Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear SuperMegaUL™ 2

Mountain Hardwear SuperMegaUL™ 2

SuperMegaUL™ 2
Overall rating:
4.895 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 38 reviews
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
37 out of 37(100%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for SuperMegaUL™ 2
Review 1 for SuperMegaUL™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GOD TENT

PostedMay 13, 2016
Customer Avatar
Location: Seattle, WA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very few products earn the distinction "GOD" anything with me... I have a pair of boots I refer to as my God Boots and this is my God Tent. It's amazing. It's super light weight, durable, I literally wring it out. It's awesome, I throw my footprint down and put up my poles that are like some crazy robotic demiurge that would go into your belly button on Aeon Flux's cartoons. It auto assembled itself the first trip I took it on and not only was I tripping, but yes, I was tripping! It auto-assembled and I threw on the rainfly IN THE RAIN! during the torrential down pour I was able to then clip on the ten (upside down the first time, so I put it back in the stuff sack and then put the poles the correct way, then put the rain fly up and got under the tent tarp and clipped the tent on). What an awesome way to break it in. The tent wasn't damp whatsoever despite the crazy wind and storm. I threw my gear in and leaf my waterproof scrambler with odds and ends outside and then I went to sleep in my Phantom. The next day crossed Lake Serene to attempt Index having had a restful sleep! I love the SuperMega and I carry it with me even when I just want to hammock camp or sleep in my bag in the bivouac spot! It's super mega and ultra light and holds up to 3 people cozily or 2 people comfortably! Feel like a king if it's just you!! The raindrops sound awesome so use the guy-lines and pull it taut!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SuperMegaUL™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic tent

PostedApril 25, 2016
Customer Avatar
Location: Washington, D.C.
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Light and small with all the functionality you need. Used it recently for a relatively cold, windy night (between 30-40). Did the job! And there was plenty of room for two for us (5'5 and 5'11 person).
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SuperMegaUL™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's a beautiful thing!

PostedNovember 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Lagrangeville, NY
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just used my new SuperMega UL2 for its overnight debut. It was a windy, cold (but dry) autumn night. My first attempt to set it up went quickly and without a hitch. I used the Big Agnes Fly Creek footprint which lined up nicely with the corners of the tent. With a minimal amount of line adjustment I had a stable, roomy structure for me and my pack. I think this is going to be an awesome tent for my JMT thru hike next July. Thanks Mountain Hardwear!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SuperMegaUL™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Survived a 1,700 mile bicycle tour

PostedOctober 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Ely, MN
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This is by far the best tent I have ever used, and I spend about 3 months a year sleeping in a tent. I was about to start a bicycle tour from SE AK down to MT when my last tent's poles broke. Under pressure, I needed to make a quick decision on a new tent and chose this one. It was a good choice. This tent is amazingly light. Even though this tent is much bigger than my last one person tent it weighs less. I was skeptical of the super thin rainfly at first, but now I'm a believer. The thin rainfly makes the tent ventilate extremely well and not have any condensation form on the inside, even when it frosts in the morning. It is extremely waterproof and survived several downpours. The floor of the tent is thick in all the right places and allows the tent to be used without a ground cloth. It is free standing, which was very important to me because I often camp in places where it is very difficult to use stakes. I rated the tent as "fits slightly small" because for 2 people it would be a squeeze, but totally doable if you're doing a minimalist trip. For one person it is very roomy and I was able to bring all my stuff inside the tent.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SuperMegaUL™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Waited to write this until after adequate testing..

PostedOctober 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: colorado
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well, its amazing. I've used this tent 20+ times now, through hail, snow, 0 degree nights and significant rain. It held true.
Pros:
Light. It's stupid light. Laughably light. You pick up the bag and say : theres no way a tent is in this.
Easy setup and take down. Like 5 minutes. So so so simple, even the first time.
Waterproof. I've been in some crazy rain with this, and I still don't understand how I stay dry when the fly is so thin, it's so thin you can see through it pretty much but ive never gotten wet even in terrible situations.
Cons: It's definitely better to think of this more as a 1.5 man. It's very roomy for one person, and extremely tight for two. Better be a good friend or a partner cuz you'll be up against each other at night. That being said, it's worth the weight savings and the tapered shape makes it doable.
Overall it's the best tent I've ever used and probably the best tent out there.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
dapinitial
Seattle, WA
 
Please wait while more information about dapinitial is loaded.
Additional information about dapinitial could not be loaded.
Bro I know!
Posted May 13, 2016
Super mega thin! Ultra light! I'm amazed it's still intact after the madness we've been through! I love this thing. GOD TENT!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 6 for SuperMegaUL™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Light weight & breathable Tent

PostedSeptember 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Slo,CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I love this tents airflow, I sleep hot, so this works well for me. With the mesh sides and top, it makes it easy to see the stars all night. I wish that the bottom side panels were up another foot, for sleeping privacy and water puddles splash :)
As with many 2 persons tents, I have tried it a few times and unless you have smaller pads it was tight. I use it for myself and my pack, and it works great for that.
One thing I wish would be different is the angle as you are getting out, there is a pole that almost always stabs me in the back unless you stay low.
This tent is so lightweight and sets up in a small spot, looks good out there and does its job, allowing me to sleep in nature!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SuperMegaUL™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tiny but strong

PostedSeptember 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: San Francisco, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Broke this baby in on the Kesugi Ridge in Denali State Park, AK the first week of September. My sister and I were cozy but comfortable for a few nights together, though I wouldn't want to share for too much longer than that, it's a typical UL 2 person (I think they like to count your pack as the 2nd person, not another human). The second night out we pitched camp just before it started down pouring and the rain didn't let up for almost 12 hours. Had no problems with getting wet, though you have to make sure to pitch the fly out far enough from the tent, because you can get a decent amount of condensation under the fly if you're in there for awhile. Can't wait to see what other adventures it can handle!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SuperMegaUL™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Lightweight Tent I've ever owned...

PostedJuly 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Redmond, OR
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I love this tent...my gal and I have over 200 miles on the trail already this year and have spent every night in this bad boy!
It's light and it's durable (we have dogs that go with us). It lives up to the Mountain Hardware reputation of quality and functionality.
The only negative we've experienced is a zipper malfunction. The company promptly replaced the tent with no questions asked!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SuperMegaUL™ 2
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

5 days hike

PostedJuly 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this product few days before going to a 5 days hike with my wife (In southern Oregon section of PCT). Tent is easy to assemble (First night 10-15 min, 5 min after). I loved the smart poles and way they are coming as one unit. I also like the light weight. Had also used the canopy. The tent kept us dry in a short rain, kept the mosquitos out and kept us warm at night. My only complain is size. It is TOO SMALL for two persons. Only couples can fit and even then gear need to stay out. I definitely recommend this product under the size restriction. it is ideal for single hiker and will have plenty of space for gear too
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SuperMegaUL™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very well built tent

PostedMay 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Virginia
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
I wanted a lightweight tent for 1 to 6 day hiking trips. I researched ultralight tents and finally decided on the Mountain Hardwear UL2. I am 6'1", 170 lbs and wanted a tent to fit me and my backpack. This one works perfectly. It is just long enough for me in a long sized bag. The width allows me to keep my backpack and any other gear inside. I tested it out on the Appalachian Trail and it worked perfectly.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SuperMegaUL™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible!

PostedMay 7, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Durham, North Carolina
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First off, understand that this tent is small. It's really just a big one man, so if you like space, don't buy it. If you don't mind the squeeze, then this tent is the best out there. It's unreal how small it packs down and how light it is. Do yourself a favor and go for it; you won't regret it.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SuperMegaUL™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I wanted

PostedApril 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Denver, CO
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I am very happy with this tent, I bought it in January as a 4 season.
Condensation: I would highly recommend it to anyone that is looking to avoid condensation through the night. Though impossible, this tent does the best with its open first wall.
Set up: Single T style pole makes for an easy construct, Fly is snug and low to reduce catching wind. If you so choose you can offset the fly in the direction of the wind to further reduce draft. Only concern with set up is initial exposure to the rain before the fly is atop (Plan Ahead).
Weight: So light I thought I forgot it.
Stakes: After reading a previous review I purchased ultralight stakes with the tent, personally I found them unnecessary as the stakes provided are adequate and light. Beyond that I purchased snow anchors from Mountain Hardwear which I would highly recommend if going in deep snow.
Size: A snug 2 is perfect in the winter, important to keep in mind that this tent tapers down by your feet and full sized pads may overlap. Room for a pack or 2 pairs of shoes/boots under the fly.
Durability: I have not used it enough to really say anything meaningful here but as is custom with most tents a footprint is advised.
3 Season/4 Season: I am using this in the Colorado Rockies at ~11,000 feet in sub zero temperatures. Without a doubt it is 4 Season ready.
I would recommend this product.
+12points
14of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SuperMegaUL™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Across Alaska

PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Anchorage, AK
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used this tent extensively throughout various ranges in Alaska for the last several years. Most recently it housed me during a ten day Wrangell Mountain sheep hunt, during which I experienced extreme wind, rain, snow, bugs, and everything else Alaska has to offer. The tent performed flawlessly.
The weight-to-strength ratio of this tent is the best I've seen. It's also very well vented so condensation is not an issue and rain cannot penetrate. I initially questioned the durability and longevity of the tent but it still has several years left in it despite heavy usage. The sizing runs small for a two person but I have had my wife with me in the tent for several overnight trips and it's been fine (it would get cramped for a multi-night trip).
This is without question my go-to ultralight tent - I'll take it over a tarp any day.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SuperMegaUL™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Light, solid, dry, perfect for one!

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I hiked the entire PCT with this tent and it held up in high winds, rain and thunderstorms. Never a drop of water inside, never a tear, never a bent pole!
Ok, mice and chipmunks chewed their way in now and then, but I don't think any force in the universe can keep them out :P A rounded piece of quality duct-tape on either side of the netting closes the holes after their occasional visits, but then again, they'll just chew new ones next time.
This so-called 2-person version is 4 oz heavier than the single person version, but it SO nice with the extra space! Having my pack inside the tent, spreading all my stuff around me. Totally worth 4 oz! It's a tent for laying down - only munchkins could sit comfortably inside. I never missed sitting though, and perfected the art of preparing and eating any meal from the comfort of my sleeping bag. The real trick here is staying awake while eating :)
To sell this as a 2-person tent is a joke shared with most other tent-makers in the world. Personally I'd say that a tent should fit 2 regular sleeping pads to be called a 2 person tent. A couple in love would fit if they cut their sleeping pads in a V-shape (or one of them settled for a half-length pad), but in most scenarios this is a comfortable tent for one, a short-term solution for a couple in love or an emergency shelter for 3 people.
4 pegs is all the tent needs to stand firm, even in heavy weather. I bought titanium pegs separately since I find the aluminum pegs that comes with the tent overly solid and heavy. The tent performs best parked with the rear to the wind, but even then the poles sometimes flex during heavy gusts, letting the tent fold down on me. This isn't unusual for an ultra-light tent - it actually performs better in heavy weather than others I've used, but for a good nights sleep on a stormy night, one really has to find a little natural shelter from the wind before pitching the tent.
This tent always kept me dry though, even when folding down in heavy rainstorms, even when exposed on mountain tops and ridges, rain, hail and turbulent winds shaking the tent like a giant hand for hours. Once I even met hikers heading back to civilization the day after a storm with torn tents and wet sleeping bags. That really cemented my faith in this tent.
Get the footprint as well. It's sold separately, even though I doubt the bottom of the tent would survive long without it, but with the footprint it seems to live forever, so who knows? The footprint is also perfect for cowboy-camping on those clear, mellow, bug-free nights.
An amazing tent in the ultra-light class!
I would recommend this product.
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SuperMegaUL™ 2
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great tent but not sure about durability

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Location: Oregon
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've taken this tent out twice now for some overnight trips. Once alone, once with another person. Two people in this tent is tight. If you needed to have all your gear in the tent or under cover, well that's going to be uncomfortable.
The tent functioned great and I am very happy with the weight. My primary concern is the long-term durability of the seam around the zipper and the zipper itself. I probably would have accepted another couple ounces of total weight just to beef this area up, where it take the most recurring mechanical stress.
I want to re-iterate that it is fine so far and has not failed but it looks to be a point of trouble down the line with a couple more years of wear and tear. I'm generally really careful with gear but I'm going to be extra careful with the zipper.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SuperMegaUL™ 2
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Impressive but some drawbacks

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Location: Lower Hudson, NY
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
Bought this spring 2014 and had the tent out quite a bit since then. I use this for my bike touring, so it's for solo use, packed up it's carried attached to my handlebars. Good pack size and weight, more than enough for one person and gear, so very happy with this as I've a 3 month trip around Chile/Argentina and don't want to feel cramped in a tiny tent.
Quality is suspect with the plastic clips from the mesh to the poles. One of mine snapped on the first pitching. I had the tent replaced by the dealer and not had a recurrence.
I was trying to set the tent up and down with the fly first as I don't want to pitch this tent in a rain storm having to put up the mesh inner first! Have not yet worked out a way to do this; but can take the mesh down before the fly. In my mind this is a major deficiency with the tent. I've been in enough storms to know I want my inner tent dry. Since this is marketed as a free standing tent, and darn expensive one at that, I'd have expected you to be able to pitch fly first.
Aside form that it's great, and I'd agree with just about everyone else. I did buy their footprint, it's not a cheap tyvek sheet, it's reinforced and well worth the cost. Even if you don't use the MH one, a footprint is needed to save your groundsheet as it's very thin.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SuperMegaUL™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Take-it-Everywhere Shelter

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Location: South Lake Tahoe, CA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This tent has been on its fair share of trips over the past year that I've had it, including a 19-day thru-hike of the John Muir Trail. It is my favorite tent ever.
I once worked in gear rentals and have set up and taken apart more tents than any person ever ought in a lifetime. This tent is incredibly simple and can be set up and taken down, including fly and staking, in minutes.
Wind, rain, and pesky bugs were no match for this tent. The fly stays put, though I much preferred having it off. The entire top of the tent is mesh; no unobstructed views of the stars or mountains here unless you've parked it under the trees.
As far as 2P UL tents go, this guy is spacious. It has incredible headroom--critical in such close quarters. It comfortably houses my boyfriend (5'9") and me (5'5"). We are lean, so it works for us but don't expect the spacious accommodations of an REI setup.
The weight savings are incredible, and combined with its versatility, bug-proofness and peace of mind I prefer to take this with me over my tarp, even on solo trips. Did I mention the little gear pockets on either side of the tent door? Perfect for headlamps and writing/reading material.
I love this tent, more than MH will ever know. If you're looking for a shelter that will cut weight, add simplicity to your camp routine and reliably shelter you from pests and weather, look no further.
I would recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SuperMegaUL™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome tent

PostedMay 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My first UL tent. I've always used family size tents, so this was a change. It looks pretty small on the outside. Once you get into it however there seems to be more room than you had first thought. Used this over the weekend to sleep two people, and there was enough room that we weren't jabbing each other.
It also stayed dry! The fly is made out of a very cool material, as is the floor of the tent. The only thing that got wet was resting on the mesh side and collected dew.
Very easy to pitch solo. Maybe just a few minutes including the footprint and tie downs.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SuperMegaUL™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Probably the best UL2 on the market, but....??

PostedApril 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Location: South Carolina
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As my review title suggest, the MHW SuperMega UL2 is probably the best ultra/hyper-light 2-person tent on the market, but there are some things that should be addressed.
First though, I want to talk about it's strengths, which FAR OUTWEIGH the constructive criticism I will offer. First off, the weight: at a little less than 2.5 pounds, this truly freestanding tent is LIGHT. MHW obviously had a bulls eye on the Big Agnes Fly Creek UL2 and I believe they hit it. Here are the advantages over its competition: it's virtually the identical weight, it's freestanding, and here's the big one, it's floor is SO MUCH more durable/thicker than the Fly Creek. With the Fly Creek, you must use their 5oz. footprint. As long as you're reasonably cautious where you place this tent, clearing off the area well, you don't need MHW's tyvek footprint.
Room: it's descent for an ultralight 2-person tent. Everyone knows that in the backpacking world, particularly in the ultralight category, a 2-person tent is really 1-person plus gear comfortably. You could squeeze 2 people in this tent, but you wouldn't want to do it for long. I'm 6'2", have spent a few nights in it so far, and it's been enough room for me, gear, and a little #very little# room left over. And I have spent a night in a torrential downpour, and as long as you pitch it correctly, using the 3 "pull out" points on the fly, you'll stay bone dry.
Now to my constructive criticism: upon inspecting and opening the tent packaging the first time, I was shocked that MHW did not have the typical ultralight sil-nylon "stuff" sacks for the overall tent, the poles and the stakes. Instead, they used just run-of-mill nylon sacks. MHW, you could easily have shaved an ounce or two by giving us ultralight sacks to go with our $450 ultralight tent #your competition does this, saving weight!!!#. I have since upgraded these. The reflective cordage in which everything is tied is way too thick for an ultralight. It's this thicker yellow cord. I re-corded the entire tent, fly and zippers in a smaller diameter cord, again, savings up to an ounce. Neither of these two upgrades #the storage/stuff sacks or cordage# sacrificed durability, but definitely shaved 2-3 ounces. And last, what is up with the generic, no-name tent stakes? Why not give us the ultralight DAC stakes to go with our ultralight DAC poles. Again, not deal breaker, but this, along with the other things I mentioned, should have been included in a $450, premium, supposedly "industry-leading" ultralight.
With this all said, I'm still mega-happy with my SuperMega UL2. Would I recommend it? Absolutely. Just keep in mind the things mentioned for potential upgrades.
I would recommend this product.
+27points
30of 33voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SuperMegaUL™ 2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I stayed dry!

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Location: Jamestown, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was planning a trip to Kauai for an adventure on the North side and I knew, since it was going to be "Winter" and was the wet season, not to mention in a rain forest, I needed to stay dry. I read the reviews and did my research. This tent is what I came up with. At first glance I was highly doubtful that the tent's rain fly would stand up to anything being as thin as it is. I was wrong, thankfully. We got rained on so hard that I was literally floating in a puddle before I dug drainage lines! No Leaks! As I came inside soaked, the humidity was at around 100% and I could see sublimation occur before my eyes. I thought the inside would be drenched in no time and again, I was wrong! The netting did it's job and the collected moisture rolled down the inside of the fly and right outside the tent! I made my own footprint as well and am grateful for that. Protect your investment and it will protect you. As for the colder season, I will see once I take it to the Sierra this Spring. Cheers and thanks for a great product!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.