Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear SuperMegaUL™ 1

Mountain Hardwear SuperMegaUL™ 1

Our lightest 1-person backpacking tent. Truly free standing, with integrated vestibule. An ultra lightweight and compact tent for fast packing, cycling and other extremely space- and weight-sensitive trips.
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
6 out of 8(75%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for SuperMegaUL™ 1
Review 1 for SuperMegaUL™ 1
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Zenith of Solo Tents

PostedFebruary 20, 2016
Customer Avatar
Location: Texas
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I started solo backpacking in the late 70s and early 80s, back when Todd Bibler was hand-sewing his I-tents in his garage (sold my first car to buy one), Bob Smith was making dog packs the same way, Ken Robertson of Robertson Synergy Harness was hand crafting the virtually unobtainable x-frame packs, MSR was a tiny start up, Chouinard Equipment had not been sued by stupid attorneys that could not follow simple climbing supervision protocols, and Woody Keen was hand sewing his harnesses. Used all this gear, lots..... All this stuff worked great, and there was nothing else like it at the time. Flash forward a few years and I was an AMGA guide and working for WEA and Outward Bound, leading 30 plus day outdoor leadership trips all over the USA, using the the Black Diamond Mega Mid, and wearing them out almost every season guiding. The times have changed, and we have come along way from when Paul Petzoldt was having to make niche gear in Driggs, but it is good to know that there are companies still making specialty equipment, like the 'SuperMega UL1.' Not sure if I like the name, can't really remember it without looking back at the advertisement, but I just call it the the 'Back Shack', because it is really only big enough to lay down on your back, and that's about it. And that's cool because that is all I want it to do. I could not squeeze a Malamute inside if my life depended on it (which you could do with an I tent), but that's okay too. If you are looking for the lightest weight system out there, you might be able to shave a few ounces with a trekker pole solo tent, but once you start adding netting and steaks and floor savers, you are right back in the ball park with this tent. Price is right, and set up is as described, free standing fly. The pitch light floor needs to be modded to truly work well with the design, but that just means you have to add some grommets of your own on the webbing, which should be easy enough for most of you folks.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SuperMegaUL™ 1
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bomber tent, a bit short.

PostedOctober 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Bay Area, CA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This tent has served me very well in peak, shoulder, and winter seasons. The quality of this tent is truly bomber. Really well taped seams on the tent floor. The tarp only setup works great, and is IMHO often preferable to the full pitch. The only problem with this tent is that it's a bit short for a 6' + tall person like myself. I compared this against the Fly Creek UL1 (which I also own), and I seems a bit more durable in general. With 5 MSR groundhog stakes, plus the optional groundsheet (which is required for the tarp only setup), my tent setup weighs 2 lbs. 7 oz. Note: the tent stakes that were included with my UL1 were worthless (hence the groundhog stakes). MH – if you haven't stopped including those incredibly weak stakes, please do so now. They are really out of character with the bomber-ness of this tent.
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SuperMegaUL™ 1
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great Quality, Ease of Use, to Small

PostedJuly 30, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Portland, Oregon
Experience: Avid
Too Small
Too Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Mega1 has been built with quality and is very easy to setup and take down. Very light and compact. I would recommend it for people who are 5'9" or shorter and very flexible. I am 6"1" and barely fit into it and have a hard time getting in and out of it. Not possible for me to change clothes in it. I would recommend you get the Mega2 like a friend of mine has, much roomier and has some head room.
I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SuperMegaUL™ 1
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

average tent

PostedJuly 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Boise, ID
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The material is very light. I've only used this product on one backpacking trip, though I question the durability of the material. Time will tell. Several tent stakes bent on the first outing. I'm 6'1" and the tent is too short for me. The weight was nice, but the durability remains a huge question considering the cost. I would not recommend this tent because of the limited space. For an additional two pounds but much more comfort, I'll go back to using my 15-year-old 1-person tent.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SuperMegaUL™ 1
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My saviour

PostedJuly 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: San Francisco
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was hiking PCT to join JMT when it started to rain. Nothing to prevent hiking with proper gear. All of a sudden at 5 pm temperature dropped by 15 degrees and wind picked up to 20 to 30 miles per hour. The storm is coming. I was hiking for about 2 hours on the crest of the mountain above tree line just about go to the other side when I met PCT hiker going the other way. He told me that it's much worst on the other side. I had to find camp quick! There was nothing but open side of the mountain with no wind protection. Even with howling winds and rain, it took me only 3 minutes to pitch my tent on the granite surface. And then things got really dicey. Wind picked up to 60 mph.
My 2 pound 1 person tent was in one minute pressed against my face from both direction and in next second was a huge sail. I thought I had met my maker and will be blown off the mountain but then I decided to see what Mountain Hardware engineers designed.
I relaxed and just watched the show.
The tent was holding just fine until I fell asleep.
Next morning I woke up and my tent was still standing unbent and unbroken!
I would recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SuperMegaUL™ 1
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very lightweight and quick to set up

PostedJune 17, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: San Diego, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
The tent poles practically put themselves together from the moment I start to unravel them from the bag it's awesome!! And the tent is extremely lightweight I'm impressed because it adds so little weight to my pack but it is a tad lengthy and I have to be careful with how it gets placed in my pack, I almost wish it were sized to fit in a bear vault for shorter outings.
I must point out though that I spent one night where it snowed all the way through early morning and I found a few sprinkles of ice on my bag. It might have been the way I set it up or that it truly is three season. Nevertheless this thing is my baby beast and for being a feathery light tent it is a spacious one person shelter in the wild.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SuperMegaUL™ 1
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great tent

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Location: Dallas, TX
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this tent in an attempt to really lighten my gear as much as possible. As far as weight goes, I dont think there is another tent on the market that offers what this tent does for its sub 2 lbs. weight. I have always used a 2 person tent for camping/hiking just so I can have a lot of stuff within reach at night. This tent leaves enough room at the head of the tent to have a few things with you inside, but its by no means spacious. My only knocks on the tent were the steaks are pretty weak, the vestibule area is exposed to the ground (i wish the footprint covered the vestibule area) and its really awkward getting in and out with the rain fly on. I felt like I had to plank to get in and out without messing up the door/rain fly area, so I think that could be improved. My tent also came with a small hole in the mesh, but customer service exchanged it promptly. The only thing keeping me from giving it 5 stars is the entry/exit issue I had (which really wasnt a huge problem....just awkward).
I would recommend this product.
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SuperMegaUL™ 1
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great 1 person tent

PostedJune 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Location: Tucson, Az
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really do love his tent. I bought it for use during my thru hike in the Arizona Trail next March, and I have been using it every trip since I bought it. This tent is simple, easy to put up and has just enough room to get the important thing inside without leaving me cramped. The only reason I gave it a 4 in quality is because I noticed that there are some minor defects in the mesh. It's nothing serious, no bugs are getting in but they are there. I gave it a 5 in function because it definitely works WELL, but the foot print that I purchased DOES need a little reworking. It doesn't fit this tent well
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SuperMegaUL™ 1
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not bomber, but good.

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Location: Alaska
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Purchased the SuperMega UL 1 to replace my heavier bivy sack. More room is nicer for longer trips. I used the tent on an Arctic Alaska packraft trip, so lightweight was critical. The weather was good, so it wasn't a true test of strength; however, one issue was clear, the rain fly doesn't go close enough to the ground and the sides are too far open. The worst weather was ~20mph wind and rain. The wind would blow the rain into the tent under the sides of the tent. Also, the flap over the entry zipper would blow open in the wind, so rain would trickle through the zipper. If the wind blows sideways on the tent, then the center bends over dramatically; however, I don't think it was every near breaking. The tent feels like tissue paper, so I was worried when it got windy, which led to sleepless nights.
Summary: good tent for mellow weather without much wind.
I would recommend this product.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.