Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Hammerhead™ 3

Mountain Hardwear Hammerhead™ 3

Hammerhead™ 3
Overall rating:
4.875 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Hammerhead™ 3
Review 1 for Hammerhead™ 3
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love it

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Noko
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just got the tent, so it hasn't been used much. But it has been great so far. Lots of room and easy to set up and take down for one person even. Happy with my purchase.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hammerhead™ 3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great three season tent

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
macguymark
Location: Charlotte, NC
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This tent is awesome for warm to mild winter. That is exactly what we have most of the time in NC and the southeast. Love the way I can view the night without fighting the bugs. Quality is very well done and I am sure this tent will be around for a long time. It seems just right, not to heavy, not to small. Sounds a little like “the three bears” but it’s true and when it works it works.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hammerhead™ 3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic tent!

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
sharina
Location: Medford Oregon
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This tent will be used for river rafting camping so it wasn't purchased with weight in mind. It is built with quality seams, screens and the vestibules are perfect it will last for years! I'm so excited and can't wait to try it out this weekend. We set it up in the living room and admired it inside and out.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hammerhead™ 3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Liking the Hammerhead 3

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
voorhi
Location: Townsend, TN
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We've taken lots of trips with our "room for 3" Mountains Hardware tent that we bought in 1998 and loved it. As it began to show wear we tried to find something equal and ordered the Hammerhead 3. We've just spent one night out with it so far but it seems oike it will be a good match. The entrances on each side are nice though a bit small. The large amount of screening is real nice and will be great for ventilation in warmer and humid weather. We miss some of the extra strorage pockets the "room for 3" had but I'm sure other advantages of the Hammerhead like extra head-room and the spaciousness due to the greater angle of the sides to peak. We are sold on the quality of Mountain Hardware tents based on the service and years our other tents have provided.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hammerhead™ 3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tent

PostedAugust 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Eric4545
Location: Michigan
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is hands down the best tent I have ever owned. I lived in the Great Divide Basin of Wyoming for an entire month doing field work having this as my home. The tent withstood sustained winds of over 50mph and gusts over 75mph and held up like a champ. I would highly recommend this tent.
I would recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hammerhead™ 3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this does it all.

PostedMarch 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
mike60
Location: Corpus Christi Texas.
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I found this tent on sale and got more bang for my buck then I expected. Zip open the window and it is like looking at a flat screen in HD when star gazing. When camping at the beach just zip closed the windows and the sand stays outside. There is room for adding a personal touch too, I added better stakes, reflective guy out line, a foot print and a Mountain Hardwear triangle gear loft. The down side, The Hammerhead 3 is heavy, 9.5 lbs in the bag. ((i'm a kayaker, not a backpacker so size is more important to me then weight.)) Also, it's a little tricky to set up but you get used to it. When it's up, it's up and it is not going anywhere. I slept in 40+mph winds and it was nice and quiet inside. This tent will be with me a long time.
I would recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hammerhead™ 3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hammerhead 3

PostedMarch 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wirkus24
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My wife and I rented this tent a while back for a camping trip. We were less than pleased with the rainy weather when we got to our destination- but the tent set up without any issues. It continued to rain for the majority of the night and into the morning. We were very pleased to find that our bags and the floors of the tent were completely dry. There is so much ventilation possible with the tent, yet the seams, fly, and floor were completely sealed. Not only was there ample room for the two of us, but we could have comfortably fit another person inside the tent.
I would recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hammerhead™ 3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Love this tent

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marcia
Location: Stevens Point WI
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
This tent has been down the Grand Canyon twice and the Yampa river 3 times. It has seen 110 degrees,rain,snow and high winds. It takes it all. It is easy to put up. Comfortable useful space. It is heavy for a backpack tent. But here is where is pays off. Many tent will cut weight by making the tent with screening and then the rain fly is the covering. This tent can be a screen version for the hot days BUT you can zipp it up and it is a functional protective tent without the rain fly. The rainfly makes it bullet proof. Why is this a bonus. When camping on the river you usally camp on the beach. When the wind pick up it blows the sand under the rainfly and dumps through the screen. Which was a problem for my friends . But I could close my tent up and keep from breathing sand all night. Love this tent and you will too.
I would recommend this product.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Herky130
Charlotte, NC
 
Please wait while more information about Herky130 is loaded.
Additional information about Herky130 could not be loaded.
Fortress
Posted March 29, 2013
My Fiancee and I have had the Hammerhead 3 for about 6 months now and we absolutely LOVE IT. It has seen all four seasons now...from an unusual warm night last October, star gazing to a trip that we just returned from in the Smokies along the AT where we met dry gusty winds exceeding 45 mph, torrential downpours with sustained winds at 35mph +, and a sleet/snow mix. We went to bed in the rain and woke up in a foot of snow! The whole time we slept like babies. This tent is a fortress, sturdy construction and proper set-up allow for a peacful nights sleep dispite what ever torrents rage outside. Not to mention it's spacious we can fit ourselves, our packs and our 2 dogs (one a Great dane, the other a catahoula) and be comfortable. The vestabules are large enough to put a pair of boots and a pack under snugly. Highly recommend this tent!!
Happy Trails!
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)