Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Drifter™ 3 DP

Mountain Hardwear Drifter™ 3 DP

Drifter™ 3 DP
Overall rating:
4.857 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(7 reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 7 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
6 out of 7(86%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Drifter™ 3 DP
Review 1 for Drifter™ 3 DP
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing.

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Hikeallday
Location: Mount Hood
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
This tent is the best xmas present I've ever bought for myself. I've used it over a dozen times since last christmas. I just came back from an epic trip up mt. adams with it. I was a little scared that it wouldn't hold up with the winds but this guy was a champ. It's a little heavy and big but I normally carry it and have my roommates for the night carry my food to distribute the weight. I had 4 guys and a girl sitting crisscross and playing cards in it. I wouldn't bring this if I were traveling solo. I got caught in a serious downpour and lighting storm while hiking through steens mtns and this thing held up great. It barely shook from the winds and I was dry as a bone when I woke up. You'd be a fool to not get this tent!
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Drifter™ 3 DP
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ideal tent - at least under ideal conditions!

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
miacomet
Location: Graham, WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
We bought the Drifter 3P backpacking tent for our first family backpacking trip. I've backpacked on and off for 23 years, but this would a first for my husband and 6 y/o. My Marmot 1P wasn't quite going to cut it. :) We literally picked it up from UPS the day we were leaving, set it up quickly at home to make sure there weren't any major flaws, and hit the trail. Set up couldn't be easier. Even my 6 y/o could do it. Three air mattresses fit easily abreast with our 80lb dog at our feet. While definitely snug, there was still room left over for clothes, etc. stashed at our heads and feet, and the gear loft works great for stuff sacks, cameras, headlamps, etc. We left our packs outside and hung our food, so we found no space issues. The sides of the tent start to taper quite a bit, so the outside people (naturally the two larger adults in our case!) have some minor space restrictions, but I wouldn't consider it a 'negative'. We never used the rainfly so I can't speak to that and the weather was quite dry. But we enjoyed gorgeous views of Mt. Adams and starry skies through the open mesh design. The two doors were very helpful. All in all, we couldn't be much happier with our purchase and would highly recommend. Granted we were in as ideal conditions as it gets, can't speak to how it would hold up under adverse conditions, but I would guess it would be just fine.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Drifter™ 3 DP
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AT tested

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
KellyT
Location: Hong Kong
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just had a quick trip to Clingmans dome on the AT. snow on the ground and a windy night was not problem. Did take me a bit more time to put it up in the cold but that was just because I went the DP way (thinking I would eliminate any chance of a rain downpour.) Kept us warm and dry....plenty of space for 2 people with all our gear inside.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Drifter™ 3 DP
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quality tent, fly still alows condensation through

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
JGFF973
Location: PA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Drifter 3 is a quality mid sized tent that could sleep three if needed. There are many design features that are well thought out, with durability incorporated into everything. The fly covers the tent well and is easy to secure in wind; however, while camping with high humidity recoveries the fly would allow condensation through to make the tent wet in the morning. I did not apply any waterproofing to the fly and did not keep the fly away from the tent; so those factors may have contributed to my problem. Otherwise I would recommend this tent to anyone looking for a tent of similar size and price range.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
pulaski
Sedro-Woolley, WA
 
Please wait while more information about pulaski is loaded.
Additional information about pulaski could not be loaded.
Condensation doesn't come from outside
Posted June 4, 2014
It comes from inside your tent and is a function of the interior of your tent being warmer than the exterior. Same process that makes condensation build up on the outside of a cold soda can in a humid environment.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 5 for Drifter™ 3 DP
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for wildland fire fighting

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
PyroCumulus
Location: Pennsylvania
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After years of use with the 60 second tent I was reluctant to use any other tent for Wildland firefighting, but with the weight restriction it was getting harder to justify taking a 9 pound tent in my pack. I did a lot of looking and when I found this tent I was thrilled. It had everything I was looking for. Fly that goes all the way to the ground, a footprint that attaches to the tent, and two vestibules, plus it is right around 5ish pounds. I just returned from assignment with it and it was perfect. We had a lot of wind and with its low ceiling I did not need to worry about it blowing over. The only thing that I would say would make this a little better is the clips that hold the fly and the footprint to the tent are plastic and it seems like with a lot of put up and take down that they may break. It is not an issue yet but could be in the distant future. Love the tent would recommend it to anyone on a fire.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Drifter™ 3 DP
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tent--roomier than it looks!

PostedAugust 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Hacksaw34
Location: Vancouver, WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I initially avoided this tent as it appeared to be too small for a 3 man tent. A local store had it set up so I ventured inside. The tent still looked too small, but I was surprised by the room--especially the length. I am around six feet and in typical dome tents, (84x84 inches) my head and feet always seems to hit the walls of the tent when laying on my back. This tent had plenty of length and neither my feet or head touched the tent sides. Fly tighteners super easy and reflective material helped with our dusk/night set up. I had the footprint upside down initially, a little hard to see the black footprint/ pole connectors in the dark. Reflective material on the plastic corner connectors would be a great help. Can't wait to test it out in a rain storm...
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Drifter™ 3 DP
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Takes a beating in a downpour...

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
ColoradoGal
Location: Denver, CO
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After lots of research and reading of reviews we finally purchased the MH Drifter 3P Tent 2012 model with footprint. We just took it camping for the first time at Great Sand Dunes National Park this past weekend and it was a comfortable fit for two adults with sleeping pads (and would only fit three people if two of them were dwarves and the third a small child). At 99 in. x 66 in., it is on the longer side of tents, making it a good fit for two tall individuals such as ourselves. It downpoured much of the time we were there and we even had to set up the tent in the rain. Luckily, it was extremely straightforward and took not even 5 minutes. The tent held up perfectly, both staying stable in the wind and keeping us dry all night, and the mesh screen of the tent allowed for excellent ventilation in the heavy rain. The interior pockets also proved to be very useful for keeping my husband's glasses and a flashlight. So far we are very pleased with our purchase!
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.