Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Pistolero™ Glove

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Hardwear.

Mountain Hardwear Men's Pistolero™ Glove

Pistolero™ Glove
Overall rating:
3.875 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
2 out of 2(100%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Pistolero™ Glove
Review 1 for Men's Pistolero™ Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Workhorse

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
warhoop
Location: Bend, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hands stay dry. Burly enough to actually work in without getting shredded after a week. And just enough insulation to keep your hands warm during a break, but now so much you're overheated during work. This is a glove for people work work outside during the winter, not some prom queen ski glove with prima donna insulation and rich corinthian leather for the 3 runs you may make in between lattes at the lodge on a bluebird day. Just a great work glove.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Pistolero™ Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great winter work glove

PostedFebruary 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
basko
Location: Denver, CO
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had an old pair of MH "work gloves" and they finally wore out after several years of winter camping and guiding. The new Pistolero gloves are a great replacement. The only drawback is the thumb is too long...
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Pistolero™ Glove
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Stiching at the wrist came out

PostedFebruary 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
BodyDamage
Location: Steamboat Springs, CO
Very diappointed with the quality. The stiching came out between the wrist material and leather. I use the tabs to put on gloves. I think the tabs must be for looks not function. I have been looking at a warm water proof and wind proof gloves because I live in the Mountains of Colorado. All areas of the glove are double stiched with the exception of the wrist. I have other Mountain Hard Wear gear and have been very happy. I wish my money was not wasted on the gloves.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
CaptainObvious
Portland, OR
 
Please wait while more information about CaptainObvious is loaded.
Additional information about CaptainObvious could not be loaded.
Posted April 27, 2012
You should obviously warranty them.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 4 for Men's Pistolero™ Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Glove

PostedJanuary 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
DanimalControl
Location: Portland,OR
Feels great. Very supple feel, for great control and dexterity. Warm, but not too warm. A really nice glove. Oh, and the scratchy bit some complain of is a simple fix - just trim down the bit of nylon from the wrist hooks. Perfect for a nasty rainy and cold bike ride.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Pistolero™ Glove
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A great hand holster

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
bigCHUCK83
Location: MT Washington, MA
I got these gloves sight unseen, I was hoping for a form fitting glove that allowed me to work outside, drive a car, zip a zipper, throw a snowball, grip poles while skiing or snowshoeing... you know the standard winter stuff. What I got seems to be all of those things. These gloves fit, well, like a glove. I have complete control of my fingers and the leather on the palm and fingertips provides good grip. The fleece on the back of the hand is super supple and so far has provided good insulation. The one drawback, which I saw in reviews before purchasing, is the "sharp" areas on the cuff where the many layers of glove and pull loop converge. I do not feel the irritation every time I pull the glove on and I anticipate wearing down the sharp points over time. Overall these are solid work gloves... oh yeah and they are waterproof!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Pistolero™ Glove
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

pistolero review

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
kingsnake
Location: asheville, nc
Like all gloves it took some time to break these in, and they were fairly difficult to put on(tight around the wrists), but once broken-in they loosened up. All the fingers fit well except for the thumbs, they were a little too long. The gloves were perfect for what I needed but a little on the expensive side. I was impressed with the water proof factor, they kept my hands warm and dry in 35 degree temps and the driving rain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Pistolero™ Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work Horse Gloves

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
FTD307
Location: WY
For years I've use insulated leather work gloves for guiding and climbing with good results until it came to technical terrain or ice climbing where they became too sloppy to trust with tools or steep terrain. But now with the Pistolero I have a one glove quiver for everything from alpine/ice climbing to ski touring. They are completely waterproof and with some leather waterproofing wax (obenaufs) applied regularly to them and the leather stays dry and tacky. The scratchy cuffs are there but I've never noticed them or been bothered by it in the field. These are precise technical gloves that can handle rope work and abuse and still keep my hands warm while moving. I do carry thicker gloves for extended times of inactivity though. Awesome gloves!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Pistolero™ Glove
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

They are waterproof

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dball
Location: Haines, Alaska
I wanted gloves that are waterproof, and not too bulky. These are the ones. I put both gloves on my hands and dipped them under water in a 5 gallon bucket for about 5 minutes, the leather on the outside was wet, but my hands were dry on the inside. Nice. Durable outside because of the leather too.
5 stars for Waterproofing
5 stars for Durablility
3 stars for dexterity, the fingers are a bit long, and the fit is tight for my hands. I don't have long hands but i do have some decent meat hooks.
2stars for comfort, the fabric inside the cuff is very abrasive and uncomfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men's Pistolero™ Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great glove for but the coldest days

PostedFebruary 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
firsttraxx
Location: David, WV
I purchased these gloves as a backup or fair weather work glove for ski patrolling. The glove fits snug, insulation is warm. I had none of the cuff related issues as mentioned in the other reviews?!? After skiing for several weekends, found I prefere these gloves over my more heavily insulated gauntlet gloves. he grip and feel is supurb, non-bulky, kind of like rawhide roping gloves with more room and insulation. If there was anything I would change, maybe make the cuff just a bit larger so it will fit a jacket cuff better. A great all-purpose glove for everything but the coldest days (>20 degrees, etc.).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men's Pistolero™ Glove
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Almost Great

PostedFebruary 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
mturoamer
Location: Minneapolis, MN
The good: WATERPROOF! The leather soaks up water like a sponge (even after a Nikwax treatment) but my hands are always dry in these. WARM for their weight. They're not the warmest gloves (they're not supposed to be). The fleece on the back of the hand is thicker than the fleece in the palm - it strikes a good balance of warmth and dexterity. BREATHABILITY - hands never feel sweaty inside. The bad: The pull on loop stitching. Same comments as other users here, the end of the pull-on loop webbing is sharp (cut with a hot knife and melted) and cuts in at the wrist. I took scissors and cut that little piece off, but now I worry the loop will pull off completely. This glove is too expensive to worry about little stuff like that. The finger tip designs is lousy. They taper to a point. Do my fingers taper to a point? No. For me the medium fingers are too long but the small is too small.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men's Pistolero™ Glove
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Great idea, poor execution

PostedJanuary 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jefe
Location: NE
I TOTALLY agree with GoHikeMcCabe from Portland. When I purchased this glove, I was hoping for a tough, well fitting, waterproof, and semi-warm glove. I think this glove is very close to what I wanted, EXCEPT that it is not finished and it is incredibly uncomfortable in that the sewn areas around the pull loop will almost bring a man, woman or child, to tears! I wear a base layer with thumb holes so I have fabric as the interface, instead of my skin. I would love to return these gloves to MHW, in fact, I'll probably try
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men's Pistolero™ Glove
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Great idea trips at the finish line

PostedJanuary 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
GoHikeMcCabe
Location: Portland, or
The glove is well made. It looks cool. It is everything it's advertised except comfortable. There is a spot on the glove where main glove connects to the cuff that is really uncomfortable. I can see all the layers; leather, insulation, waterproofing - all sewn together at the cuff. For some reason the designers didn't account for the fact that when you cut these fabrics it leaves a sharp edge. It's like they forgot one more piece of fabric to cover this vital joint. So the water proof membrane cuts into the most sensitive part of your hand; the bottom side of your wrist.
I was just dissappointed that someone didnt' at least try this glove on before shipping. It was such a great idea: a strong, waterproof, close fitting work glove for the outdoor guy. They did everything right and tripped at the finish line.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men's Pistolero™ Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Durable and Dexterous

PostedJanuary 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
eherchmer
Location: Durango, CO
Gloves feel great, except for being a little loose. I'm normally a Large, but these seem to fit slightly looser than I'm used to. Other than that, these gloves are durable and have a high warmth-weight ratio. The velcro wrist strap is a nice feature, as I like to wear them under the cuff of my jacket while skiing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Men's Pistolero™ Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fits Slender Hands

PostedJanuary 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wilmo
Location: Northern Wisconsin Woods and Waters
Fits my slender hands with just a bit of extra space, allowing for a little dead air space for extra warmth. Good dexterity. Keeps my hands warm down to about zero while snow shoeing on wind whipped frozen lakes. The cuff is long enough to keep out wind and snow. Looks good enough to wear with a dress overcoat on cold days. Great glove!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Men's Pistolero™ Glove
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pistolero

PostedDecember 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cisco
Location: NY
Great work glove. The Outdry works as advertised. Surprising warmth to dexterity ratio. Highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Men's Pistolero™ Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best gloves around

PostedNovember 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
bravedave
Location: geneseo, ny
Warm and incredibly durable and breathable. I use them for work and play and they have held up very well. they stopped breathing well after a muddy hike but i tossed them in the washer and they are good as new.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.