Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Expedition Duffel™ Small

Mountain Hardwear Expedition Duffel™ Small

Expedition Duffel™ Small
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
7 out of 7(100%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Expedition Duffel™ Small
Review 1 for Expedition Duffel™ Small
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent, tough duffel.

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Doug13
Location: Bangor, Maine
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this shortly before going to Morocco for 4 weeks of trekking, mountaineering, and more. It performed admirably, holding up very well through 4 weeks of overstuffing, being packed on a mule (at points), being checked on air flights, and being tossed around as it was loaded and unloaded from vehicles of every size and description. After all of this, the only damage done was a deep scratch, presumably from airline handling, but the material was intact and still kept water out. Would highly recommend this hard working duffel.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Expedition Duffel™ Small
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

As expected

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Phongie13
Location: Newark, CA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I finally got to use this over the weekend. I was able to pack a lot of extra clothes from a purchase. The orange colour was easy to spot at baggage claim. The material is sturdy and the zipper is strong. The straps convert to a backpack style was helpful with the extra weight in the bag.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Expedition Duffel™ Small
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stellar Bag.. a bit small

PostedMay 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
ESclimber
Location: Bishop, CA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As an outdoor industry professional I've gone through a number of expedition packs from a variety of different manufacturers. Mountain Hardware's are easily the best on the market. I currently own their Expedition Duffle in both small and medium. For me, the small is a touch on the small side and the medium is a touch on the large size, but other than that I have no real complaints. They are both completely bomber and well built. The zippered top is designed in such a way that it is very easy to get at everything inside of the bag. I love the handle/shoulder strap combo, although I wouldn't want to hike around for more than an hour or so with a heavy load b/c the straps are a bit thin and can eat into the shoulders. All in all top notch product.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Expedition Duffel™ Small
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Air Travel vs Road Travel

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location: Seattle, WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great bag - so glad with this purchase!
After using this bag for the last two weeks (which included 3 flights and a number of long car trips), I would rather take this bag with me on road travel than air travel.
It is very spacious and I was able to pack much more than I had expected. Thus, the bag was heavier than desired for walking around the airport.
But when I was able to load it up and toss it in the car I was very satisfied. That all being said, I will continue to use this bag for both purposes, but with slightly different packing techniques for each.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Expedition Duffel™ Small
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Duffle

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
ricsal18d
Location: Massachusetts
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Over all it is a great duffel that is very generous in size and holds plenty of clothing or gear. I use mine for all types of travel, especially 3-4 day getaways with friends and also as a carry-on for all my air travel. The one drawback I would note is the width of the shoulder straps/handles. They are adjustable in length, however, regarding their width, they have a tendency to fold over on themselves making it a little uncomfortable for long periods of wear. The overall construction is bombproof and I have no worries in inclement weather.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Expedition Duffel™ Small
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Travel Bag

PostedJune 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
TerryK67
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I own and use all three sizes. Overall great bags. I use them for airline travel (medium checked, small carried on), car travel and general hauling of my gear and equipment. I use the large bag mostly for moving larger gear and equipment and for consolidating my gear for longer trips. The medium size is great for a long weekend for two people or a 7-day trip for one. The small is good for one person on a 1 – 2 day trip or for day-to-day use like taking your gym gear to work. The medium bag is my workhorse. I have checked it on airlines, used it on bus trips, and it has held up very well. Most recently I rode my motorcycle cross country (2k miles) and used it as my main gear/clothes bag. It held up very well, kept my clothes/gear clean and dry when it was strapped down to the back seat. Withstood several rain storms, millions of bugs, and held everything I needed for the trip. If you only get one bag, buy the medium. As for colors…I only have the dark and it hides marks and bug remains very well! The only suggestion I have is this: There is a pouch, with a clear piece of plastic, on the outside of the bag so you can put a ID card, address label, etc in. The opening should have a small line of Velcro on it so when you put your ID item in it, it would not slip out. Mine never has, but I find myself checking it all the time and I wish it was just a bit more secure.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Expedition Duffel™ Small
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great pack

PostedMarch 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
basko
Location: Denver, CO
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
An amazing amount of stuff can fit into this pack. I was able to pack 6 days of clothing easily, the compression straps really allow you to close the pack when it's full. The backpack straps are just a little awkward to wear but a great function to use if you have other things to carry and need to throw the pack on your back.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Expedition Duffel™ Small
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Power Bag

PostedNovember 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
LuvAK4ever
I just got this bag and it is perfect for my job! I need something I can throw in the belly of a small Alaskan bush plane and hold up to the other end when travel by small skiff. This is going to get the job done!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Expedition Duffel™ Small
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Duffel

PostedSeptember 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Johnny83
Location: Indianapolis, IN
The first time I brought this pack around all of my friends were jealous of its sleek looks and durable design. Big on the inside with nice load adjustment straps for securing objects in the bag. This is by far my favorite bag for traveling anywhere This bag is at home in the back of the truck for a weekend climbing trip or for carry on luggage in the plane.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Expedition Duffel™ Small
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fabulous bag

PostedMay 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
runmomrun
Location: Portland, OR
This bag is carry-on size, yet holds a huge amount of clothing or gear. And you can really pack it in because of the backpack functionality of the handles. These make it so you can easily carry it on your back--a much easier way to carry 30-40 pounds of stuff and over your shoulder or in one hand. Beefy fabric and hardware. This bag is incredible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.