Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Drifter™ 2 DP

Mountain Hardwear Drifter™ 2 DP

Drifter™ 2 DP
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
10 out of 12(83%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Drifter™ 2 DP
Review 1 for Drifter™ 2 DP
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drifter 2 DP

PostedAugust 28, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Virginia
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this tent over a year ago and have since used it on two camping and backpacking trips of 6 and 9 days duration, respectively, in very wet conditions. The main thing I want my tent to do is to keep me dry, and the Drifter 2 DP has done this admirably. I have not had a single drop of rain penetrate the tent in even the hardest downpours.
For backpacking purposes, this is not the lightest tent around, but it's 13 ounces lighter than my previous backpacking tent, so that's an improvement. I find one-man tents to be too confining for my tastes, so I went with the Drifter 2 and have found it to be very spacious for my needs. I can spread gear out all over the tent and still have plenty of room for my sleeping bag and full size pad. I can also sit upright in the middle of this tent without bumping into the fabric (I'm 5'11'') and that's very nice, too.
The dual doors and dual vestibules are very nice to have as well. The vestibule is big enough to cover my big (84-liter) pack when it's laying flat beside the tent, and then I can use the other side for ingress and egress. All-in-all, a very nice setup.
Despite all the rain, I haven't had to do a dry-pitch yet. It seems like that might take a little practice to avoid getting the main body of the tent wet, but it would definitely be better than having to pitch the tent first and then cover it with the fly.
My only (minor) complaint with this tent is the attachment points for the fly. I find them a bit difficult to snap into place, particularly with cold or wet fingers, but once they're snapped in, they stay put.
I bought a Drifter 3 for my daughter a few years back and it is also a very nice tent, perfect for two people to share on a backpacking trip, and as many as three or maybe even 4 in a pinch.
I'd love to see MH come out with a 1.5-person version of this tent (with the same headroom and at least one vestibule the same size), but the Drifter 2 is working great for me. If you're looking for a really lightweight tent, though, you'll want to consider other options and probably spend more money.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Drifter™ 2 DP
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Alaskan Camper

PostedMay 31, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Juneau Alaska
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Drifter 2 is just right for my needs here in Ak. It's very warm dry and light enough to pack.The pole system is very quick and easy to set up.Great tent for the money!
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Drifter™ 2 DP
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kept us dry!!

PostedMarch 17, 2015
Customer Avatar
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It rained every day on our Alaska float trip. This tent kept us dry through to the end. Easy setup, takedown and storing. Two years, at roughly 30 nights/ year, in this tent and I will buy another when it comes time.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Drifter™ 2 DP
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Value without a lot of weight

PostedMarch 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am 6'6" and was looking for a shelter big enough for me and my gear to explore the Cascades and Coast ranges in my beloved PNW. Drifter 2DP fit my requirements. After a 1/2 dozen nights in various climate conditions I feel my experience qualifies the following :
PROS: Great build quality. Easy to pitch/strike. Dry in heavy rain. Warm for a 3 season shelter. A lot of tent for the weight/money. Vestibules are great dry storage areas. Design/engineering is very obviously well thought-out and executed, and that makes for durability and ease of use.
CONS: A bit narrow for a person my size and a second, unless the second person is family or a person you don't mind close physical proximity (sharing a 2 person tent pretty much implies the above anyway). Tent floor and footprint "spots" from wet areas, but does not leak through - spots disappear when hanging to dry. Mild condensation buildup, especially with two people, but not to the extent of getting bags/gear wet.
I used this tent in weather ranging from all night and day deluge, to lakeside camping at -25 degrees C and felt consistently comfortable and dry. Extremely good value for an entry-level item. Since I am a larger size person, and not a technical climber/mountaineer, the small amount of extra weight is insignificant for my backpacking needs.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Drifter™ 2 DP
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love this tent

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Birmingham
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I rented this tent last year, and it rained, and rained and rained! I stayed absolutely dry. I decide right then, that is the next tent I buy. Little heavy for backpacking, but if there is a chance of rain...Im hauling it! I'll hammock the other times. Got it for Christmas, and I took it out this weekend. STRONG wind. Stayed cozy. Good job guys.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Drifter™ 2 DP
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Fit, Great extras

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Location: SLC, UT
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
I recently bought the dp2 to be a car camping tent for my girlfriend and I. We were using my lightpath2 before and found it to be a tight fit. The DP2 was roomy and breathe-able while still keeping the heat in.
When I opened the box i was pleasantly surprised to find the tent came with a footprint.
The new pole design with the plastic clip and swivel (Don't know the correct techy terms) was simple and strong.
The tent is on the heavy side and doesn't pack too small so i wouldn't use it for a backpacking tent, but for quick trips to the forest or the desert this is my new favorite shelter.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Drifter™ 2 DP
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Location: oregon
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent tent for all weather conditions and very durable. I have been using the drifter 2 for three years of hard use and haven't had any problems with leakage or breaking. The 2 person rating of this tent is a little ambitious, it would be a tight fit for two but excellent space for one camper.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Drifter™ 2 DP
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product is really bad

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Location: Oregon
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The bottom gets wet from the ground. The tent was dripping wet on the inside. There is no way to open the tent without water pouring inside. There is to many pieces to snap together or break. I am sending this tent back.
I do not recommend this product.
-43points
1of 45voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Drifter™ 2 DP
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A heavier backpacking tent but its worth it for the features.

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very high quality material, the tent is a little heavy for backpacking but its worth the extra load for all the room you have inside for two people. The double doors and double vestibules makes this tent much higher on my list compared to the other 2 person tents and it's comfortable even when sleeping with someone you don't want to sleep next to. I went through a thunderstorm in this and there was no moisture in the tent and it held very strong against the winds that night.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Drifter™ 2 DP
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

2 man Drifter OK for Me!

PostedMay 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Location: OH CANADA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I purchased this tent sold on the dry pitch , light pitch and waterproof guarantee. I also made a confident purchase knowing there is the mountain hardware lifetime guarantee .
This tent is good for me an average sized female + 1.
My only problem is the condensation buildup inside. Yes it is dry until your sleeping bag or anything else touches the walls of the tent and then theres mega condensation happening.
The first night I used it at Berglake, temp of 0 to -1 and light rain. I woke up with cold feet because my sleeping bag was wet on the foot area. My sleeping bag was also wet on the top part where my head obviously touched, which also got my sleeping pad wet! Anyway I survived and am confident there is a solution to this condensation issue.
I am thinking about selling this tent to get a lighter one it is too heavy to take backpacking and we have to much technology now for this to be ok (for me )
The Zipper always catches the material on the fly- kind of annoying, and my tent pegs bent when I applied light pressure with my foot to peg it in the ground, it should stand this because who brings a rubber mallet 21 Km into the woods, seriously !
Happy Camping!
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Drifter™ 2 DP
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

2 problems with the drifter

PostedMay 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Location: Homer, AK/ Darby, MT
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I didn't feel I could trust the ball - in - socket tent pole end attachment - and also the hooky grabber fly nylon deal look like something I would break under adverse conditions.
The other reason I sent the tent back is that I am a tall person and there is no guy line attachment point for the fly at either the head or the foot.
Thanks for refunding my purchase price though.
chas
I do not recommend this product.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Drifter™ 2 DP
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Decent 2 person tent

PostedApril 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Location: Cambridge, MA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This tent is fairly easy to setup with just two poles that are attached. It is also pretty modular with different options for fly, ground tarp and tent combinations. The connector at the corners has a clip for the ground tarp and a buckle for the fly along with a hole for the tent poles. Everything fits together nicely, though I would worry that the plastic solution may not be beefy enough for extended abuse.
Also note that the width of the tent is pretty small making it fairly cozy for two larger people.
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Drifter™ 2 DP
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good basic tent

PostedApril 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Location: northern california
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a perfect 2 man tent for many uses. Holds up in the rain. Easy set up. Vestibules big enough for your gear.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.