.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Drifter™ 2 DP
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
joe32
Location: oregon
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent tent for all weather conditions and very durable. I have been using the drifter 2 for three years of hard use and haven't had any problems with leakage or breaking. The 2 person rating of this tent is a little ambitious, it would be a tight fit for two but excellent space for one camper.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Drifter™ 2 DP
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product is really bad

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
skid
Location: Oregon
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The bottom gets wet from the ground. The tent was dripping wet on the inside. There is no way to open the tent without water pouring inside. There is to many pieces to snap together or break. I am sending this tent back.
I do not recommend this product.
-16points
1of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Drifter™ 2 DP
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A heavier backpacking tent but its worth it for the features.

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
MEOW
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very high quality material, the tent is a little heavy for backpacking but its worth the extra load for all the room you have inside for two people. The double doors and double vestibules makes this tent much higher on my list compared to the other 2 person tents and it's comfortable even when sleeping with someone you don't want to sleep next to. I went through a thunderstorm in this and there was no moisture in the tent and it held very strong against the winds that night.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Drifter™ 2 DP
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

2 man Drifter OK for Me!

PostedMay 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Crystal
Location: OH CANADA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I purchased this tent sold on the dry pitch , light pitch and waterproof guarantee. I also made a confident purchase knowing there is the mountain hardware lifetime guarantee .
This tent is good for me an average sized female + 1.
My only problem is the condensation buildup inside. Yes it is dry until your sleeping bag or anything else touches the walls of the tent and then theres mega condensation happening.
The first night I used it at Berglake, temp of 0 to -1 and light rain. I woke up with cold feet because my sleeping bag was wet on the foot area. My sleeping bag was also wet on the top part where my head obviously touched, which also got my sleeping pad wet! Anyway I survived and am confident there is a solution to this condensation issue.
I am thinking about selling this tent to get a lighter one it is too heavy to take backpacking and we have to much technology now for this to be ok (for me )
The Zipper always catches the material on the fly- kind of annoying, and my tent pegs bent when I applied light pressure with my foot to peg it in the ground, it should stand this because who brings a rubber mallet 21 Km into the woods, seriously !
Happy Camping!
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Drifter™ 2 DP
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

2 problems with the drifter

PostedMay 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
chas
Location: Homer, AK/ Darby, MT
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I didn't feel I could trust the ball - in - socket tent pole end attachment - and also the hooky grabber fly nylon deal look like something I would break under adverse conditions.
The other reason I sent the tent back is that I am a tall person and there is no guy line attachment point for the fly at either the head or the foot.
Thanks for refunding my purchase price though.
chas
I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Drifter™ 2 DP
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Decent 2 person tent

PostedApril 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Charles
Location: Cambridge, MA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This tent is fairly easy to setup with just two poles that are attached. It is also pretty modular with different options for fly, ground tarp and tent combinations. The connector at the corners has a clip for the ground tarp and a buckle for the fly along with a hole for the tent poles. Everything fits together nicely, though I would worry that the plastic solution may not be beefy enough for extended abuse.
Also note that the width of the tent is pretty small making it fairly cozy for two larger people.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Drifter™ 2 DP
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good basic tent

PostedApril 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
avidcamper1
Location: northern california
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a perfect 2 man tent for many uses. Holds up in the rain. Easy set up. Vestibules big enough for your gear.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.